We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value accommodation in Nairobi for those on a budget”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Jupiter Guest Resort Langata
Ranked #98 of 170 Hotels in Nairobi
Reviewed 6 November 2016

Rooms are clean, although basic. Location is good in terms of access to a nearby shopping mall, Wilson Airport and Nairobi National Park, but be aware you are only a few hundred yards from Kibera. Remarkable quiet location, very secure. Food is only average. Staff are friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2015

Don't be put off by the location - although it appears to be in the middle of a 'strange' area, this is a super place to stay if you are on a budget, but still want the luxury of a decent room, en-site facilities, food and WiFi. A short walk across Langata Road is a modern shopping complex, and Carnivores Restaurant is a short walk away.

Room Tip: Worth paying the little bit extra for their best rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2014 via mobile

Been here several times for weekend one night visits.
Rooms are average good and clean.
Had an issue with the shower once and they fixed it immediately I reported.
Some rooms a bit small depending on your choice rather depending on your budget.
Breakfast is ok, can do better.
Management needs to improve on the professionalism of their establishment.
Wifi is ok, you need to get the password at the reception.
Security is good.
Left my cologne in the room one time and called them later in the day to inquire, to my surprise it had been found and was kept safely. This is a very positive thing indeed that you don't find in many establishments.
Overall, with a bit of professional approach, could be a better place.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Osman T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2014

We check in at almost 1am then the lady at the reception agrees for an extension till 11. We wake up try our best we were there at 10:30. Then there is no breakfast. And the PR OMG plus the showers are terrible.

  • Stayed: November 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kay-Didi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jupiter00, Manager at Jupiter Guest Resort Langata, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2014

Dear Kay - Didi

We regret that you found your stay with us terrible. We also apologize for the shower problem that you bring to notice, had you raised the complain during your stay to our front desk that is open 24hrs we would have it checked and rectified.

In the reception area, above the check in desk we have a clear big hung notice that says check out time is at 10.00 o'clock.

The reason you found the breakfast area closed is, it was past serving time.
During check in clients are given a briefing that includes, breakfast is served from 6.00am to 10.00 am at the breakfast area or by room service.

In event time is not kept the breakfast buffet is cleared paving way for cleaning and preparing for Lunch.

We regret that your stay was below your expectation especially concerning the breakfast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2014

Was travelling on a budget and had a pleasant stay at Jupiter which is well located; close to the Carnivore, the Nairobi National Park, the airport, Giraffe Centre, Mamba village (crocodile farm)...to name but a few.
In a nutshell, so many places to visit nearby both for adults and children.

The rooms are very clean and neat! We always came back to a welcoming room.

Free Wi-fi; excellent connection especially at the restaurant and bar area. You may want to ask the management to book you in a room with the best connection though.

Great staff! Very friendly and helpful at all times. Talk to the manager, a nice and warm lady, who made sure that those little details were taken care of to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable.

Good security and generator back up in the event of black-outs.

We stayed at Jupiter for 2 weeks !!! And, understandably, we'll definately check in again on our next visit to Nairobi!

Room Tip: Some rooms have a better Wi-fi connection than others. Simply ask at the reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deb665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2014

I stayed at Jupiter twice - once for one night on 15th March 2014 and second time for three nights from 21st - 24th March 2014. First time I reached very late in the night from India, however the chef was gracious to offer me a chicken sandwich with a drink for dinner. The hospitality was appreciated.

Since I did not select the hotel, I was not expecting a very small and cramped room. I was booked in a standard single room, but I guess that is norm there. So if you book a similar room, expect a bed occupying almost 75% of the room, a huge mosquito net, TV screen peering from behind the mosquito net and a small rack and table occupying 15% of the room and remaining 10% is required for the door to open. You may use this space to place your chair if you do not wish to sit on the bed. The room does not have a table where you can place your laptop to work. The bed is the only alternate.

The bathroom is nice. The overhead instant geysers for hot water are what I found as the de-facto standard in budget hotels in Kenya. The room was clean. Every hotel in Kenya will give you a slipper for using in the bathroom, which was new to me. But it was good.

The TV does not have too many channels and being a foreigner to the country, I could not relate to most of the channels except the sports channel.

The food in the restaurant was good and tasty. If you could request the chef you may be able to get the meal adjusted to your taste. But if you really like to get a feel of the local cuisine, the food is just right for it.

In case you are an Indian and prefer Indian food, there are a couple of very good places near this hotel. There are some shopping malls within walking distance of this hotel. There is the MP Shah hospital which offers excellent vegetarian Indian buffet lunch for a manageable price of 700 KSH and it is very close to the Jupiter hotel.

The breakfast spread is very limited and extremely standard - bread, butter eggs and cereal. One flavor or juice or tea and coffee. I am sure this could be better.

Also another suggestion is that you can get simple things like toothbrush, toothpaste, sanitary napkins and prepaid phone recharge coupons at the hotel. They will even give you a bill for it!!

Overall I think this a decent place for business travel and for short stays. Long stays could become boring since the hotel does not have open spaces or ground or even a lounge to spend time outside of your room.

Room Tip: Pick a room in the newer block - where the standard room is bigger, but you may have to pay 500 Ksh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank e2ccguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Stayed one night in Feb 14 after flight from UK. Hotel arranged our transfer from airport very efficiently . We arrived at around 11 pm so did not eat but the friendly staff opened the bar so we could get a much needed beer, breakfast was OK. We were a group of 8 and between us had booked standard executive double and executive twin rooms. All were clean, showers worked and size wise were as described, the standard being small but great as a single room. The hotel is close to the airport and for a short stay was excellent value for Nairobi. We had a problem with our payment but this was identified by the management who were extremely helpful in trying to resolve the matter despite the difficulties created by Barclaycard.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank headington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
Purdy Arms
#1 of 4 in Karen
84 reviews
The Heron Portico
#4 of 170 in Nairobi
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 170 in Nairobi
1,208 reviews
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 170 in Nairobi
1,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jupiter Guest Resort Langata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jupiter Guest Resort Langata

Address: Jonathan Ngeno Rd | Langata., Nairobi 00600, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 170 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range: $65 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a serene area. Maintains high standards of cleanliness. Near Carnivore Restaurant, Nairobi National Park, Giraffe center, David Sheldrick- Elephant Orphanage among other attractions.Have professional,warm and friendly staff. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing