We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendliness of the staff is unparalleled.”
Review of New Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
New Palace Hotel
Ranked #22 of 125 Speciality Lodging in Cairo
Cairo, Egypt
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendliness of the staff is unparalleled.”
Reviewed 15 July 2011

In all my travels, I have never experienced staff as friendly and helpful as at the New Palace Hotel. They really went out of their way to tell me about the things to do and see in Cairo, and I immensely enjoyed learning from them about Egyptian life and politics - especially in these extraordinary times. My experience here was one of a kind, and I highly recommend this place for anyone looking to discover the real Cairo.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank starstjarna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    33
    3
    2
    15
See reviews for
7
10
51
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2011

My visit to Egypt was like a dream coming true. Seeing the piramids, sphinxs, temples and everything else Egypt can offer from its rich history was amazing.
Important mention that a hepfull and good service is mandatory for the success in ocasions like that (what I could get from Ahmed and partners along Egypt). Being in Cairo or in a cruise (when I had the oportunity to cross Egypt from Luxor to Aswan) were easy with a helpfull professionals like Ahmed and partners. I do recomend his services.
Wagner - Sao Paulo/Brazil

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WAGNER-EGYPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeuwarden
1 review
Reviewed 10 May 2011

* When you stay 3 or more days you will get a free pick up from the airport

Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank koek23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota, Colombia
1 review
Reviewed 12 January 2011

I stayed in the hotel for 2 months and it was great. The people were very friendly and they gave me the best advises.
The hotel is located on the roof of a downtown building. The location is very good because is near to various metro stations. Also you can walk to the Egyptian Museum, to the Khan el Kalili, etc…
Around the hotel there are many options for food. Beginning from “Taameya” (falafel sandwich) and finishing with pizza or Mc Donalds.
The hotel per se is very simple, but what else do you need when you travel besides a nice bed and nice bathroom?
The Hotel has different accommodations: single (without bathroom), single (with bathroom), double, triple and more. And it could include breakfast if you want to.
The staff of the hotel is always ready to help you. They always have the best advises. And is perfect that they have a travel agency of their own. This agency offers the best tours at the best prices.
The owner of the hotel is Dr Ahmed, a very nice, polite and intelligent man. Who is always trying to make your stay more comfortable.
In the roof of the hotel there is a restaurant which serves the most delicious vegetable soup. And off course I have to mention the 2 beautiful cats that live in the roof…2 cute little cats who are taken care very well by the staff…
So, in general the hotel is pretty good for the money they charge.
The only problem that I had was the hot water. Sometimes, it just did not work. But you can always go to the reception and they will find the solution.
So, good trip to Egypt! You will love it! Buen viaje!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IsabelBogota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beirut, Lebanon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2011

new palace hotel in cairo is worst place to be.the staff is very unfriendly un concerned.we were given a room with no hot water.after complaining for the same we were asked to wait for ten minuites but no news till 45 minutes.then we were give a new room but with the almiRAH having broken doors, bad drainage in bathroom, no internet signal...as were said that our room will be having wifi.we were told that can use washing machine but after 4 hours of running here and there we could manage something. the receptionist was very rude.the cook in the restaurent is damn slow.in evening we have ordrered snacks which we got in dinner time.the quantity of all meals was very less.cleanliness was not there.corners were stinking.nobody should go there.there are many other hotels in saME PRICE.pillows were like made up of stones and with lotsa cats all around even in dining area you arenot sure how hygeinic the food is.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank birdienchips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
Reviewed 19 December 2010

i liked the hotel very much , the location is perfect near to all the places you might need it , near to the banks near to all the resturants & also exactly near the metro station.

the cleanliness is great here they pay a good attention to all things would make your stay as much comfortable as they can.

the staff also are just great staff they have a good knowledge of how to treat a guest.

the resturant they have in the hotel is great one with a great view and they serve such a good food.

this hotel is a nice one & it made my stay in egypt worth.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fatima044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
Reviewed 12 December 2010

I stood in this hotel for about 3 weeks. I have been very happy that I stood here . The staff is very generous and helpful. At the roof there is a restaurant where I met people from all over the world.I would recommend this hotel very much because it is located very close to the metro station and in the centre of Cairo. Besides it is very cozy, which is very comfortable if you are travelling alone. The price is low and the rooms are very nice.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gabrielweis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.2 km away
Windsor Hotel Cairo
Windsor Hotel Cairo
#23 of 137 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel Grand Royal
Hotel Grand Royal
#41 of 137 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
1.2 km away
Safari Hotel
Safari Hotel
#63 of 125 in Cairo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
One Season Hostel
One Season Hostel
#8 of 125 in Cairo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
1.0 km away
Meramees Hostel
Meramees Hostel
#12 of 125 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.5 km away
The Australian Hostel
The Australian Hostel
#3 of 125 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Palace Hotel

Property: New Palace Hotel
Address: 17, Suleiman Al-Halaby, Cairo 1000, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 125 Speciality Lodging in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The open air roof garden is only one of the attractive features of this budget hotel. It's a legend among budget travelers and is still one of the cheapest places available in Cairo. The nice roof garden is divided into different parts. Every part resembles different culture of Egyptian life. The restaurant, open 24 hours, has an oriental sitting area, a water fountain and a billiard table free for the guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your New Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing