We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms and service, food needs work!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Aswan
Certificate of Excellence
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great rooms and service, food needs work!”
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We stayed for a couple days during our 2 week Egyptian visit and the view of the Nile and pool and mountains was breathtaking! They could not get the food right during any of the meals we had (wether room service or dining in).

Room Tip: Overlook the pool and water
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shan143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamer L, Executive Assistant Manager at Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan, responded to this review, 28 April 2012
Dear Madam,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Legend Old Cataract for your recent visit to Aswan.

I would like to sincerely thank you for sharing with us your valuable feedback.

We have well noted your constructive criticism and rest assured that we have addressed your comments with the respective department head to eliminate such defects to avoid reoccurrence.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan in the near future.

Sincerely,

Tamer Labib
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    938
    159
    47
    32
    21
See reviews for
246
514
88
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

I'll make this short and sweet. Though we were only there for "high tea", the Cataract Hotel is a must see during any visit to Aswan. Lush gardens, immaculate decor, attentive staff, and a view of the Nile that is simply out of this world. My only regret was that we were not staying overnight.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 55nrdtofly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_Cataract_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan, responded to this review, 15 April 2012
Dear Madam or Sir,

I would like to sincerely thank you for sharing with us your feedback and letting us know about your recent visit. Customer care is amongst our highest priorities and it is always gratifying to receive such praise.

Your positive feedback will be brought to the attention of all concerned which will encourage us to pursue our continuous effort in taking care of our valued customers.

I look forward to welcome you back very soon.

Sincerely,

Khaled Helmy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Afternoon tea at the Old Cataract Hotel has been on my bucket list ever since I watched Death on the Nile. It was even more beautiful than I'd hoped, the view at sunset is one of the most beautful things I've ever seen. We arrived by felucca which made it extra special. We had High Tea complete with finger sandwiches of tomato, lettuce and potato wedges, Egyptian chefs seem to have trouble working out what to put in a sandwich everywhere. The serivce was a rather slow compared to Mena House, but nothing out of the ordinary. And I just remembered that our scones never turned up, they gave us jam and cream but no scones.

I also had a tour of the hotel including suites in both buidlings, the day spa and the main restaurant. All of the rooms were beautiful and would be wonderful to stay in, the bathrooms were particularly impressive. On my next trip to Egypt I definately plan on spending atleast a week at the hotel. I can't wait to spend a couple of days at the spa. The refurb is extremely impressive and tasteful, though I have a feeling the modern style will date quickly.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amybritt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamer L, Executive Assistant Manager at Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan, responded to this review, 15 April 2012
Dear Madam or Sir,

I would like to sincerely thank you for sharing with us your feedback and letting us know about your recent visit. We have noted your valuable comments. Please rest assured that we try our utmost to fulfill our guests’ satisfaction.

We look forward to welcome you back to Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan in the near future.

Sincerely,
Tamer Labib
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antrim, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We were upgraded on the day of departure to the Old Cataract, staying two weekends either side of a Lake Nasser cruise, because the Movenpick staff were on strike! We were thrilled as we had originally wanted to stay here but thought the prices were too high!
The hotel's public areas have been sumptuously restored and are reminiscent of a bygone era. The walk into the lobby area after arriving from the gates by golf trolley is jaw dropping, even at midnight after 21 hours on the go!
Our first room was on the ground floor of the original Old wing and was stunning; large and spacious with a big bathroom, facing the front of the hotel. Our return visit saw us on the first floor of the same wing in a slightly smaller room and bathroom with only a bath and no shower, just a retractable shower head beside the taps! We did have a large outside balcony which again overlooked the front of the hotel. Both rooms were comfortable and beautifully decorated but we thought the omission of a shower rather strange in a newly renovated property!
On returning to our room late afternoon on our second day we discovered that there was no hot water! We left for home the following morning at 4.00AM and again enjoyed the experience of attempting to 'shower' with no hot water! We did not complain - read on!!!
Our dining experiences were somewhat erratic! Service, while polite and friendly, was slow! During the first weekend, when there seemed to be very few guests, our dining experiences were adequate although not exceptional. Our second weekend was also the Easter weekend and the hotel was apparently 'full'. Our lunch at the Palms (pool side snack bar) when it finally arrived, was barely luke warm. We dined in the Saraya that evening. People were seated at the table we had booked earlier but we accepted an alternative without complaint. On this occasion our friends both ordered a simple pasta dish. It was of such poor quality that they couldn't eat it. Our waiter asked if there was a problem and the restaurant manager arrived. He was extremely apologetic, offered us free desserts or tea, which we politely declined, and asked us to return the following evening to let them prove that they could do better (!) and then CHARGED our friends for their inedible meal! We returned the next evening as we didn't want the hassle of going into Aswan to look for somewhere to eat. The food was better this time. We were again offered a free dessert or tea and charged for the other courses. We have travelled a great deal, all over the world and stayed in many fine hotels and we are NOT 'complainers' but we felt that the situation was handled poorly.
A final comment on the cost of drinks - we were prepared for expensive prices and accepted them as part of the 5 star experience. Sipping a glass of wine on the terrace of the Old Cataract at sunset is wonderful and we happily parted with our cash! However when we joined our cruise boat, also 5 star, we discovered that the same bottle of wine was exactly twice the price in the Old Cataract!
To finish on a more positive note; the staff were all extremely helpful, friendly and charming, particularly the younger staff, who were enthusiastic and attentive!
We left with mixed emotions! It was great to experience this legendary hotel but it needs to address some issues regarding the dining experiences it offers.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ojarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamer L, Executive Assistant Manager at Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Dear Madam or /Sir,

I would like to sincerely thank you for sharing with us your feedback .We have noted your valuable comments. Please rest assured that we try our utmost to fulfill our guests’ satisfaction.

We look forward to welcome you back to Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan in the near future.

Sincerely,
Tamer Labib
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We have been to Aswan 2 before and the last time in 1999 with a large family group staying at this Hotel. We came then with my mother to celebrate her 80th and had always wanted to return.
This time we took a junior suite in the New Wing and we were certainly not disappointed. Firstly, the view was just stunning and I could wallow in my bath looking out over the Nile with majestic feluccas saling back and forth. The suite had every possible comfort and convenience - enough sockets, 2 flat screens, long mirrors, separate basin areas, massive cupboards, delicious bed with proper feather pillows! Just bliss......
The staff were attentive, polite and informed - nothing was a problem and all carried out with a smile. The food was fresh and delicious - no heavy sauces and good ingredients. More importantly, the barmen knew how to make proper cocktails and a fabulous G and T with enough ice and a good amount of Gin! T
The new up dated pool is glorious although maybe they need a bit more space for extra sun beds at busy times.
We adored our stay which was sadly cut short by my mother's death but the Wonderful team on the Conciege desk managed to change our flights home quickly and efficiently.
We will return much sooner than later!

Room Tip: 2703 you will not be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sasparilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_Cataract_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Dear Madam or Sir,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Legend Old Cataract for your recent visit to Aswan

Please accept our condolences on the tragic death of your mother, our prayers and thoughts are with you and your family. I would also like to thank you for taking the time and letting us know about your stay. Customer care is amongst our highest priorities and it is always gratifying to receive such praise.

Your positive feedback will be brought to the attention of all concerned which will encourage us to pursue our continuous effort in taking care of our valued customers.

I look forward to welcome you back very soon.

Sincerely,

Khaled Helmy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 March 2012

The beauty and elegance of this extraordinary hotel took me to a time and place far removed from the trappings of today's world. The rooms were understated luxury. The food was fresh and simple yet completely savory. The ambiance of the grounds overlooking the Nile was magnificent.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vivharp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_Cataract_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan, responded to this review, 31 March 2012
Dear Madam or Sir,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Legend Old Cataract for your recent visit to Aswan

I am very pleased to learn you enjoyed your stay with us and I would like to thank you for letting us know about it. Customer care is amongst our highest priorities and it is always gratifying to receive such praise.

Your positive feedback will be brought to the attention of all concerned which will encourage us to pursue our continuous effort in taking care of our valued customers.

I look forward to welcome you back very soon.

Sincerely,

Khaled Helmy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Having spent 9 nights on tour from Cairo to Awan, the Old Cataract Hotel was a refreshing and luxurious way to end our tour of Egypt. Every attention to detail has been considered in the restoration of this beautiful hotel. We had a fantastic room in the Old Wing of the hotel, in close proximity to theTerrace Restaurant; a must for afternoon tea and or dinner. Highly recommend spending a few extra pennies for this experience.

Room Tip: Request a room in the Old Wing of the Hotel (not the new development).
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WorthKnowing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_Cataract_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan, responded to this review, 24 March 2012
Dear Madam or Sir,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Legend Old Cataract for your recent visit to Aswan

I am very pleased to learn you enjoyed your stay with us and I would like to thank you for letting us know about it. Customer care is amongst our highest priorities and it is always gratifying to receive such praise.

Your positive feedback will be brought to the attention of all concerned which will encourage us to pursue our continuous effort in taking care of our valued customers.

I look forward to welcome you back very soon.

Sincerely,

Khaled Helmy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aswan hotels
1.4 km away
Pyramisa Isis Corniche Hotel
0.5 km away
Basma Hotel
Basma Hotel
#6 of 22 in Aswan
276 reviews
3.3 km away
Helnan Aswan Hotel
Helnan Aswan Hotel
#5 of 22 in Aswan
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Keylany Hotel
Keylany Hotel
#7 of 22 in Aswan
240 reviews
0.8 km away
Nile Hotel Aswan
Nile Hotel Aswan
#10 of 22 in Aswan
85 reviews
2.3 km away
Marhaba Palace Hotel
Marhaba Palace Hotel
#13 of 22 in Aswan
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan

Property: Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan
Address: Abtal El Tahrir Street, Aswan, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Aswan Governorate > Aswan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Aswan
#1 Spa Hotel in Aswan
#1 Luxury Hotel in Aswan
#1 Family Hotel in Aswan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Complex encompassing famous Victorian-style Cataract Hotel & adjacent high-rise New Cataract Hotel (1963). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan Hotel Aswan
Accor Old Cataract Aswan
Sofitel Aswan
Aswan Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing