We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,897)
Filter reviews
2,897 results
Traveller rating
1,434
824
386
132
121
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,434
824
386
132
121
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsterrace cafeegyptian museumsherlock holmes pubmanal fouadnile viewthe executive loungeindian restaurantspecial thankssecond homecairo towertahrir squareduty managerfront officebreakfast buffetvisit cairoenjoyed my stayhouse keeping
Filter
Updating list...
1,708 - 1,713 of 2,897 reviews
Reviewed February 1, 2013

the Hilton Brand, the location and the expectations had determined the choice of this hotel before the actual wake up.
As mentioned here many times, this hotel is nowhere near the usual Hilton... it is a huge concrete bunker, located on a corner facing a junction of 5 or 6 streets and one of the few Nile bridges.
The noise and smog is just obnoxious, traffic outside, small and overcrowded Lobby, old and slow
elevators.....
The rooms are spacious enough but so much aged and dusty. The Rooftop Pool is as big as 3
bathtubs and has cracked tiles all over....
Staying in this hotel is just depressing and not really worth the money.
My stay goes back to exactly when the "revolution " started.... so maybe things have changed since.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank okrased
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramses H, Hilton Management at Ramses Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Greetings from the Ramses Hilton,

We do apologize for the outside noise which is really out of our control and the condition of the hotel that did not meet your expectations. We have taken your comments very seriously into consideration to further improve our hotel condition.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Ramses Hilton.
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 25, 2013

I stayed in this hotel back in September 2011, during a very uneasy time amongst the Egyptian people and government. Any concerns I had about visiting Cairo were quickly erased as soon as I arrived at this hotel. The staff was very friendly, spoke English, and did everything to accomodate me during my stay. The hotel has plenty of entertainment inside (hookah lounger w/live performers, casino, shopping mall, business center) which was enough for me to relax during my stay in Cairo. Cairo itself may not be the cleanest city with its overcrowded population and traffic jams, but this hotel will make you forget everything and want to return.

Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
3  Thank Armo78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramses H, Hilton Management at Ramses Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Dear Guest,
Greetings from Ramses Hilton.

We have read your comment and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you very much for your nice comments on the team perfotmance and the lounge .

We look forward to welcoming you back again to the hotel or any of our Hilton Hotels Worldwide.

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Because I had vivid memories of my last trip to Egypt, in 1975, when I suffered extreme harassment right throughout Egypt, we decided to spend a little extra and have an executive room at a top hotel this time. It was an excellent decision. We booked direct, in advance, and paid about $170US per night, which was very reasonable for the service we received, especially since our stay was in January which is the peak of the tourist season. Unfortunately for tourist operators in Egypt, occupancy is very low at the moment, but we never felt unsafe.

Check in is on the 26th floor and the staff there handled all our requests pleasantly and efficiently, arranging for the concierge to meet us to book a guide and driver for our sightseeing and greeting us by name when we returned to the hotel. The Executive Lounge is excellent - good food, soft drinks and coffee during the day and wine, spirits and beer from 6-8.30pm, with delicious finger food.

On our final evening I was using the computer in the executive reception and got into conversation with the young woman on the desk. When she found out I was attempting to book a transfer from Sharm el Sheikh airport to a ship the next day she rang a colleague in a Hilton in Sharm and arranged for a hotel driver to meet us at the airport and drop us at the ship, and to meet us for the return trip a week later. This wonderful service epitomised the professionalism and friendliness of the Ramses Hilton staff.

Breakfast was excellent, the room was comfortable and clean and the location is unbeatable. This is a refuge in a chaotic, noisy city. We can thoroughly recommend this hotel and feel we received excellent value for our additional executive room tariff. This was a thoroughly enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: The higher the level the better, as the river boats are very noisy but this did not bother us unduly.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Indiafan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramses H, Hilton Management at Ramses Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Our Dear Guest,

Greetings and thank you for your nice comments. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you very much for your nice comment on the performance of the Executive Floor team member. We will convey it to her personally.

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed our breakfast and our Executive lounge.

We look forward to welcoming you back again to the hotel or any of our Hilton Hotels Worldwide.

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 16, 2013

I use Hilton Hotels most of the time. I am used to there quality service. The Ramses stand out as an Excellent Hotel. I had to go to Luxor and the Hotel arranged it for me and made sure that I got the VIP treatment. They arranged the flight and car with a very good driver. The staff are very friendly. The food is superb, especially the Indian resturant in the hotel. The location is perfect for business or tourism.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alexander A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramses H, Hilton Management at Ramses Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings and thank you for your continuous trust in Hilton Hotels and Resorts. We have read your comments and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you very much for your nice comments on the team perfotmance and the breakfast .
We are pleased to know that you enjoyed our outlets (The Indian Maharaja Restaurant ) as well.

We look forward to welcoming you back again to the hotel or any of our Hilton Hotels Worldwide.

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed here at the start & end of our visit to Egypt - there does seem to be a wide variety of opinion about the place so we were interested to see for ourselves - firstly the location - very central near the Egyptian Museum - Cairo IS noisy, hectic & the traffic unlike anything we have seen before - but once inside the hotel another world - calm with a real deco influence - all the staff were friendly & professional throughout our visit & there were no hold-ups at reception - our first room was on the 19th Floor - high above the traffic with a small balcony & great Nile view - the room was spacious - the bed extremely comfortable with crisp white bedding - there was also a sitting area - again a thirties influence - the bathroom was good with an excellent shower but although spotlessly clean could do with an update - our room at the end of the holiday was a mirror image on one floor lower - we went to the allocated room which although non-smoking smelt heavily of smoke - customer services moved us immediately with no problem at all - we had breakfast every morning & the choice was excellent both international & also the opportunity to try local dishes - we also had an excellent meal at Maharajah - the Indian restaurant in the hotel - we will comment fully in the restaurants section but well worth a try - we also enjoyed the Sherlock Holmes pub again within the hotel - we would happily stay at the Ramses Hilton in the future ...

Room Tip: The traffic is noisy so a room higher up would probably be best ...
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SANDAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramses H, Hilton Management at Ramses Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Dear Guest,
We have read your comments and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you very much for your nice comments on the team perfotmance and the breakfast .
We are pleased to know that you enjoyed our outlets (The Indian Maharaja Restaurant and the Sherlock Holmes Pub) as well.

We look forward to welcoming you back again to the hotel or any of our Hilton Hotels Worldwide.

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews