We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Worth a visit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tribe Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tribe Hotel
Ranked #9 of 161 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

The location is absolutely good , its located near United Nations and various embassy so it makes it relatively safe.

The decor is amazing with every color perfected to blend in together, the ambiance is also very relaxing......

It is located inside the village market shopping mall where you can find everything from an extensive selection of food whether its Indian, African, Chinese....name it and you get it at a relatively cheaper price than the hotels food.

We had all our meals from there. The mall also offers various activities like snorkeling and bowling.

The staff at the tribe are very helpful and always have a smile on.

All in all it is a beautiful place to stay

Room Tip: i think all rooms are good if you ask me
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bridgitndinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    416
    233
    69
    18
    17
See reviews for
68
133
54
412
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

Many interesting reviews have been published here about The Tribe. I was at first reluctant to contribute, because I am not a regular guest at this hotel. However, I suppose that my impressions might also help to form a full picture of what The Tribe is. When I arrived in Nairobi, in July 2010, it was fascinating to spend several weeks at The Tribe, until my home was ready to move in. Being a resident allows one to examine details and get familiarized with the personnel. The Tribe is not only one of the most beautiful hotels I’ve been to (and I have travelled extensively, always looking for nice boutique hotels to stay at) but also one of the cosiest. I feel like it is my second home in Nairobi. After spending there almost a couple of months in one of their suites overlooking their beautiful swimming pool area, I can say that service may not be perfect, but it is as attentive as you may expect from any luxury hotel in the world. If one stays for a couple of nights, I suppose that their regular rooms, although not large, are comfortable and well-appointed. If you fancy a longer stay, it is advisable to take a suite, which has a large sitting area.
The hotel provides several ambiances where time may be spent without ever getting bored of this place. Starting with the restaurant Jico, where breakfast and meals are served. The breakfast buffet is exquisite, and eggs dishes are prepared to your taste. Lunch may either be enjoyed inside or outside, by the pool (as well as dinner, but it gets a little chilly in the evenings, given the altitude of 1,600 m above sea level). The menu is not too extensive, but every choice is worth trying. Few restaurants in Nairobi are as well managed, with an internationally recognized Chef, a gastronomic manager and well trained waiters – Xavier, mentioned in other reviews, is outstanding for his professionalism and sympathy. The pool area is the venue for beautiful parties as well as live music performed during brunch and other special occasions. It is particularly beautiful when torches are lit above the upper pool bar which cascades into the main pool, with people bustling around well-set tables. The lobby area has several corniches where private talks and relaxing moments may be enjoyed, but it is also served by a fascinating tall table lit underneath and above, with bar chairs surrounding it, excellent location for informal gatherings before dinner. There is a secluded bar in one corner where drinks or coffee may be enjoyed in a more private setting, as well. All decorated with an amazing collection of African art combined with modern design furniture, a feature used throughout the hotel to give it the perfect touch of comfort and beauty unmatched by any other hotel in town.
The rooftop bar, The Nest, is one of the best spots for sundowners in Kenya. Lounging there with friends or on your own, with a local beer or a gin-tonic in the hand, may prove to be one of the most pleasant experiences in your visit to the country. I had the opportunity of watching there several matches of the 2010 FIFA World Cup, and it was unforgettable. Many locals chose to come to the Nest in the evening, for chicha smoking and drinks.
One word has to be said of the Gaya spa, one of the best I have been to. Relaxing moments in the hands of experienced masseurs (I recommend Walter, in particular) or sipping tea in a private library afterwards is well worth the money spent (fares are similar to other 5-stars hotel spas around the world).
On the downside, the two main points several other reviews have highlighted are difficult to cope with are the noise and the slow internet service. Rooms are not completely acoustically isolated, from your room you may hear door knobs clicking outside and, if your room faces the parking lot, people start talking loudly very early in the morning, immediately after dawn. As for the internet, although complimentary, it may prove to be an enduring experience to try to download large files or watch videos on your computer screen.
All in all, however, staying at The Tribe may get one accustomed to a lifestyle and a standard of living which can hardly be matched elsewhere in Africa. Moving out can prove to be as hard as moving away from home. As a result, I am not surprised that I feel compelled to go back once in a while for brunch, dinner or a massage, which is like going back to my second home in Nairobi.

Room Tip: if you stay for a while, opt for a suite avoid ground floor rooms, which are noisier
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Antonio_em_Nairobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden, Colorado
Level Contributor
218 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

Roughly a 40 minute drive from Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, we were impressed the minute we walked in the lobby with comfortable lounge chairs and quirky and modern African art and sculptures. While waiting to be checked in, they served us with a fresh tropical fruit punch which was delicious and very refreshing. The room was decorated in the same modern African theme with a bold red wall on one side and some paintings around. The provide tea and coffee facilities but they have an extra touch with ground coffee and french press, a far cry from the coffee sachets that hotels normally provide.

The bathroom is open plan with the huge tub and sink and the shower/toilet in the enclosed area. The bed is very comfortable with fluffy pillows. I was dying for some rest before the early wake up for the safari the next morning but I guess the walls are a bit thin that I can hear my neighbour turn on the tap, slamming doors and the cars outside.

The hotel is next to the Village Market complex where you can get essentials from Nakumatt or Woolworths but the rest is pretty much standard shopping. It's mostly frequented by expats as the complex is near the diplomatic area where consulates/embassies are located.

Room Tip: try to get a room on the upper floors (they're only four stories high) or away from the lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ex-globetrottingbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

When we discovered George was the only colorist at this hip, artsy studio, we figured we'd be getting more attention than usual. Understatement of the century. After examining our brassy highlights, he discerned the type of shampoo we used (the wrong kind) and the level of shower pressure we liked (the weak kind), and recommended more color-friendly options. He gently rebuffed our idea of an allover auburn shade, explaining that red fades quickly and requires constant upkeep. Instead, George proposed enhancing the natural russet in our dark hair with more manageable threads of cinnamon. The fiery glints solicited so many compliments, we might just have to get used to being the center of attention..

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KPMG-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque NM
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

We enjoyed a nice evening and drinks at Nest - beautiful spot, great place to hang out an meet friends, nice views. We will be back! the hotel looks great too - didn't have a chance to explore but we will next time.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simba432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinshasa, Democratic Republic of the Congo
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

It is perhaps important for readers to know that I live in Africa, but have traveled a lot and stayed in many fantastic hotels. In fact I always do extensive research on tripadvisor before staying at any hotel. My husband and I also own a hotel, so we do know the business and know what it entails to run a hotel in Africa. So, that being said, I have to say that TRIBE is absolutely one of the coolest, most beautiful hotels we have ever stayed in. The attention to detail in the aesthetics of the place is almost excruciating. Every tile, every colour, every fabric has been very carefully chosen to create an artistic and pleasing atmosphere. The staff is friendly and helpful. The food is excellent. But everything pales in comparison to the utter "coolness" of the place. Every stairway, every hallway, the lobby, the lighting, nothing is standard hotel ware. There are areas of the hotel where you feel that you are in a Gallery of African Art. I love this place!
In a place where aesthetic is so important, it is inevitable that there will be some issues of form over function, and that is the case here too. For example, the shape of the sink in the bathrooms, combined with the style of taps means that, if you are not careful, the water will splash right up onto your stomach when you turn on the tap. But if I have a choice of getting my stomach wet or staying at the overpriced, tired and ugly Hilton in town, I choose a wet stomach, thank you very much.
The one other issue that was a bit of a problem when we stayed there was a unpleasant odour coming from the bathtub drain. We solved the problem by stuffing a towel in the drain, but I would hope that they would look at a more permanent solution.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not next to the stairway as there is some heavy air conditioning noise coming...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank oneworld19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
188 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

Beautiful design by any standards, although some of this is imaginative use of what is quite a small space, in both bedrooms and public areas. But a pleasant contrast to many Nairobi hotels which are very smooth "grand dames" but showing their age. Well equipped and very modern and comfortable, only the internet was not up to scratch. Staff were all well trained and helpful - although this is true in in my experience this is normally the case in good Nairobi hotels. Food was good, very elaborate presentation, the restaurant was packed, looked like many were non residents so a lively scene. Location good for security, shopping at next door mall, but given the currently terrible Nairobi traffic, do check the location is close to where you plan to visit - its a long haul from the international airport. If you want a new hotel for business, the Sankara may be a better choice - not quite as chic but every bit as slick and more affordable.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonB_SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
5.0 km away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
5.9 km away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#5 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
6.7 km away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
DusitD2 Nairobi
DusitD2 Nairobi
#12 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
17.1 km away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
4.0 km away
Sankara Nairobi
Sankara Nairobi
#11 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tribe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tribe Hotel

Property: Tribe Hotel
Address: Limuru Road | The Village Market, Gigiri, Nairobi 00621, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Nairobi > Highridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#9 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Family Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tribe Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set apart from the crowded city centre and a modern contrast to a city of colonially-inspired getaways, Tribe Hotel located in the lush suburbs of the city echoes nothing but the ultimate in luxury and tranquility. It’s sleek architecture and crisp lines are sure to set forth a brand new experience in hotel accommodation. Drawing inspiration from its African heritage, the interior of the hotel boasts exquisite art, crafts and furnishings handpicked from the farthest corners of the continent. Each of the 137 rooms is carefully designed to whisk you away from the average mundane hotel room into a world of chic and hip design with an emphasis on detail and luxury. An ideal destination for those craving increased intimacy and comfort with an added dose of personal service. From free high speed internet access, complimentary mini bars, luxury airport transfers, warm welcomes to express check in and check-out facilities, you can be sure that Tribe understands the individual needs of just about any traveler! Adjacent to the hotel is The Village Market, the largest shopping and recreational complex in Eastern Africa, and Nairobi’s premier retail and cultural destination. With over 150 shops and services, set within flowing rivers and waterfalls. It is also home to the weekly Maasai Market which hosts 350 artists for a colorful display of crafts, paintings, beadworks and fabrics every Friday. Bringing a whole new pampering experience to Nairobi is the hotel’s Kaya Spa. Using carefully selected products, Kaya’s uniquely developed treatments are designed to harmonize both the body and mind. The six treatment rooms infuse a sense of tranquility through inspiring design and decor that is sure to contribute to the relaxation and re-invigoration of your entire spa experience. Tribe’s signature restaurant recently launched a brand new menu carefully designed by the Executive Chef and his team. Inspired by the open flame grill, the menu is a tribute to local farmers; paying homage to crisp flavors and fresh, organic ingredients. The Jiko team has also reinvented Tribe’s famous Sunday brunch; the perfectly constructed menu features an extended dessert buffet, unlimited breezy cocktails, amongst an array of other feasts for the entire family. Jiko authentically holds true to the glamour of the hotel while offering guests the delights of whimsy and fantasy through a playful approach to presentation. Located on the lobby level of the hotel, Suite 101, the new pastry offering at Tribe, is a place where you can come at anytime of the day. Using only the finest ingredients, the pastry shop offers an array of hot and cold treats ranging from custom and novelty cakes, decadent French macaroons, designer cupcakes, homemade chocolates and ice creams to bespoke sandwiches made using daily freshly baked bread. Whether it be for some intimate time alone with a tall mug of chai tea latte and a deliciously delectable pastry or a high tea with friends, Suite 101 is definitely a must try for any sweet tooth! Tribe’s serene, charming and charismatic surroundings undoubtedly place it among the most striking, and luxurious boutique properties on the African continent, guaranteeing to meet and exceed the needs of any guest from jet setting celebrities to time constrained business travelers looking to add an urban flair to their Kenya-getaways! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca and Agoda so you can book your Tribe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tribe The Village Market Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing