We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed my stay”
Review of Tribe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tribe Hotel
Ranked #6 of 169 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 December 2017

Arrived very late, but coordinated with the hotel. They were very helpful at 3am. Showed us to our room, explained all their services. Breakfast was very nice. Umbrella dining by the pool for lunch was nice. Had a business dinner at their restaurant, very nice. Bed was comfy. Though I did hear cars driving by in the distance, which woke me a few times. Couldn't figure out the air conditioning, it seemed to turn off when the motion sensors didn't detect me walking about in my room, well I was sleeping in bed. The craftsmanship was slight off from perfect. Wall painting that ran on the floor, electrical covers that weren't perfectly placed. a few little things wouldn't see in a European or American 5 star hotel. Staff was very nice, facilities were very nice, beds comfy. I would recommend this hotel and would love to stay again. Try the roof top bar.

Room Tip: ask how to keep air conditioner running at night (motion sensors turned A/C off when sleeping). Ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank scjjmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TribeHotel, General Manager at Tribe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

Dear scjjmm, thank you so very much for your recommendation. We highly appreciate your feedback and do look forward to welcome you back here at Tribe again soon! Stephan - One Planet One Tribe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,000)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

23 - 29 of 1,000 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2017

The hotel was very accommodating. It's staff are always willing to help and do a great job of keeping their guests and fellow staff members upbeat and positive. The breakfast is well done and the location is very fortunate.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ncmcdavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TribeHotel, General Manager at Tribe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

Dear ncmcdavid, thank you so very much for your review. We are happy to read you had a great stay! Sunny regards, Stephan - One Planet One Tribe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2017

The Tribe Hotel is a wonderful place to stay its in a great location. It a lot to do in and outside the hotel, the entertainment was awesome, I love staying at the tribe the people (STAFFE) there are awesome.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank heaths294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TribeHotel, General Manager at Tribe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

Dear heaths294, many thanks for your review and thank you so much for the compliments which I have happily shared with the team! We are looking forward to welcome you back soon and remain with best regards, Stephan - One Planet One Tribe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2017

This is modern stylish business hotel for business. I went here on a couple's getaway and was slightly disappointed at the lack of boutique character, but that's my own fault for choosing the wrong place.
Their cafe serves very good food, at 1st world city prices (30 USD hamburger, etc), and everything is spotless and orderly. The staff is perfect. Everything is wonderful. It just a lot of glass and steel and if you're looking for that, you'll be very happy. The pool looks great, but there was a catered function going on when I stayed and we didn't get to enjoy it.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AJ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TribeHotel, General Manager at Tribe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2018

Dear AJ S, thank you so very much for your review. I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations in reference to the type of hotel you were looking for. Nevertheless thank you for your compliments! In reference to the "30 USD hamburger" let me briefly correct, ... it is a huge 27 USD pure Rib Eye 250gr cheese burger with plenty of sides, which is the highest priced item on our Suite 101 (our lobby Bar & Café) menu and trust me, it's well worth it! With sunny regards, Stephan - One Planet One Tribe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2017

This is a charming hotel and is excellently located for both work at UN or USAID, and for access to the "Village Market" area. For business traveler it has two drawbacks: no soft seating chair with lighting and poor TV selection. It is otherwise a very nice hotel with terrific staff and attractive layout.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kenneth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TribeHotel, General Manager at Tribe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2018

Dear Kenneth E, thank you very much for your review and your compliments and comments. We are happy you enjoyed Tribe! I am happy to announce that we are switching to IPTV within the next weeks so a much wider variety of TV channels will soon be available. With best regards, Stephan - One Planet One Tribe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2017

Everything was perfect- breakfast .room.cleaning only i have concern regarding to exchange i expected to receive my change in $ not in KSH as i paid in $ but this was not acceptable even after my request and i Pushed to change back at external exchange

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank eng_mina_mikhail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TribeHotel, General Manager at Tribe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2018

Dear eng_mina_mikhail, thank you very much for your review and I am very sorry that we couldn't give change back in USD on the day of your departure. There must have been a shortage of small USD notes that day. With very best regards, Stephan - One Planet One Tribe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2017

This is one of the best hotels in Nairobi. Located in a very up-market and safe location in the heart of Nairobi. Close to the Village Market Shopping Mall. Banks, pharmacies, fast food and coffee bars are all within the vicinity.

Above all the Staff are warm and make your stay worth your while!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mumbi_mbocha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TribeHotel, General Manager at Tribe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2018

Dear mumbi_mbocha, thank you so very much for your review and your positive comments. We are happy you enjoyed your stay in the heart of the diplomatic district of Nairobi and we are looking forward to welcome you back here at Tribe very soon! Stephan - One Planet One Tribe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
5 km away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
7.3 km away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 169 in Nairobi
1,318 reviews
4.1 km away
Sankara Nairobi
Sankara Nairobi
#5 of 169 in Nairobi
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 km away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 169 in Nairobi
559 reviews
5.9 km away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#13 of 169 in Nairobi
1,110 reviews
6.7 km away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#7 of 169 in Nairobi
1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tribe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tribe Hotel

Address: Limuru Road | The Village Market, Gigiri, Nairobi 00621, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Nairobi > Highridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#4 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range: C$255 - C$334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Tribe Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set apart from the crowded city centre and a modern contrast to a city of colonially-inspired getaways, Tribe Hotel located in the lush suburbs of the city echoes nothing but the ultimate in luxury and tranquility. It’s sleek architecture and crisp lines are sure to set forth a brand new experience in hotel accommodation. Drawing inspiration from its African heritage, the interior of the hotel boasts exquisite art, crafts and furnishings handpicked from the farthest corners of the continent. Each of the 137 rooms is carefully designed to whisk you away from the average mundane hotel room into a world of chic and hip design with an emphasis on detail and luxury. An ideal destination for those craving increased intimacy and comfort with an added dose of personal service. From free high speed internet access, complimentary mini bars, luxury airport transfers, warm welcomes to express check in and check-out facilities, you can be sure that Tribe understands the individual needs of just about any traveler! Adjacent to the hotel is The Village Market, the largest shopping and recreational complex in Eastern Africa, and Nairobi’s premier retail and cultural destination. With over 150 shops and services, set within flowing rivers and waterfalls. It is also home to the weekly Maasai Market which hosts 350 artists for a colorful display of crafts, paintings, beadworks and fabrics every Friday. Bringing a whole new pampering experience to Nairobi is the hotel’s Kaya Spa. Using carefully selected products, Kaya’s uniquely developed treatments are designed to harmonize both the body and mind. The six treatment rooms infuse a sense of tranquility through inspiring design and decor that is sure to contribute to the relaxation and re-invigoration of your entire spa experience. Tribe’s signature restaurant recently launched a brand new menu carefully designed by the Executive Chef and his team. Inspired by the open flame grill, the menu is a tribute to local farmers; paying homage to crisp flavors and fresh, organic ingredients. The Jiko team has also reinvented Tribe’s famous Sunday brunch; the perfectly constructed menu features an extended dessert buffet, unlimited breezy cocktails, amongst an array of other feasts for the entire family. Jiko authentically holds true to the glamour of the hotel while offering guests the delights of whimsy and fantasy through a playful approach to presentation. Located on the lobby level of the hotel, Suite 101, the new pastry offering at Tribe, is a place where you can come at anytime of the day. Using only the finest ingredients, the pastry shop offers an array of hot and cold treats ranging from custom and novelty cakes, decadent French macaroons, designer cupcakes, homemade chocolates and ice creams to bespoke sandwiches made using daily freshly baked bread. Whether it be for some intimate time alone with a tall mug of chai tea latte and a deliciously delectable pastry or a high tea with friends, Suite 101 is definitely a must try for any sweet tooth! Tribe’s serene, charming and charismatic surroundings undoubtedly place it among the most striking, and luxurious boutique properties on the African continent, guaranteeing to meet and exceed the needs of any guest from jet setting celebrities to time constrained business travelers looking to add an urban flair to their Kenya-getaways! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Tribe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tribe The Village Market Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing