We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Cairo Semiramis
Ranked #13 of 139 Hotels in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Location! Location! Location!
This is the hotel for convenience. Then take the Meridian's boat on the Nile. Book your Nile trip when you get to Cairo-much cheaper. (Unless it is Eid holiday and the boats will be all sold -out).
I tell everyone to stay here.

Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank GloriaMunday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc L, Executive Assistant Manager at InterContinental Cairo Semiramis, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2012

Dear Gloria Munday,

Thank you very much ‘Shokran Gazeelen’ for your review on the Semiramis InterContinental Cairo.

My name is Marc Lambert, Executive Assistant Manager, marc.lambert@ihg.com. It was my pleasure reading that you and your family enjoyed the stay at our hotel in March.

Looking forward for the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back to the Semiramis InterContinental Hotel in the near future.

I remain,

Marc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,460)
There are newer reviews for InterContinental Cairo Semiramis
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

892 - 898 of 1,460 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2012

I found myself in Egypt right bang in the middle of the riots last month. Having a safe place to stay was quite important. From what i understand this property is one of the best in Egypt. The staff are extremely helpful and courteous (especially in the Club Lounge) and the rooms clean and spacious. Thank goodness for their well equipped gym (also a female only gym) and large outdoor pool when taking refuge from the chaos and not so clean streets outside.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Esilenna8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc L, Executive Assistant Manager at InterContinental Cairo Semiramis, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2012

Dear AnneliseP,

My name is Marc Lambert, Executive Assistant Manager, marc.lambert@ihg.com and I would like to thank you ‘Shokran Gazeelen’ for your review on the Semiramis InterContinental Cairo. It was my pleasure reading that you and your friends enjoyed your June- stay at our hotel.

I will pass your comments to the Executive Lounge team as well as the Health Club.

Looking forward for the pleasure of welcoming you and your friends back to the Semiramis in the near future.

I remain,

Marc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

1- The room was amazing with an excellent nile view ... the room is wide, nice and modern.

2- the food in general is excellent with varities of choices (Middle Eastern, Western and Far Eastern).

3- the swimming pool is small in comparison to the hotel in general and the service is a bit slow.

4- the hotel location is in the heart and soul of cairo close to every historical location.

5- the check in and reception service is fast and professional.

Room Tip: Choose room at a high floor with a nile view).
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ahmed-allam79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc L, Executive Assistant Manager at InterContinental Cairo Semiramis, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2012

Dear Ahmed-allam79,

My name is Marc Lambert, Executive Assistant Manager, marc.lambert@ihg.com and I would like to thank you ‘Shokran Gazeelen’ for your review on the Semiramis InterContinental Cairo. It was my pleasure reading that you and your family enjoyed staying at our hotel in June.

I will pass your message to the our Chef and Reception.

Looking forward for the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back to the Semiramis in the near future.

I remain,

Marc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

I recently spent a few nights in The Intercontinental Semiramis in Cairo and a had a wonderful time. Everything was taken care of for me from the bellhop on. I had pre-booked a room online and check-in was easy and painless. My room was a deluxe Nile room view with balcony and I wasn't disappointed. I was on the 10th floor and found it adequate for the noise and inevitable car horns that honk with no end in Cairo. I had a king size bed and the sheets and pillows were great, I overslept the first night because I was so comfortable. Being Egypt, the sheets were fine cotton. The room was spacious with a bed, desk, reading chair with footstool and side table. There was an in-room safe and mini bar, coffee, huge closet, A/C, TV. It was everything I would have expected from a five star hotel. My only complaint would have been not having a mini-fridge outside of the mini bar itself. The bathroom was also very comfortable with toilet, be dais, sink with a lot of space and shower/tub. Amenities were included, soaps, robes, slippers, again incredible large cotton towels. I have to comment on the shower in that it was one of the best showers I have taken. The water pressure and volume were astounding and the head was mounted where a tall person doesn't have to lean over. The shower was welcome after long days in Cairo sightseeing. The hotel has a pool, I saw lots of people out there during the day. There are many shops and services available like laundry, banking, and a full business center which I also used the services of. The Hotel has several options for dining and I ate at three of them. Sabaya, a Lebanese restaurant, The Birdcage is Thai and was fantastic, and Pana Vino was Italian. At night they set the tables up around the pool and options to eat outside are available as are room service from any of the restaurants. There were other restaurants and cafes as well but this was all that I ate. All three were exceptional in price and quality. There is a small casino on the property with roulette and blackjack and slots, stays open twenty four hours. Transportation is convenient at the hotel as well. The Cairo metro stop is at Tahrir Square just one block away. Cabs are lined up outside on the street. It is on a very desirable location on the corniche overlooking Zamalek and the Nile. The main shopping streets are within a few blocks in all directions. The Semiramis would be my first choice when in Cairo again

Room Tip: Get a deluxe Nile room view or get as high as you can for views over Cairo. If traffic noise bothers...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc L, Executive Assistant Manager at InterContinental Cairo Semiramis, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2012

Dear Robert c,

My name is Marc Lambert, Executive Assistant Manager, marc.lambert@ihg.com and I would like to thank you ‘Shokran Gazeelen’ for your review on the Semiramis InterContinental Cairo. It was my pleasure reading that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

Looking forward for the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Semiramis in the near future.

I remain,

Marc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

nice hotel but little expensive. You can find many resturants at the hotel and you can enjoy also at the casino.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank feysalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc L, Executive Assistant Manager at InterContinental Cairo Semiramis, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2012

Dear feysalt,

My name is Marc Lambert, Executive Assistant Manager, marc.lambert@ihg.com and I would like to thank you ‘Shokran Gazeelen’ for your review on the Semiramis InterContinental Cairo.

Looking forward for the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Semiramis in the near future.

I remain,

Marc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

The hotel is huge but, the lobby and the security is a put off. The staff at the check-in could be more friendlier, the bathrooms need updating. Even though there were hardl many guests there, they refuse to upgrade our room to nile view. There was a "co-operate/business" like atmosphere there, where I did not feel valued. On plus side the holtel is at the heart of cairo and we could go to all the attraction easily and cheaply.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rahman352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc L, Executive Assistant Manager at InterContinental Cairo Semiramis, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2012

Dear rahman352,

My name is Marc Lambert, Executive Assistant Manager, marc.lambert@ihg.com and I would like to thank you ‘Shokran Gazeelen’ for your review on the Semiramis InterContinental Cairo.

Reading through your comments, I do apologize for not being able to deliver the InterContinental Experience during your stay in the hotel, where our guests are our main interest .

Looking forward for the pleasure of welcoming you and your partner back to the Semiramis, where no effort will be spared to make your next stay an enjoyable one.

I remain,

Marc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

I was staying at the club floor during a business trip to Cairo and MUST say that the staff at the 18. th floor is beyond fantastic. All are kind, helpful, patient, and create perfect sorroundings needed on a business trip.
I warmly recommend Semiramis with its dedicated staff.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc L, Executive Assistant Manager at InterContinental Cairo Semiramis, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2012

Dear allan S,

My name is Marc Lambert, Executive Assistant Manager, marc.lambert@ihg.com and I would like to thank you ‘Shokran Gazeelen’ for your review on the Semiramis InterContinental Cairo. It was my pleasure reading that you enjoyed your stay t the hotel during your business trip.

I will certainly pass your comment to the Club Lounge team.

Looking forward for the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Semiramis in the near future.

I remain,

Marc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.9 km away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
0.8 km away
Ramses Hilton
Ramses Hilton
#14 of 139 in Cairo
2,452 reviews
0.5 km away
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
0.8 km away
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at Nile Plaza
11.5 km away
InterContinental Cairo Citystars
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Cairo Semiramis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Cairo Semiramis

Address: Corniche El Nil | PO Box 60, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cairo
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
#9 Casino Hotel in Cairo
#13 Business Hotel in Cairo
#13 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
Price Range: $162 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Cairo Semiramis 5*
Number of rooms: 726
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HISTORIC LEGENDS ON THE BANKS OF THE NILE Standing on the site of the historic Semiramis Hotel, the Semiramis InterContinental is situated in the heart of Cairo, a few minutes' walk from the city's commercial centre, the Egyptian Museum of Antiquities and the Cairo Opera House. The Citadel and Old Cairo are nearby. The pleasures on Zamalek Island are in full view across the Nile. The Giza Pyramids and Cairo International Airport are only 25 km (16 miles) away. Free WIFI and 12 dining options, 11 meeting and conference rooms make the hotel a favourite culinary and event destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Cairo Semiramis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Cairo Semiramis Hotel Cairo
Semiramis Hotel Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing