We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meets my expectations.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong
Ranked #56 of 471 Hotels in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence
Sacheon, South Korea
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Meets my expectations.”
Reviewed 15 February 2012

I stayed at the Ibis Myeong-dong in January 2012.

Location, location, location, and the Ibis Myeong-dong has it. I have been using this hotel for almost four years now and it continues to meet my needs (thus my rating). The staff is always very friendly and helpful, and the location is excellent. The airport bus stops in front of the hotel (it didn’t use to) and many places to eat and shop are right out your door. The hotel is also not far from such attractions as the N Seoul Tower (nice view of the tower from the bar), Gyeongbokgung Palace and Insadong. I walked from the Ibis to the U.S. embassy.

Yes, the standard room and bathroom (only a shower) are small, but they are clean. And yes, the beds/pillows can be firm (common throughout Asia).

The standard room has a small TV, a small refrigerator and a kettle for instant coffee/tea. There are free PC’s and Wi-Fi. And, there is a decent buffet breakfast with an early start. Myeong-dong is not an inexpensive area, and you should keep that in mind when looking at hotel prices. If you are looking for a hotel in the Myeong-dong area, and do not intend to spend most of your day in your hotel room, I definitely recommend the Ibis. I know I will continue to stay there.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pazz2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve_CHOI, General Manager at ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong, responded to this review, 19 February 2012
Dear Guest

Greetings from Ibis Seoul Myeong-dong!

On behalf of the management and staff of Ibis Seoul Myeong-dong, we would like to thank you for staying with us.
Especially, we would like to deeply thank you for your kind comments about hotel.
Your compliments have certainly motivated us to further develop our service of staff for the benefit of valuable guests, such as yourself.

Again, thank you for choosing Ibis Seoul Myeong-dong. And, we would like to welcome you in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Steve Choi
General Manager
Ibis Seoul Myeong-dong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,687 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,004
    1,354
    275
    38
    16
See reviews for
576
671
367
335
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

I stayed for 8 days in Seoul for vacation with my sister. My choice for Ibis myeong-dong was based on everyone's review here!& I was glad that I made the right choice! really easy to get there by bus shuttle from airport. I went in the freezing winter temperature drops to -14C but there's good heaters so felt really warm in the rooms! And at check out you can place your bags down in the luggage room till you go to he airport!
Location is amazing just like everyone said!. For shopaholics like myself everything is near you mostly cosmetics but what ever you want it's near! Food also was great variety around: traditional Korean, Macdonalds burger king pizza hut Japanese and for all the Muslims there is a halal restaurant just below the hotel called safron! It is a Turkish restaurant. There were facilities I didn't use! Only the free wifi was really fast & good!
Nanta theater is just behind it which is a must show to attend( they can book you a seat from the hotel & you get 5% discount)! Totally recommend this hotel! And i do plan on staying there again.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank aansakura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seria, Brunei Darussalam
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Stayed with family in a junior suite in Aug 2011.
Great value for money. Has washing machine, water dispenser, ice dispenser, drinks dispenser on every floor. Very helpful and courteous staff. Friendly too. Made tour bookings for us and got 5% off what we would have paid, if we had booked by ourselves. Food in the hotel was good and affordable too .

Well located, near the shopping district and just by the bus stop. The airport limo stops right in front of the hotel. It is one street from the NANTA theatre, which I highly recommend, by the way.
All in all, an affordable place in central Seoul with the best possible location.Will stay again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaKingskid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Ibis Styles Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Metro Hotel
Metro Hotel
#11 of 471 in Seoul
1,251 reviews
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Hotel Skypark Central Myeongdong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
The Grand Hotel Myeongdong
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Nine Tree Hotel Myeong-dong
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Hotel ShinShin
Hotel ShinShin
#17 of 471 in Seoul
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong

Property: ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong
Address: 78, Namdaemun-ro, Jung-gu, Seoul 04534, South Korea
Phone Number:
Region: South Korea > Seoul > Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Seoul
#21 Family Hotel in Seoul
#27 Best Value Hotel in Seoul
#36 Business Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong 3*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ibis Myeong Dong is located in the heart of the trendiest shopping district in Seoul, with major department stores, restaurants, cafes and nightclubs nearby. The hotel features 280 contemporary style rooms with LCD televisions as well as a restaurant, sauna, gym, business centre, coin operated laundry and parking. Major banks and businesses also have their headquarters in the area and the hotel has two meeting rooms available for up to 40 delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Ambassador Myeong Dong Hotel
Accor Ambassador Myeong Dong Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing