We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Very good with one exception!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Cairo Semiramis
Ranked #13 of 139 Hotels in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 January 2012

I actually moved to this hotel from another (which was awful)! The location is great, the desk staff were excellent. The food in both room service and at the the restaurants (tried 3) was very good. I had a balcony facing the Nile - great view! The room was excellent - comfy bed, great amenities, etc. The only drawback to this hotel is the wifi in the rooms. They have wifi only in the lower 4 public floors, but not the rooms. They have cables in the room for internet access, but for all those who have Mac items (iPad, MacBook Air, etc), this is NOT a good option! PLEASE upgrade and get wifi in your rooms - this is a basic in better hotels today!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Okayiguess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc L, Manager at InterContinental Cairo Semiramis, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2012

Dear Okayiguess,

Thank you very much for your review on the Semiraimis InterContinental Cairo. It was a pleasure reading that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Your concern about WIFI connectivity on the floors will be taken into consideration.

My name is Marc Lambert, Executive Assistant Manager [marc.lambert@semiramisic.com] and I am looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Semiramis InterContinental Cairo.

I remain,

Marc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,460)
There are newer reviews for InterContinental Cairo Semiramis
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

931 - 937 of 1,460 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2012

We good a great corner suite with 2 balconies overlooking the Nile and Tahrir Square. The views of the Nile, and the constant roar of traffic and night clubs made the balconies exciting, but with the windows closed the room was almost silent. The living room / office area was huge, and the bed room was quite large and quite comfortable. Breakfast in the Club was convenient, and my wife always enjoys drinks and snacks in the club in the evening. Staff was great. And with the view of Tahrir Square from the Club you can get a sense of how the day is going to be. Location was great ... on the Nile, close to the Square, close to the Metro. I will definitely return. And yes, despite the disturbances in Cairo, this hotel feels perfectly safe and perfectly secure.

Room Tip: I am a frequent guest at InterContinental Hotels and a member of their Ambassadors Club. It costs...
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Professor572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc L, Manager at InterContinental Cairo Semiramis, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2012

Dear WISEGUY572,

Thank you very much for your review on the Semiraimis InterContinental Cairo. It was a pleasure reading that you and your family have enjoyed your stay with us.

I do hope that you will always consider the Semiramis your home away from home where no effort will be saved to render each and every stay a most memorable one.

My name is Marc Lambert, Executive Assistant Manager [marc.lambert@semiramisic.com] and I am looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back to the Semiramis InterContinental Cairo.

I remain,

Marc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

We stayed with 21 people at this hotel and received excellent service. The staff member Caroline based on the 18 floor was very welcoming and accomodated our large crowd which included children.

The rooms were fantastic especially the suites.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shamal k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc L, Manager at InterContinental Cairo Semiramis, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2012

Dear Shamal k,

Thank you very much for your review on the Semiraimis InterContinental Cairo. It was a pleasure reading that you and your friends have enjoyed your stay with us.

My name is Marc Lambert, Executive Assistant Manager [marc.lambert@semiramisic.com] and I am looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you and your friends back to the Semiramis InterContinental Cairo.

I remain,

Marc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

The Semiramis is famouse for international tourists. I stayed here a few times over the years. While I have always liked it greatly, if for no other reason than their good Italian restaurant. That said, it is also great for seeing King Tut at the museum nearby. However, it is also close to the recent turmoil, and one time I was there many years ago whe a tour bus was blown-up less than 200 yards away. Because of the location, BE SURE to be a bit careful here and nearby!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RickinShelby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc L, Manager at InterContinental Cairo Semiramis, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2012

Dear RickinShelby,

Thank you very much for your review on the Semiraimis InterContinental Cairo. It was a pleasure reading that you have enjoyed your stay with us and also enjoyed the “Pane-Vino” our Italian restaurant.

My name is Marc Lambert, Executive Assistant Manager [marc.lambert@semiramisic.com] and I am looking forward to welcome you again in the near future.

I remain,

Marc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

It was our first trip to Cairo and the Semiramis is a good place to get familiar with the city ;it is centrally located although demonstrations were going on in Tahrir square ,it was no trouble and we even took a stroll to the square to check it out at night on our way to dinner a couple of times ; the atmosphere was friendly and peaceful ,just the opposite of what you hear or see in the news ; the service in the hotel was excellent ,the rooms were comfortable (2 doubles ,city view but you get to see quite a bit of the nile on the side) and well worth the price ; breakfast was excellent and varied ,the waiters are friendly and helpful ;reception staff and concierge are also nice and friendly ; beware the taxi drivers at the entrance ,they will hassle but you can wave off and take plenty of cheaper taxis a few steps from the hotel ; you can also negotiate good day trips with them since tourism is at slack now,i.e ,we paid 220 LE for a day tip to Giza pyramids,Saqqara & Dashur ,from 9h00 to 16h30 , ; Egyptian museum is also close by at walking distance ; all in all , it was a good deal and I recommend this hotel for families and couples

Room Tip: take the rooms floor 15 and above
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KhalidTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc L, Manager at InterContinental Cairo Semiramis, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2012

Dear KhalidTravel,

Thank you very much for your review on the Semiraimis InterContinental Cairo. It was a pleasure reading that you and your family have enjoyed your stay with us.

Your nice words about the hotel and the staff are very much appreciated.

My name is Marc Lambert, Executive Assistant Manager [marc.lambert@semiramisic.com] and I am looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back to the Semiramis InterContinental Cairo.

I remain,

Marc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

This is an excellent hotel, I'd definitely stay here again.

I had a nile view room which was lovely (though as stated elsewhere it will be very noisy until very very late, Cairo really is a city that never sleeps!), the service was superb, security was very tight and the hotel restaurants are among the best in the city.

Location wise it is perfect too - right on the Nile and a block away from the Egyptian museum.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrLoop1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc L, Manager at InterContinental Cairo Semiramis, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2012

Dear MrLoop1,

Thank you very much for your review on the Semiraimis InterContinental Cairo. It was a pleasure reading that you and your partner have enjoyed your stay with us.

My name is Marc Lambert, Executive Assistant Manager [marc.lambert@semiramisic.com] and I am looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you and your partner back to the Semiramis InterContinental Cairo.

I remain,

Marc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

My wife and I stayed for one night at the end of November. While there were protests nearby the hotel was extremely secure and we had no safety concerns during our stay. The hotel is outstanding with multiple dining options and the views of the nile are amazing.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mhdh2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc L, Manager at InterContinental Cairo Semiramis, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2012

Dear mhdh2011,

Thank you very much for your review on the Semiraimis InterContinental Cairo. It was a pleasure reading that you and your wife have enjoyed your stay with us.

My name is Marc Lambert, Executive Assistant Manager [marc.lambert@semiramisic.com] and I am looking forward to welcome you again in the near future.

I remain,

Marc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.9 km away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
0.8 km away
Ramses Hilton
Ramses Hilton
#14 of 139 in Cairo
2,452 reviews
0.5 km away
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
0.8 km away
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at Nile Plaza
11.5 km away
InterContinental Cairo Citystars
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Cairo Semiramis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Cairo Semiramis

Address: Corniche El Nil | PO Box 60, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cairo
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
#9 Casino Hotel in Cairo
#13 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
#13 Business Hotel in Cairo
Price Range: $162 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Cairo Semiramis 5*
Number of rooms: 726
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HISTORIC LEGENDS ON THE BANKS OF THE NILE Standing on the site of the historic Semiramis Hotel, the Semiramis InterContinental is situated in the heart of Cairo, a few minutes' walk from the city's commercial centre, the Egyptian Museum of Antiquities and the Cairo Opera House. The Citadel and Old Cairo are nearby. The pleasures on Zamalek Island are in full view across the Nile. The Giza Pyramids and Cairo International Airport are only 25 km (16 miles) away. Free WIFI and 12 dining options, 11 meeting and conference rooms make the hotel a favourite culinary and event destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Cairo Semiramis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Cairo Semiramis Hotel Cairo
Semiramis Hotel Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing