We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Luxor Karnak

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mercure Luxor Karnak
Ranked #13 of 58 Hotels in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

A beautiful hotel and great location. I have spent a nice short vacation between the beautiful weather and all the hotel staff who give you a sense that you are in your home with them worm smile. Beautiful and clean rooms with great views. Thanks for reception staff specially Mira, Randa and Mahmoud. and special thanks to Mr. Hassan residential manager. And thanks for all the hotel staff. You are so nice :)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mohamedgaber53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelKarnak, General Manager at Mercure Luxor Karnak, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Dear Sir,

We very delighted to review your comments regarding your recent stay at Sofitel Luxor Karnak. It is always a pleasure to receive the clients feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely yours,

Gamal Hassan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,489 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    701
    474
    206
    68
    40
See reviews for
340
665
116
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

Had a wonderful time here all staff really friendly and welcoming, especially Mahmoud from the carter bar his service is second to none. The food and cocktails also very good value and excellent standard. Will be going back very soon very good place to stay a bit out the way of Luxor itself but only a short taxi ride away.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mangomang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelKarnak, General Manager at Mercure Luxor Karnak, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Dear Sir,

We would like to seize this opportunity to thank you for your valuable comments and assuring that we will keep maintaining our quality of service.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

We are looking forward to welcoming you once again in the nearest future at your 02nd home Sofitel Karnak-Luxor.

Sincerely yours,

Gamal Hassan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

The Sofitel Karnak is an excellent hotel, and there are great deals available. There is a free boat shuttle between this and the another hotel about 45 mins away. You can see on the boat ride that the Karnak has one of the best locations. As ever, a top floor room is quiter than those below. There was a noisy compressor near my room, so I switched rooms and the problem went away. The room was well appointed, but the safe was too small to take my laptop. There is free wifi in the lobby. The restaurant was really good. For our trips to Karnak Temple, Valley of the Kings and Habu Temple we used Ali's taxi - Ali has a white Hyundai with aircon and is based at the main entrance to the hotel. He was very knowledgeable and reliable.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelKarnak, General Manager at Mercure Luxor Karnak, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Dear Sir,

We are very much appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at Sofitel Luxor Karnak. It is always a pleasure to receive your feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely yours,

Gamal Hassan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

What a memorable holiday! The staff were great, nothing too much trouble and so friendly, beautiful location on the banks of the Nile and the sun shone every day. The hotel and our room were spotless and the food was great, plenty of choice. The staff at the pool side restaurant were attentive and entertaining making a special effort to remember our names and room numbers. For anyone with concerns about visiting this beautiful country, please come, their economy is suffering because of the bad press and they desperately need the tourists to return.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clare W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelKarnak, General Manager at Mercure Luxor Karnak, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Dear Sir,

We very delighted to review your comments regarding your recent stay at Sofitel Luxor Karnak as well as we do appreciate your nice gesture & sympathy which is mentioned in the tripadvisor telling the people to come to Egypt . It is always a pleasure to receive client feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely yours,

Gamal Hassan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DONCASTER
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

ALL INCLUSIVE HOLIDAY FIRST RATE AND VERY GOOD VALUE.BUT MAKE SURE YOU ORDER LOCAL BEVERAGES OR YOU WILL BE CHARGED.
This hotel is a gem in Luxor, it is nicely tucked away from all the hustle and bustle,NO hassell at any time which was great.The staff are a credit to the management who have obviously taken great care with their in house training. All the staff are kind, very courtious and respectful.Nothing is too much trouble for them All the staff speak some English and many have trained in college (tourism)
The hotel is very clean especially the dining area which is very hygenic although I did find the dining chairs very uncomfortable.
The reception area needs up dating as it is showing signs of wear. The staff in reception are kind and helpful and all speak good English.
The public cloakrooms are spotless.
Taxi are readily available and the reception have printed rates of fares which is very helpful. Taxis are very cheap and the drivers are helpful.
Reception will provide times of church services and a taxi run there is only 5 or 10 mins.
The food is very good and changes daily and the chef will cook something special for you if you need it.
The hotel manager Mr Gamel Hasson is always very approa
You will feel comfortable and safe chable and he had BBC NEWS programme up and running in 5 mins.
You will feel comfortable and safe as there is good security.Shops within the hotel are hassell free and you can browse without being pestered.
The bank in the hotel opens daily except fridays and the rate is not too bad.
There is FREE Wi Fi in the recpeption ares and restuarant.
My room was small and dark but I understand that there are family suits available and on my next trip I will certainly upgrade to one. All rooms have mini bar , small terrace with table and chairs.
My stay was made perfect by the gardens, they are superb and immacculate . The landscaping is a joy to see. The night air is heavy with perfume from Jasmine and other scented plants. The swimming pool is spotlessly clean and there is always a life guard in attendence. Towels are provided as is a small library of books.The are staff for drinks and snacks who are cheerful and respectful. The open air restuarant is excellent and has a good variety of food.
My thanks to Ahmed, Baloul, Mohammed, Hassan, Abdul, Terry and Youseef and all staff IN reception, a super hotel,a little piece of paradise.
A few suggestions Shoe cleaning machines in reception or in the courtyards Wi Fi in rooms. PLEASE make some of your suites twin bedded
Dr M C STEVENSON

Room Tip: up grade to a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DoncasterMalcolm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelKarnak, General Manager at Mercure Luxor Karnak, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Dear Sir,

Let me seize this opportunity to thank you for your comments concerning your recent visit at Sofitel Karnak-Luxor spending your holiday and for taking time to put your feed back in the tripadvisor site. We are greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality of standards.

Many thanks for your positive comments, it is only through valuable feedback received from our valued guests, such as your good self that we are able to maintain and further improve the quality of our services.

We are very pleased that you have enjoyed your overall stay with us and that we have met your expectations. We place great value on your continued relationship with Accor Hotels.

We are looking forward to welcoming you once again at Sofitel Kanak-Luxor or any of Accor Hotels Worldwide.


Sincerely yours,

Gamal Hassan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxor, Egypt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

We are right now at one of the most beautiful hotels we been to and we want to share on own experience with you: large rooms, Very clean, calm, not far from the city, vast green areas, nice and funny staff and great service.

We really like it and do recommend this hotel for anyone wanna enjoy his accommodation in Luxor.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelKarnak, General Manager at Mercure Luxor Karnak, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Dear Sir,

We would like to seize this opportunity to thank you for your valuable comments and
assuring that we will keep maintaining our quality of service.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

We are looking forward to welcoming you once again in the nearest future at your 02nd
home Sofitel Karnak-Luxor.

Sincerely yours,

Gamal Hassan
General Manage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
München
Level Contributor
72 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

We had a great time in Luxor - the hotel is very clean and in a great garden around a big pool. The staff is extremely friendly and there are only two things we disliked: The room was fairly small and dark (only a small window and balcony - which might be an advantage if it's very hot in summer) and the breakfast selection and service was kind of limited (the most awful "orange juice" in the world - but they are selling fresh Juice by glass; very limited fruit selection; you get mediocre coffee after asking 5 times,...)
It's a 10 min taxi ride out of town (3-4 USD)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stone_xxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelKarnak, General Manager at Mercure Luxor Karnak, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Dear Sir,

We very delighted to review your comments regarding your recent stay at Sofitel Luxor Karnak. It is always a pleasure to receive client feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely yours,

Gamal Hassan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxor hotels
5.6 km away
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
6.8 km away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
6.7 km away
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 km away
Pavillon Winter Luxor
5.9 km away
Iberotel Luxor
Iberotel Luxor
#11 of 58 in Luxor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
5.2 km away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 58 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Luxor Karnak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Luxor Karnak

Property: Mercure Luxor Karnak
Address: El Zinia Gebly Street, Luxor, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Mercure Luxor Karnak 5*
Number of rooms: 351
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the east bank of the majestic Nile in one of the most exciting & intriguing settings, Karnak Resort Luxor lets you experience the timeless & exotic beauty of Luxor, 6 km from the city center,18 km from the Luxor international airport, 3 km from the glorious Karnak Temple. Savor the wide selection of fine cuisines at our main restaurant or a-la-carte restaurant "O'Nile". Discover ancient history at your doorstep in any of our 347 rooms& suites or enjoy the vast leisure facilities the hotel offers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Mercure Luxor Karnak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Karnak Luxor Hotel Luxor
Accor Karnak Luxor
Sofitel Luxor
Luxor Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing