We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in a shopping district”
Review of Cairo Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cairo Inn
Ranked #45 of 125 Speciality Lodging in Cairo
Clearwater Beach, FL
Level Contributor
266 reviews
189 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
“Great location in a shopping district”
Reviewed 2 May 2011

Most of the other reviews are correct. What we loved about this hotel was the location, right in the heart of a shopping district. You walk out the front door and in all directions are shops where ordinary locals shop. We saw no other tourists. The are is clean, upscale and we were not afraid to walk back from dinner in the dark. BTW - the hotel does not present that well in the entrance, but once you get over that, the rooms are fairly nice and the management very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler5548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    26
    17
    3
    10
See reviews for
8
18
21
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 February 2011

I stayed only one night at the Cairo Inn (unfortunately). The room was clean, lovely and perfect. Located right on Talat Harb Square and in walking distance to everything definatel made up for the traffic noise in the morning. Bahaa the host is kind, generous and very friendly as were all of his staff.

I'll be going back for more on my next visit.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anita0671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Covington, KY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2010

The room was clean and the owner speaks fluent English. When paying for the room, he went through different tours he could put us on. We wanted to go to the Pyramids, so he set up a driver he trusted to drive us to Giza Pyramids, Saqqara, and Memphis for the day. The driver took us to a back entrance to the Pyramids and refused to let us go anywhere else until we paid some guy $160USD to get in (When it only costs 60 EL to get in). They wouldn't let us leave and made us feel like we were in a bad situation. The owner will try to take you to his store where he sells "papyrus paper paintings" which are on bananna and won't hold up. We weren't interested in buying anything and they kept grabbing our arms and literally would not let us leave. The guy even took money out of my pockets and tried to give me a painting that I did not want. It took forever to get that money back and be able to leave.

Horrible experience. They may seem friendly but, they are just trying to swindle you out of any money you have. We left after the second night, even though we were in Cairo for 3 more days. We didn't even feel comfortable there anymore.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MortenLa4186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2010

We arrived in this hotel without advanced booking, the building outside is very elegant, rooms are clean and it seems they have been recently restored. Bathrooms are very small, but well organized, with new tiles, and clean too.
The only defect I can find is that the front room facing Midan Tahrir are very noisy, better if you can take a back room, and your stay will be perfect.
Hotel is close to many restaurants (for all budgets) and shops, and walking distance to the Nile and the Museum.
Before chosing Cairo Inn we walked a while around and looked at other hotels, it seems to us this is the best budget one in the area.
Staff is very kind.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onelastwish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2010

Family of 4:
We spend 3 nights in this very nice and comfortable hotel and we loved every min of it.
The hotel facade will trick you, since every building in Cairo is beige and grey due to pollution, but once you enter the cleanness, friendliness and cool air condition will surprise you. The hotel is an american-egyptian family-run hotel, its small but very comfortable and cosy. The balcony is nice in the evening and all the staff speak fluently english.
The hotel is located at Talat Harb, which is literally in the heart of Cairo. We walked to every attraction, American Uni, Cairo Museum, Nile cornich, Gezirer tower etc. since they were all very close around us.

I have travelled a lot in egypt and this hotel can really not disappoint you!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtraveller_maria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2010

The owner speaks fluent English and has lived in the US which makes communication very easy. Everyone there is friendly and kind.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tmcquaid78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ingolstadt
Level Contributor
133 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2010

Great staff, very friendly, no hassles, clean rooms, good breakfast, nothing to complain about, nice view of balcony, paid 30 Euros for the room.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank I_travel_alot78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
7.1 km away
City View Hotel
City View Hotel
#22 of 137 in Cairo
315 reviews
5.9 km away
Windsor Hotel Cairo
Windsor Hotel Cairo
#24 of 137 in Cairo
576 reviews
7.0 km away
Museum House Hotel
Museum House Hotel
#47 of 137 in Cairo
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 km away
Hotel Grand Royal
Hotel Grand Royal
#41 of 137 in Cairo
232 reviews
7.1 km away
Osiris Hotel
Osiris Hotel
#35 of 137 in Cairo
379 reviews
5.6 km away
Baron Hotel Heliopolis Cairo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairo Inn

Property: Cairo Inn
Address: 6 Talat Harb Square, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 125 Speciality Lodging in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairo Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cairo Inn is a beautiful, newly renovated inn only minutes from the Egyptian museum and main bus and train stations. We are located in one of the main squares in downtown Cairo – surrounded by restaurants, coffee shops and shopping opportunities. Our staff and in-house travel agency will make sure you have a great holiday.Relax on the balcony and enjoy the bustling square below. All rooms with a/c. Laundry, luggage storage, Wifi and satellite TV available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Cairo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairo Hotel Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing