We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hostel Luna by Marlies Janssens”
Review of Hotel Luna

Hotel Luna
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Luna
Ranked #16 of 64 Cairo B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 March 2012

I was in this hostel in September 2011.
I stayed there for 4 nights.
I had to pay € 72,00.
Including 4 nights, breakfast and transfer by taxi from and back to the airport.
It was very basic but clean and you had your own bathroom.It is situated in the middle of the center. You could walk to a lot of attractions.
The staff was very kind and helpfull.
And this all for only € 72,00.

I would do it again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marlies J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2012

Some months ago, when I wrote a positive review of Bella Luna, Luna's slightly upscale counterpart two floors down, I wrote that I'd probably be happy staying at Luna as well.

This time I did stay at Luna, and I did have a pleasant stay.

I stayed alone in a back-side room with a balcony and a private bath. The room was quiet, clean, spacious, and comfortable.

Because some onward travel plans fell through, I stayed here longer than planned: ten days. I had a writing project to work on, and my room at Luna provided a good quiet place to work on it.

What I wrote of Bella Luna applies to Luna as well: "The staff were always friendly and helpful, the fellow guests pleasant."

Many thanks to Hany, Samy, Nesren, Omar, and Ahmed. They were always helpful and congenial.

One extraordinary feature of Luna: The whole time I was there, I never saw anyone from the staff smoking on the job. I meant to ask whether no smoking for the staff is a policy. In any case, the absence of smoke was very welcome. (Smoking is a prevalent habit in Egypt, and you can stay at hostels in Cairo where the staff smoke nonstop.)

Another Luna touch: In the lobby they keep the radio softly playing, and the music is -- my goodness! -- Western classical.

I don't eat hotel food, so I can't comment on the breakfast.

The location is central and convenient. The hot water worked fine. So too the elevator. And Luna always felt safe and secure.

Regarding the internet: At Bella Luna all the rooms have wifi. At Luna, not so. There's a public wifi space where you can log in. The connection is good and reasonably fast. In your room you may also pick up the Bella Luna connection or a connection that's not locked. But the signal won't be as strong, and you can't steadily depend on it.

I am happy to recommend Luna.

Room Tip: My back-side room was quiet. The front-side rooms, we hear, are less so. All the rooms have high cei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank O_Gopal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2011

My guide/driver had trouble finding the hotel as it is tucked behind the shops fronting Talaat Harb. Good central location with a huge shopping complex right across the street and myriad of shops running the length of the thoroughfare. Very central and near the Egyptian Museum.
Basic hotel as you've expected but perfectly adequate. Booked a single and was given a huge room with 4 single beds to myself. Balcony is perfect for people watching. Used their laundry and came back with damp clothes (no sun it seems and I was in a hurry). Hotel is located on the top floor and you need to use a so call "open" lift which was scary initially to get to it. Breakfast was simple as expected.
Overall a good value for what I've paid but was expecting more from reading Lonely Planet.
Will return.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank feibeesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2011

To Everyone at Hotel Luna - I have just recommended you to our Australian friends who are currently living in London and planning on a trip to Egypt in October 2011. We stayed with you in 2006 - happy to give you 5 star from airport pickup, location, accommodation, cleanliness and your generous and most friendly hospitality. Of course there was noise but it is ''downtown cairo' - so not complaining - closing the doors shuts most out. At the time of our stay renovations commenced on your new area. Happy to see that was completed beautifully. And hoping to return to your country again one day in near future.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank janal1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2011

the hotel was clean and the staff was helpful, the only thing was the elevator which I think was old, the hotel is on a busy street and you can pop out and in to buy anything you want from morning until night . on the street.

Room Tip: the back rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jasmine034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2011

Amazingly cheap for a private room on a main street dowtown Cairo. At night Talaat Harb Street is closed to cars and packed with an incredible number of people. And you just have to step out of your room to enjoy it! The staff at the front desk is very friendly and helpful, such a contrast with all those people sneaking around the pyramids. Only bad thing is that it is very hard to get hot water when you shower.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Desman31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2011

This is a decent hotel for its price. The staff are helpful and our room was clean enough. The breakfast got us going but is not over the top. The street noise is very loud and Cairo is a nocturnal place - bring some earplugs. The location is quite busy and very close to the Egyptian museum,

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mikeynom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.6 km away
Windsor Hotel Cairo
Windsor Hotel Cairo
#23 of 138 in Cairo
599 reviews
13.7 km away
Lotus Hotel
Lotus Hotel
#68 of 138 in Cairo
81 reviews
0.6 km away
My Hotel
My Hotel
#2 of 64 in Cairo
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Cairo Moon Hotel
Cairo Moon Hotel
#5 of 64 in Cairo
93 reviews
0 km away
Sakkara Inn Hotel
Sakkara Inn Hotel
#7 of 64 in Cairo
21 reviews
10 km away
Mesho Inn Hostel
Mesho Inn Hostel
#58 of 131 in Cairo
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luna

Address: 27 Talaat Harb St, 5th Floor | Downtown, Cairo 99999, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Cairo
Price Range: $13 - $27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Luna 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel & Hostel Luna are small hotels located on Talaat Harb St, one of downtown Cairo’s most lively streets. From Luna, you are only a short walk away from the Egyptian Museum of Antiquities, within easy access to all means of public transport (metro stations "Sadat and Nasser" ) city buses, Ramses Train station and Turgoman Bus Station (to go anywhere in Egypt), and you are literally surrounded by shops, restaurants and cafes. You will find Four ATM machines right in front of the Hotel, as well as Banks, Exchange offices, Thomas Cook and American Express counters nearby.Luna offers spacious rooms, With high ceilings and original parquet. You can choose the type of room that suitsyour needs and your budget.Room with private bathroom and A/C, Room with A/C and Sharing bathroom, Room looking on the street or away from it (on the back side),Single, Double, Triple, Quadruple.Bed linen and Fresh towels are provided and changed daily.Enjoy 25% discount + the FREE pick up From OR to airport! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Luna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing