We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Service, Amazing Staff & Everything top notch”
Review of Tribe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tribe Hotel
Ranked #6 of 169 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2017

I usually tend to travel to Nairobi for business purposes. This is the first time I took a solo trip to Nairobi and planned on staying at the Tribe Hotel Nairobi. Trust me on this, this hotel took me by surprise I was truly impressed with the hotel staff. The service was second to none. Let me give you an example on just how the staff take care of your room and pay attention to details. I had a leak under the sink, which I didn't even realize. Every morning before going for breakfast i would call them to clean up the room and tidy up the sheets. When I came back the room was all tidy and immaculate, I had chocolates on my pillows with a small note stating that there is a leak under the sink, appreciate if you can call the reception so that the maintenance staff can come and check it out. These are the just the small things that make your stay wonderful, other than getting an upgrade to a better view. I would surely be coming back there.

Room Tip: Look for Nelson or Lee for the most fun and smooth experience during check-in
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haseebh2O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TribeHotel, General Manager at Tribe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Dear haseebh2O, thank you so very much for your extensive review. We are very happy to read that our attention to detail is noticed and appreciated by you. We have read your review out loud to the team as it helps to encourage and motivate each member of the Tribe. With sunny regards, Stephan - One Planet One Tribe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,000)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

83 - 89 of 1,000 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2017

Great place to stay in Nairobi. Hotel was very clean and staff was very helpful and attentive. Breakfast buffet was limited but food quality was very good as well. Would stay at this hotel again next trip to Nairobi.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 844stepheno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TribeHotel, General Manager at Tribe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Dear 844stepheno, thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your time with us. Please always feel free to let us know about you preferences and we will do our utmost to accommodate. Best regards, Stephan - One Planet One Tribe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017 via mobile

I was completely impressed with this place. The service was second to none. Attentive and genuine but not overly familiar (pet peeve). The staff seemed to really care about whether I was happy and had everything I needed. Really first rate. And the spa is fun. Highly recommend for business and pleasure travel.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
Thank Dublin-DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TribeHotel, General Manager at Tribe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Dear Dublin-DC, thank you very much for your review. Thanks so much for your review! We are happy to read you had a great time with us and are looking forward to welcome you back very soon! Stephan - One Planet One Tribe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017

My husband and I [i recently retired after 3 decades of senior professional level work with the UN as a Director from a UN Agency covering East Africa] ,have both travelled extensively all over the world and stayed in some of the best hotels.

We recently organized an extended family reunion in Nairobi/Kenya for which about 45 international guests from Europe,UAE,USA,Canada and Australia came to Nairobi in June, 2017. We hosted them at the Tribe hotel between 21st to 29th June for which group bookings were made by us.

It would not be an exaggeration to state that this was one of the BEST hotel stay experience we [ ourselves and all our guests ] have had in the last decade or so !

Just to substantiate the above excellent rating :

1. The hotel has a lovely quaint and cosy decor/set up; Very hygienic, well kept and unique.
2. The senior management style is most efficient and effective ,due clearly to decentralization and empowerment of mid and junior level managers and staff in general ; The pride the staff take in making the guests happy, solving all day to day challenges with a most helpful & flexible approach admirable, and the warm/welcoming environment palpable.
3. Complimentary breakfast and meals are outstanding both in terms of choices, presentation , service and value for money; The CHEF[s] are excellent and very well qualified.
4. Rooms are warm cosy and have tasteful decor....very comfortable even though relatively medium sized;
5. location couldn't be better, in the safe and beautiful area of Gigiri, housing most UN offices and important diplomatic missions with large numbers of expatriates residing within a small radius; The 2 minute walking distance to the famous Village market with medium to upmarket shops/restaurants,ATM/Banking and availability of most other day to day services is a unique advantage which this hotel has .
6. All in all, a brilliant hotel for mid range costing offering excellent value for money stay/experience which most of our guests and we plan to patronize while in Nairobi now onwards !

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank geetakapilaverma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TribeHotel, General Manager at Tribe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Dear geetakapilaverma, thank you so very much for taking the time to write such an extensive review and overview of our facilities and services. We are extremely happy to receive such compliments especially knowing about your experience around the globe. We are looking very much forward to welcome you again and remain with sunny regards, Stephan - One Planet One Tribe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017

Tribe needs to revisit why it was popular. Price, menu, events, staff. I buy SLEEP so boom boom music, event organisation in the heart of the hotel and rowdy clientele do not facilitate that. A menu without African fare is almost ironic in Africa!!!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank P2536UEjohnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TribeHotel, General Manager at Tribe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Dear P2536UEjohnm, thank you again for your feedback. As we spoke already and we could clarify what was disturbing that very day I trust we are on the same page now. Thank you for booking again with us! See you very soon! Stephan - One Planet One Tribe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017 via mobile

Arrived at this hotel early hours of the morning and check in was smooth.
The rooms were excellent quality,clean and a nice design .Very impressive !
Service was exceptional .Especially from day reception staff by the name of Leigh,who really went out of his way to take care of the guests in an efficient manner .
Food was excellent too and the whole hotel design was faultless and so comfortable.
Looking forward to a return visit .

Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank steveBamako
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TribeHotel, General Manager at Tribe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Dear steveBamako, we are thrilled by you review. Thank you so much! We have shared your compliments with our team and especially with Leigh. We hope we will see you again soon and remain with best regards, Stephan - One Planet One Tribe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017

My husband and I stayed here for one evening as we passed through Nairobi. The property (guest rooms, lobby, restaurant) were beautiful, and the staff were incredibly helpful and friendly. As a lifetime Starwood member I was impressed with this property, and would highly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Kristen21414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TribeHotel, General Manager at Tribe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Dear Kristen21414, thank you so very much for your review. We are delighted to read that you have been impressed with our property especially knowing the amount of travel you do internationally. Until hopefully very soon again! Stephan - One Planet One Tribe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
5 km away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
7.3 km away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 169 in Nairobi
1,318 reviews
4.1 km away
Sankara Nairobi
Sankara Nairobi
#5 of 169 in Nairobi
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 km away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 169 in Nairobi
559 reviews
5.9 km away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#13 of 169 in Nairobi
1,110 reviews
6.7 km away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#7 of 169 in Nairobi
1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tribe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tribe Hotel

Address: Limuru Road | The Village Market, Gigiri, Nairobi 00621, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Nairobi > Highridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#4 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range: $255 - $334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Tribe Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set apart from the crowded city centre and a modern contrast to a city of colonially-inspired getaways, Tribe Hotel located in the lush suburbs of the city echoes nothing but the ultimate in luxury and tranquility. It’s sleek architecture and crisp lines are sure to set forth a brand new experience in hotel accommodation. Drawing inspiration from its African heritage, the interior of the hotel boasts exquisite art, crafts and furnishings handpicked from the farthest corners of the continent. Each of the 137 rooms is carefully designed to whisk you away from the average mundane hotel room into a world of chic and hip design with an emphasis on detail and luxury. An ideal destination for those craving increased intimacy and comfort with an added dose of personal service. From free high speed internet access, complimentary mini bars, luxury airport transfers, warm welcomes to express check in and check-out facilities, you can be sure that Tribe understands the individual needs of just about any traveler! Adjacent to the hotel is The Village Market, the largest shopping and recreational complex in Eastern Africa, and Nairobi’s premier retail and cultural destination. With over 150 shops and services, set within flowing rivers and waterfalls. It is also home to the weekly Maasai Market which hosts 350 artists for a colorful display of crafts, paintings, beadworks and fabrics every Friday. Bringing a whole new pampering experience to Nairobi is the hotel’s Kaya Spa. Using carefully selected products, Kaya’s uniquely developed treatments are designed to harmonize both the body and mind. The six treatment rooms infuse a sense of tranquility through inspiring design and decor that is sure to contribute to the relaxation and re-invigoration of your entire spa experience. Tribe’s signature restaurant recently launched a brand new menu carefully designed by the Executive Chef and his team. Inspired by the open flame grill, the menu is a tribute to local farmers; paying homage to crisp flavors and fresh, organic ingredients. The Jiko team has also reinvented Tribe’s famous Sunday brunch; the perfectly constructed menu features an extended dessert buffet, unlimited breezy cocktails, amongst an array of other feasts for the entire family. Jiko authentically holds true to the glamour of the hotel while offering guests the delights of whimsy and fantasy through a playful approach to presentation. Located on the lobby level of the hotel, Suite 101, the new pastry offering at Tribe, is a place where you can come at anytime of the day. Using only the finest ingredients, the pastry shop offers an array of hot and cold treats ranging from custom and novelty cakes, decadent French macaroons, designer cupcakes, homemade chocolates and ice creams to bespoke sandwiches made using daily freshly baked bread. Whether it be for some intimate time alone with a tall mug of chai tea latte and a deliciously delectable pastry or a high tea with friends, Suite 101 is definitely a must try for any sweet tooth! Tribe’s serene, charming and charismatic surroundings undoubtedly place it among the most striking, and luxurious boutique properties on the African continent, guaranteeing to meet and exceed the needs of any guest from jet setting celebrities to time constrained business travelers looking to add an urban flair to their Kenya-getaways! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Tribe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tribe The Village Market Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing