We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent, Clean”
Review of El Tonsy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
El Tonsy Hotel
Ranked #36 of 54 Cairo B&B and Inns
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Decent, Clean”
Reviewed 16 May 2012

The team was friendly, beds are fresh and clean, towels are clean, bar fridge and TV. Food and drinks are very expensive with 12% service charge and 10% tax charges - you can get cheaper drinks and food close by so it was not a train smash. Overall the hotel was okay, free wifi included

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank estellem1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    11
    11
    3
    6
See reviews for
4
11
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

My Self and my wife stayed at this hotel for 4 nights during our holiday in Egypt. the hotel is located right in the centre of town and the room they give us is over looking the Nile after they knew that we are in Egypt for our honeymoon, they did not charge us any extra that was very nice of them. The breakfast is OK I think they need to improve it a bit more, but they serve you hot drink every morning and that is important for me. We did not eat at the restaurant because we were out most of the time. Rooms were very clean and they give you fresh towels everyday. if you are looking for clean rooms centre location cheap place to stay i would say consider this place.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
america
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Rooms clean and warm there are fantastic views of the Nile despite the existence of the hotel in the center of the city, but it is calm and very cooperative Staff.
Breakfast is weak, but the hotel is close to many restaurants

Room Tip: Nile view rooms very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elina a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caibarien, Cuba
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

This hotel has a magnificent view of the Nile as the reception is very useful and helps you in anything would like to do both inside and outside the hotel elevator incredibly fast frightening
Rooms clean and comfortable but the air conditioner takes 15 minutes until work the food is not working well enough, but acceptable

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the Nile is magnificent
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank williams_evans18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

worst hotel ive ever stayed in. Place was dirty, smelled like cat urine. Rooms were clod no working air conditioning, hotel had no blankets and took three nights for them to get blankets. We were part of a tour and other people on tour had the same problem. would not stay here ever.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cairo hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
southeast
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We stayed at the El Tonsy Hotel in December 2011. The hotel is located near an intersection and bridge that connects to downtown Cairo. The hotel has basic decor and breakfast as well. However, it does have complimentary wireless internet located on the 18th floor (bar/dining area) of the hotel. The room was small and clean. The staff were friendly during our visit.

I would recommend this hotel for backpackers or 'frugal' guests. In addition, I would recommend asking for one of the larger rooms in the hotel if possible. Also keep in mind that at most hotels in the city may have signs in the hotel rooms asking guests to discard used toilet tissue in the wastebaskets so please keep that in mind. The hotel is located near a few restaurants within walking distance, in which a few stay open late.

Room Tip: *If possible, ask for one of the larger rooms (not sure if it's a price difference but it may be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frugaldiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

Friendly staff, included in the price you'll have also a shuttle from the airport.not very clean..and i booked a double room with one bed but they told me that there were two separate beds when i was already there!!breakfast was very good..pay attention the water is not included but they give you and then you pay E$10.00. fearful lift ahahah!!! very nice roof garden!I think i payed too much for what they offered but the place is ok.i didn't like the location, i suggest the other side (i mean where is the museum!)

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cairo
0.2 km away
Pyramisa Suites Hotel Cairo
0.3 km away
Pharaohs Hotel & Casino
2.3 km away
Osiris Hotel
Osiris Hotel
#35 of 137 in Cairo
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Concord Hotel
Concord Hotel
#94 of 137 in Cairo
123 reviews
0.4 km away
King Hotel
King Hotel
#85 of 137 in Cairo
161 reviews
1.8 km away
City View Hotel
City View Hotel
#22 of 137 in Cairo
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Tonsy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Tonsy Hotel

Property: El Tonsy Hotel
Address: 143 El Tahrir street, Dokki, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — El Tonsy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EL Tonsy Hotel is newly renovated. The hotel is located right in the center of Cairo 10 minutes walk to the Egyptian museum, 2 minutes to the River Nile, 15 minutes drive to the Giza Pyramids, 10 minutes drive to Khan El Khalili Market. The hotel has 25 rooms with A/C, Bathroom, Satellite TV, telephone, and some of which overlook the river Nile. Food is freshly prepared by or chefs. Relax in the bar or on the roof terrace with stunning views of the city and the river Nile. Free airport pick up. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca and Priceline so you can book your El Tonsy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing