We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$159
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$148
US$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$197
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tribe Hotel(Nairobi)
US$193
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$212
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$170
US$115
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$171
US$134
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$163/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$93
US$69
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$588
US$538
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (69)
Filter reviews
69 results
Traveller rating
38
17
6
1
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
38
17
6
1
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssecure compoundtwo bedroom apartmentlong stayself cateringhome away from homea great place to stayswimming poollamukpwestlandsspasecuritytrainerscomfortexpatsshampoohousekeeping
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 69 reviews
Reviewed August 2, 2017

First thing you notice is driving through a road that seems never ending and all of a sudden you are there. There are armed men at the gate and usually you have to pay before you enter the premise. Its very clean. The apartment flats too are totally clean and it feels like home. I love the wooden furniture and the wonderful smell to keep the insects at bay. The beds were very comfortable. whether you call it budget, mid range etc depends on where you are travelling from. I would imagine that for the average Kenyan worker whose salary is circa £500 per month would find this expensive. If travelling from Europe then mid range.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kay20122017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 25, 2017

We stayed for three nights at the King Post, two upon our arrival at Nairobi, and one on our return form Safari. The apartments are really spacious, comfortable, and very well decorated with all the commodities and an excellent quality/Price relation. The bar and restaurant, with the terrace on the roof, are also very nice and the meals are very good. We stayed with our three grown up children who also enjoyed the gym and swimming pool. The staff was very kind and very helfull, always ready to answer our needs. We will definitively go back if we have the opportunity!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank titane2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 15, 2017 via mobile

We didn't have a good start to our visit here as we weren't meet at the airport as planned and confirmed via email. Luckily taxi driver at the airport let us use his phone to call reception who said can i call you back which was not helpful after a long flight. We were then taken and checked in to the sister property up the road which wasn't what we booked. We walked to this property where the manager very quickly apologised and went to collect our bags for us. The apartment is a little dark but has lots of space with 2 bathrooms and enough room for 6 to eat very comfortably. No shampoo but soap provided. No hairdryer but can go to the gym area if you need to use the one there. Nice gym and sauna. Bar entry unusual but is addressed in another review. We wanted to have a drink at the rooftop bar one night but were told there wasn't enough staff available for us to do that. Security very good and we found staff all courteous. We were oposite the bar so was a bit noisy at times as cars leaving from right outside your room in the mornings make it difficult to sleep in if you were in the front bedroom on the bottom floor. A room further in to the complex would probably not have these issues though. Overall a mixed experience.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Lynn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GABLESGROUP, Owner at The King Post, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2017

Hi Lynn,

Thank you for your review, always useful to us. We apologise for the inconveniences you faced. We have taken all on board and we shall make efforts to improve areas you were not satisfied with. We had already pin pointed some of the areas you mentioned and, as we speak, changes are ongoing.

In the past 4-5 months, we have had heavy bookings and high occupancy levels, especially with short term customers. Our management structure has been designed for long term customers staying months, where guests buy their own items for their stay, eg soaps, shampoos, toilet paper etc. and even use the fully equipped kitchen to prepare their meals etc It is their home for them. We still have such guests, one who has even stayed for 7 years and more. But now we are able to host short term guests and are in the process of providing such items as shampoo, liquid soap, hair dryer, drinking water, tea/coffee, iron/press, ...well... items you would find in hotel rooms.

Due to a little push in marketing months back to increase our general awareness, our occupancy levels have suddenly surged, especially with short term guests. The King Post is quite popular and have had great reviews. In order to continue providing efficient services with this increase in short term traffic, we have had to change our organisational structure and management style. New staff have been added and they are undergoing training and understanding what standards we are aiming for. Finding the correct staff has been quite difficult and time consuming. So coping with increase in demand and change in management and staff, at the same time, has caused some challenges.

However, we are working hard to bring all procedures in line to provide a smooth and efficient service, the way we personally wish to experience when we travel to other places. This is our home and we wish all guests who reside here to be happy and satisfied with what we have to offer. We have set ourselves high realistic targets and we have continiously improved oursleves from the very start, adjusting to whatever situations we encounter at any given time.

We hope that when you ever decide to return and stay with us, you will indeed see and feel the improvements and the progress we have made.

Welcome!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 11, 2017

The atmosphere of this places is as cool as it looks in the online photos. I don't know if you'd call the architecture Swahili or Moorish, but we felt like we got a little taste of Zanzibar right in Nairobi. We were also impressed by the size of our apartment (amazing for the modest price)... each of our family members and friends literally gasped as they walked in the door. We ate dinner at the hotel, and were impressed by our delicious meal (it took a while, but I think they opened the kitchen and made everything from scratch just for us - it was much better than the packaged and processed food one gets in America). It was very easy to get to, coming into Nairobi from the north (from Lake Nakuru). And the hotel was very generous about letting us modify our reservation at the last minute, which was extremely kind of them. We'd definitely come back, and stay longer next time, if we had business to do in Nairobi.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 19, 2017 via mobile

At the King post you get value for money. Nice apartments well equipped, great service and charming place. I could have given 5 stars, but a few minor details determined the four. I'll mention one. The beds are small. If you measure over 185 cm, I would choose another hotel if you want a good nice sleep. Anyway. I measure less than 180, so I'll be back

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank tetedoeuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews