We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,153)
Filter reviews
1,153 results
Traveller rating
644
350
100
37
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
644
350
100
37
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews village market kaya spa jiko restaurant african art shopping mall boutique hotel united nations beautiful hotel public areas rooftop bar business trip nairobi traffic masai mara embassies kenya gym security
Filter
Updating list...
234 - 239 of 1,153 reviews
Reviewed August 31, 2017

Great place to stay in Nairobi. Hotel was very clean and staff was very helpful and attentive. Breakfast buffet was limited but food quality was very good as well. Would stay at this hotel again next trip to Nairobi.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 844stepheno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TribeHotel, General Manager at Tribe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2017

Dear 844stepheno, thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your time with us. Please always feel free to let us know about you preferences and we will do our utmost to accommodate. Best regards, Stephan - One Planet One Tribe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 30, 2017 via mobile

I was completely impressed with this place. The service was second to none. Attentive and genuine but not overly familiar (pet peeve). The staff seemed to really care about whether I was happy and had everything I needed. Really first rate. And the spa is fun. Highly recommend for business and pleasure travel.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Dublin-DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TribeHotel, General Manager at Tribe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2017

Dear Dublin-DC, thank you very much for your review. Thanks so much for your review! We are happy to read you had a great time with us and are looking forward to welcome you back very soon! Stephan - One Planet One Tribe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 30, 2017

My husband and I [i recently retired after 3 decades of senior professional level work with the UN as a Director from a UN Agency covering East Africa] ,have both travelled extensively all over the world and stayed in some of the best hotels.

We recently organized an extended family reunion in Nairobi/Kenya for which about 45 international guests from Europe,UAE,USA,Canada and Australia came to Nairobi in June, 2017. We hosted them at the Tribe hotel between 21st to 29th June for which group bookings were made by us.

It would not be an exaggeration to state that this was one of the BEST hotel stay experience we [ ourselves and all our guests ] have had in the last decade or so !

Just to substantiate the above excellent rating :

1. The hotel has a lovely quaint and cosy decor/set up; Very hygienic, well kept and unique.
2. The senior management style is most efficient and effective ,due clearly to decentralization and empowerment of mid and junior level managers and staff in general ; The pride the staff take in making the guests happy, solving all day to day challenges with a most helpful & flexible approach admirable, and the warm/welcoming environment palpable.
3. Complimentary breakfast and meals are outstanding both in terms of choices, presentation , service and value for money; The CHEF[s] are excellent and very well qualified.
4. Rooms are warm cosy and have tasteful decor....very comfortable even though relatively medium sized;
5. location couldn't be better, in the safe and beautiful area of Gigiri, housing most UN offices and important diplomatic missions with large numbers of expatriates residing within a small radius; The 2 minute walking distance to the famous Village market with medium to upmarket shops/restaurants,ATM/Banking and availability of most other day to day services is a unique advantage which this hotel has .
6. All in all, a brilliant hotel for mid range costing offering excellent value for money stay/experience which most of our guests and we plan to patronize while in Nairobi now onwards !

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank geetakapilaverma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TribeHotel, General Manager at Tribe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2017

Dear geetakapilaverma, thank you so very much for taking the time to write such an extensive review and overview of our facilities and services. We are extremely happy to receive such compliments especially knowing about your experience around the globe. We are looking very much forward to welcome you again and remain with sunny regards, Stephan - One Planet One Tribe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 30, 2017

Tribe needs to revisit why it was popular. Price, menu, events, staff. I buy SLEEP so boom boom music, event organisation in the heart of the hotel and rowdy clientele do not facilitate that. A menu without African fare is almost ironic in Africa!!!

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank P2536UEjohnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TribeHotel, General Manager at Tribe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2017

Dear P2536UEjohnm, thank you again for your feedback. As we spoke already and we could clarify what was disturbing that very day I trust we are on the same page now. Thank you for booking again with us! See you very soon! Stephan - One Planet One Tribe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 25, 2017 via mobile

Arrived at this hotel early hours of the morning and check in was smooth.
The rooms were excellent quality,clean and a nice design .Very impressive !
Service was exceptional .Especially from day reception staff by the name of Leigh,who really went out of his way to take care of the guests in an efficient manner .
Food was excellent too and the whole hotel design was faultless and so comfortable.
Looking forward to a return visit .

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank steveBamako
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TribeHotel, General Manager at Tribe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2017

Dear steveBamako, we are thrilled by you review. Thank you so much! We have shared your compliments with our team and especially with Leigh. We hope we will see you again soon and remain with best regards, Stephan - One Planet One Tribe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews