We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really charming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
Ranked #8 of 143 Hotels in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 October 2009

Conveniently located in Zamalek, the Cairo Marriott is a beautiful palace with several restaurants, a swimming pool, a decent gym and a wonderful garden. Cairo is a crazy city, hot, dirty and noisy. Staying at this hotel gives you a chance to appreciate the city by providing an oasis of quiet in Egyptian chaos, so much that you don't really feel like leaving the hotel. Food is good, at least in the restaurants I tried, staff is extremely friendly and efficient (except during breakfast at Omar's Café, don't know why), rooms are very nice yet noisy. I have to say I was quite shocked to notice how many prostitutes operate in this hotel (and unfortunately, I could hear their performances right next door). I do recommend this hotel, having a mango juice in the garden is a truly wonderful experience and the beauty of the original palace alone (as opposed to the ugly extensions) deserves a trip.

Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
3  Thank WanderingProfessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,443)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,663 - 1,669 of 2,443 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2009

My girlfriend and I really enjoyed our stay here. We went during Ramadan, so the grounds were lit up with pretty decorations. The smell of fruit flavored shishas (hookas) was very pleasing and pervasive for most of our stay, throughout the outdoor restaurant and pool areas.The gardens were very well maintained, and the pool was pretty great (large area, both indoor and outdoor swimming, hot tub, clean and nice towels).

There were many dining options and all of them had high-quality, tasty food. The free breakfast buffet at Omar Cafe was massive and had cooked-to-order omelets, smoked meats and cheeses, many types of fruit and yogurts, and even gourmet type non-breakfast food like sushi rolls. The orange juice had soda water in it, which we didn't like. The restaurant Egyptian Nights was fantastic local food (and the source of the shisha smoking, so it smelled nice), and we also had a yummy pizza and salad at the indoor indoor cafe just in the door from Promenade, and tasty quesadillas and a burger at the Promenade Cafe. We didn't try sushi or Italian or the American place, but they all looked nice as well. The price of the food was pretty reasonable, although we avoided the priciest options like the kabobs and meat platters at Egyptian Nights. Tips: Try the spicy cheese, it's awesome! Also, watching the women making fresh bread was interesting.

The room was comfortable and well-maintained. As far as I can tell, there's no reason to get a "nile view" room, since both of the major buildings are situated such that the balcony view includes the nile. Might request an inner room to see the pool and courtyard areas. That was nice to see. Wired internet in the room is an extra fee (about US$15/day).

The location is convenient to several of river boats, and we walked to two of them during our stay. There's also a small grocery store and a larger gas station convenience store within a few blocks (for much cheaper water than the bottles from the mini bar, just walk away from the Nile along the under side the 26th of July bridge, about 3 blocks).

Staff members at the hotel weren't particularly friendly, but th manager was apparently really nice to my girlfriend when we wanted to extend our stay for a few extra hours (since we had late flights).

A few minor complaints: blanket in non-smoking room smelled like cigarettes but was replaced. It's also possible that smoking had been allowed in the room (or someone had just done so), but there was a non-smoking sign outside the door. Also, we could not find seating in pool area on Saturday afternoon even though guests had put towels on seats and left, and we were barked at by a pool attendant when trying to sit in one even though the people weren't anywhere to be found.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank paulwhit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2009

This hotel was absolutely gorgeous inside and out.

The security measures when entering the building (metal detectors/ armed guards) seemed a bit drastic, but it became routine during the week we were there.

The hotel boasted a large lobby, providing all necessary amenities, several banks and currency exchange offices, friendly personnel, a shopping 'centre' within the hotel, nightly entertainment - live music and belly dancing, and more.

The rooms were immaculate, spacious, and depending on your location in the hotel, had a decent view of the courtyard/ pool area. We didn't order room service during our stay, however any other request made to the staff was dealt with in a polite and timely fashion.

The hotel's location is approx. 30mins driving distance from the pyramids, the sphinx, and the archaeological museum of Cairo (depending on traffic). When in the hotel, you forget you're in Egypt, until you walk outside and turn the corner.

Overall, if you're looking for comfort in Cairo and willing to pay for it, I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Electricious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2009

Initially we stayed in the hotel Maardi as that is where Intrepid booked us and it was terrible so we booked elsewhere for our night in Cairo before we flew out and opted for one of the executive suits at the Marriott. Its a beautiful hotel in a convenient area with excellent service and remarkable seclusion from the hustle and bustle of the city. Would definately stay there again if came back to Cairo.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank EvilParrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2009

Was joined by wife/daughter on business trip.
The first room we were put is was a smoking room despite being told it wasn't.
Very poor follow-up by management/front desk staff.
Great facilities, which is a local attraction.
Everything is charged for, including children's play area.
Very handy for Cairo Museum and airport.
Lots of night life within the hotel - open air bars, restaurants, cafe, night club and jazz bar. Very opulent. The executive club is great, with a full dinner, which is useful is you're eating late at night.
Rooftop/open air cinema - which we didn't try but looked great from our room.
Worth staying in...

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WorkNPlayHomenAway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2009

I recently stayed in this hotel on a brief leisure trip to Eypgt. This is a very nice hotel. I would not call it a luxury hotel, but it is a very solid hotel and I had a very pleasant stay there. It is best suited, I would think, for business travelers and would be good for families too. The service was impeccable. The hotel and grounds very very clean. They have a nice pool area with food/drink service and several restaurants in the garden area, which are nice to eat at any time of the day or evening. They have a really good American breakfast buffet, European buffet and what they call and Oriental buffet. It is a bit on the expensive side (about $25 dollars) but well worth it. They also have several other restaurants and a couple of bars.

My only complaint about my room was that it was a "smoking room" and they did not seem to have very many "non-smoking" rooms. I had a great view of the Nile, however I did not find Cairo a very picturesque place, so the view wasn't so great. It seemed centrally located, but you probably couldn't walk to many places from there because it is located on an island.

However, I wouldn't recommend walking anywhere in Cairo personally. I also would not recommend trying to drive in Cairo. Imagine New York cab drivers meet Italian drivers and then multiple that by 100. Apparently, there are no road rules, only suggestions, which are not followed. It is insane. I highly recommend, if you are traveling for leisure, to hire a personal quide and driver, which are quite reasonably priced. I used Continental Tours in Cairo, which I found on Trip Advisor and they paired me with Amina Desouky who was great and the driver Hameda who managed to get me around in one piece (no small feat in Cairo). All the licensed guides in Egypt are apparently Egyptologists and have at least a four year education. They are very knowledgeable and it really is a great comfort to have them.

The Hyatt in Cairo looked quite nice as an alternatice and for a luxury property, if you do not need to be in Cairo the whole time, I highly recommend Oberoi Mena House out in Giza by the Pyramids.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sftraveler94102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2009

Security was as you would expect in middle east.However security staff and a majority of hotel staff ranged from being apathetic to being downright rude especially to middle-aged plus women of Anglo-American appearance

  • Stayed: December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AussieKeelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
2.1 km away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
2.1 km away
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo
1.2 km away
Hilton Cairo Zamalek Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at Nile Plaza
1.7 km away
Fairmont Nile City
Fairmont Nile City
#4 of 143 in Cairo
1,886 reviews
1 km away
Ramses Hilton
Ramses Hilton
#16 of 143 in Cairo
2,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino

Address: 16 Saray El Gezira Street | Zamalek, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Casino Hotel in Cairo
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
#7 Business Hotel in Cairo
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
#9 Family Hotel in Cairo
Price Range: $154 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino 5*
Number of rooms: 1060
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Among premier Cairo, Egypt hotels, Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino sits in the Zamalek area and is the perfect destination for weekend getaways, vacations, and business travel. The twin towers of this landmark hotel in Cairo rise 20 stories high and provide magnificent views of the Nile and six acres of palace gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Cairo
Cairo Marriott Hotel And Omar Khayyam Casino
Marriott Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing