We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One not to be missed”

Tamambo Karen Blixen
Ranked #10 of 721 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Tamambo Karen Blixen Coffee Garden Restaurant is located in a beautiful peaceful garden setting on Karen Road, on the site of the original Blixen farmhouse property. The Restaurant is open for breakfast from 06.00Am through to 10.00Pm. Diners have a fine choice of different areas for lunch or dinner. There is the indoor restaurant with adjacent outdoor terrace and garden, for a la carte dining. There are also a variety of functions areas such as the Grand Marquee Sultan style tent, available for 'royal style' wedding functions, dinners and conferences. The Grogan House is a lovely space for private dinners and exclusive functions For many Karen residents, the bar which opens out to a shisha lounge is a popular place to meet and mingle with delicious cocktails and bar snacks and satellite TV.
Reviewed January 26, 2018

If you want luxury without paying luxury prices, try this. The cuisine is just getting better and better. No surprise that the restaurant is part of the Tamarind group. While there are tourists, there are a lot of well known faces from the neighborhood, regulars is always the hallmark of consistency and reliability. The bar is a favourite haunt of mine over the years and is spotless and well run. The staff are expertly trained and the Management is available always. I brought several colleagues there yesterday. I suggest recommendations from the Chef. The house Red wine is splendid, Ill be back for more. If you want privacy and beauty, the Garden is both discreet and Romantic, lots of seclusion. Unlike most such restaurants, the Security staff are well mannered and cheerful. The restaurant always attracts the diplomatic core in abundance but its the local residents that tell you the standard.
Dr TMK Elmore-Meegan
Karen Resident.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mikemeegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
labinaNairobi, Director of Sales at Tamambo Karen Blixen, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2018

Many thanks for your amazing review. We truly appreciate the perfect rating and the recommendation to other visitors. We appreciate your loyalty and your continued trust in our restaurant and our staff and please rest assured that we will do everything it takes to make us deserving of your loyalty. We are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,057)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

76 - 80 of 1,059 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2018

Having travelled through Nairobi a few times and always stopping at Carnivore we looked for an alternative and this proved to be a good choice.Very pleasant setting in a quieter part of the city and the opportunity to sit outside always positive.Food was of good proportion and not excessively priced , of the 5 meals for the group 4 out of the 5 were good (hence the score not being 5!) the 5th (Steak) was a little tough - but not enough to return. All in all a place we would happily go back to.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mandeville1322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
labinaNairobi, Director of Sales at Tamambo Karen Blixen, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2018

It gives us a lot of pride to hear that chose to eat at Tamambo having stopped a few times at Carnivore in the past.. We are delighted that our standards met with your expectations and you found the setting pleasant and the food mostly good and not to excessively priced. We apologise for the steak being tough and have shared your comments with the chef who will take remedial action to ensure this is improved upon. We truly appreciate your loyalty and trust and hope that you will visit us several times more on your future trips. Many thanks for taking the time to review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 23, 2018 via mobile

This is a really relaxing place to grab a drink or lunch. The garden is beautiful and there is art on display to look at. The food is delicious.

Thank iluvafrica333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
labinaNairobi, Director of Sales at Tamambo Karen Blixen, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2018

Thank you for your kind review. We are happy to hear that the food is delicious and you like to relax in the beautiful garden whilst grabbing a drink or lunching, We appreciate your favourable comments which are a great acknowledgement of our dedicated team. thank you again for the feedback and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 22, 2018

Enjoyable afternoon lunch. The food was well prepared and good afternoon meal. The serving size was appropriate. and not oversized. The food options were many.

Thank hanna529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
labinaNairobi, Director of Sales at Tamambo Karen Blixen, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2018

We are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable afternoon lunch and that the food was well prepared and there were many choices. We appreciate you giving us such positive feedback and would like to thank you for taking the time to review. Your comment have been passed to the team and are a great boost to their efforts. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 21, 2018

Tamambo Karen blixen has been a Karen Staple for a while. It boasts a large garden and a rich history which includes the genesis of karen in itself.

The food is outstanding particularly their fish and steak. The service is also great and one can have a business meeting or relax at the bar enjoying the regular happy hour offers.

Overall, a great choice for family outings, business meetings or social gatherings.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mac K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
labinaNairobi, Director of Sales at Tamambo Karen Blixen, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2018

Thank you for the review and for the complimentary comments.We are delighted to hear that you find the food outstanding at Tamambo particularly the fish and steak and in addition we are happy that you find the service good and the overall ambiance a great option for different events.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tamambo Karen Blixen also viewed

 
Nairobi, Kenya
 

Been to Tamambo Karen Blixen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing