We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (282)
Filter reviews
282 results
Traveller rating
209
59
6
1
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
209
59
6
1
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews west bank father and son garden courtyard local ferry west side rooms are clean relaxing hotel across the river would highly recommend this hotel trips oasis egypt guide sites balconies nile boat
Filter
Updating list...
147 - 152 of 282 reviews
Reviewed May 9, 2011

Very helpful; good food and a really beautiful garden. Our group of ten really liked our stay here. The oldest one in the group was 75; the youngest 8 and we all liked this place a lot. Better to stay here than on the other site of the river because it is 5 minutes walk to the ferry (12 euro-cent one way).

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank warken20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 2, 2011

The hotel has got nice clean rooms with a fun balcony. There is a nice garden where you can read, eat, smoke a sheesha...

There are no fridges in the rooms, no television... So the staff expects you to have drinks and meals in their nice garden. They stay friendly all the time, but you notice very clearly that they are much more friendly to all those people who eat every night in the hotel.

The staff can arrange everything for you, but it is always very expensive. Just ask around in the town and you can save a lot of money.

The Amon Hotel is a very nice place to stay, but next time in Luxor we will look for another hotel, where staff is less pushy.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bepieters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 30, 2011

This was a just perfect spot for our group of two adults and 3 children (aged 7-17).

Wonderful mixture of open public spaces (balconies, garden, canopies), peaceful West Bank location, super friendly staff (with no pressure applied for anything). Rooms clean, spacious and great clean bathrooms. And they'll hook you up to wi-fi when you're tombed and templed out.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kingsgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 24, 2011

I have been traveling in Egypt for 17 years.
Since I visited Amon Hotel first time 15 years ago, when it was only a small hotel with a few rooms, I keep coming back, with friends and family.
The hotel is run by the owner Ahmed and his son Mohammed and is a quiet and relaxing place, whether you are in Luxor for relaxing or to visit all the sights, or both. The tropical garden is amazing, and each time I come, new flowers and flora occur.
The rooms are clean, and they have everything you need. No fridge or tv, which is good because then you don't need to listen the humming of the appliances. The staff is at your service 24/7, so whenever you are hungry or thirsty you just ask for whatever you would like. The garden is big enough for everybody to find a relaxing spot, and the balconies in the rooms are also tranquil areas, where you can enjoy the village life.
The sunset from the roof terrace is an amazing sight, and with a cold drink it is even better.
The menu at the Amon hotel is classical Egyptian food, freshly prepared by the experienced chefs, and if you have special wishes or needs they can also provide you with that, everything from pancakes to Tonic, lemon and ice for your G&T.
The background of the management and the staff, all from the area and many of them educated within Egyptology etc. gives you the best opportunities to experience the Luxor sights as well as the surroundings. Despite what one former guest states about the prices, the prices of the Amon hotel is not only fair, but also all inclusive and hold no surprises, as you usually will experience. The advantage of booking tours etc. through the Amon management and staff is that they do not take commission and thus the services provided are paid directly to the service provider, and not middle men etc. like the agencies. Whatever you would like to see, visit or do, they can fix it for you. A boat trip on the Nile, a camel trip to the desert, Sunrise trips with donkeys to the tombs, and day trips around the Luxor area. Even longer trips, like 3 days trip to the desert and oasis are possible, and the drivers are all experienced drivers, who know their way around the country and the best places to stop for drinks and food. The family's network in the country is extensive, and thus everything is possible, also with short notice.
I can only recommend the Amon Hotel and all their services, they are the reason we keep coming back year after year after year...

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bolite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 21, 2011

Family run hotel on the Westbank of Luxor. The gardens are beautiful and great to sit in after a day sightseeing. The rooms are fairly basic. No fridge or tv. If you are a light sleeper bring your ear plugs to block out the donkeys nearby.

Tours can be organised by the hotel but are expensive compared to other tourist companies or independant private guides we researched. We organised 2 days of tours with a private guide and driver and saved $156USD on what was quoted by the hotel.

All in all we had a pleasant stay but would look for alternative accomodation if returning to Luxor.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Shnewbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews