We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short stay at The 140”
Review of The 140

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The 140
Ranked #54 of 296 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 February 2013

I staid at The 140 for a short business trip to Nairobi and I had to be close to the UN offices. it is perfectly located to do so as it is near (around 3km) and the surrounding are safe and nice. The 140 is the perfect place to stay. The rooms are spacious and are really nice. The veranda and the garden are excellent and enable you to work outside the room something I really appreciated, The food and drinks were very good and was serviced timely. The place is well managed and he staff was extremely service orientated. I had my transport arranged through Charles and Eva and was done in a timely and well organized fashion.
I strongly recommend The 140 for anybody travelling to Nairobi and I will definitely return on future trips to Nairobi

Room Tip: All rooms seems to be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The140, Owner at The 140, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

We are very thankful for your kind comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (14)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 14 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2012

The guest house stay was excellent. The service provided was very good. The place was neat and very clean. It has a large garden also. Wifi Internet is available.The owners Charles and Eva were on hand to ensure we looked after.
The breakfast was sumptuous (Lunch and Dinner can be provided on request).
The location of 140 at Runda is ideal--located near the UNEP setup, Village Market (15 min Masai Market on Fri) and Westlands (20 min).
They have good accommodation for both short and long stay--ideal for tourists, diplomats and UN staff.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kiran Prakash S... V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

I strongly recommend THE 140 if you go to Nairobi. It is a very friendly guest house, near from the UNEP compound. It is like to be at home. The place is very cozy and clean. You can also enjoy a very beautiful garden. Internet is also available. I had a very good stay there and definitely would return if I had to come back to Nairobi.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gabriela A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

We were a group of 6 travelling to Kenya to do some short term missionary work. Our stay at The 140 was exceptional. In preparation for our trip we really didn't have any expectations and didn't know what to expect. Upon arrival at The 140, we were in awe of the beautiful home, the staff, gardens and surrounding neighborhood. We didn't feel like we had arrived at a guest house, hotel, or B&B, but we felt like we "came home". That feeling of coming home only continued to strengthen as we got to know the owners, the staff and settle into our surroundings. Chef Pius found his way into our hearts very quickly - through our stomachs. Peter and Ali made themselves available at any time and for any reason. All the staff were incredible and catered to our every whim. The owners and staff all took great pride in making sure our every need was met. Our mission work took us into a ghetto slum. Coming to and from The 140 each day gave us a break from the emotional and physical work and the situations we encountered during the day. We were able to recharge and collect our thoughts, pray and refocus for the next day's work.

Although this was a personal trip, as a busines person who travels frequently, I'd stay at The 140 anytime and would prefer this accommodation over a major hotel chain. Their personal approach, serene environment, gated community, close proximity to all the embassey's and other major international Government Houses make this an ideal location.

The 140 is ideal accommodations for a couple, family or if travelling solo. The 140 has private 7x24 gated security, plus it's situated in a gated community. Rooms are beautifully appointed, each with a beautiful color-themed decor, private ensuite bathrooms. There are a couple of self-contained apartments which have their own entrance. The large gardens provide many serene and peaceful alcoves where you can sit and read, enjoy a garden breakfast, candlelight dinner or just meditate.

The location makes for a good "home-base" if you are intending to tootle around Nairobi, Karen, drive out to tea country or even take a few days to go on safari. Easy access to major highways (traffic not-with-standing). The staff are very knowledgeable about sights to see, places to visit, where to shop, Masai markets, and other tourist information.

A second floor, outdoor entertainment lounge area is located above the side garden. Complete with pot-bellied fire urns, umbrellas, vines, shrubs, bar and dining area. Ideal for meetings, star-light dinners, cocktail receptions or just to hang out with a good book.


The 140 features a fully equipped weight and exercise facility.

Although there is no elevator, the staff will bring all your belongings into The 140, suitecases, shopping, soveniers. "Jeeves" is just waiting for your arrival.

Bottom line - you can't go wrong staying at The 140. It really is your home away from home.

Room Tip: All rooms are terrific. If you don't / can't navigate a flight of stairs, there is a guest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Vicar_of_Dibley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

I enjoyed my stay at The 140. It is a serene homely environment. Charles and Ruth are nice people - they are really caring people. I go to UNEP Gigiri often on business and my intention is to stay at The 140 as long as there are rooms available. It is not far from UNEP Gigiri - the centre of my activities when I am in Kenya.

I have recommended it to colleagues at the Technical Univerisity of Denmark who also go to UNEP on business.

I thank the taxi man - Titus - who introduced me to the The 140.

Room Tip: I Higher floors have less A/C unit noise with reasonable internet connections.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Todd N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The140, Owner at The 140, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2011

We very much appreciate our guest's response and for creating the time to provide valuable feedback. And we really do look forward to hosting him and his colleagues in future. We strive to provide a homely atmosphere and it very satisfying to receive constructive feedback from departing guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

I strongly recommend staying at The 140. The place is very nice. The employes are very trustworthy and they are always prepared to serve you. It is a calm and confortable place. The food is also excellent. The directors are kind people.

Room Tip: I think all of the rooms are excellent places to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Otavio Luiz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The140, Owner at The 140, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2011

Thank you very much for your review comments. We are really glad you enjoyed your stay with us and truly felt a member of the family whilst staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2011

We very much enjoyed our time at the 140. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. They always went out of their way to make us feel comfortable and welcomed. This was truly our home away from home. The meals were very tasty and prepared with much thought and effort. There was always more than enough to eat. Kudoos to the chef who takes great pride in his work. The rooms were spacious and cosy. The reliable internet was really appreciated. The 140 is located in the beautiful Runda neighbourhood. Security is available 24/7. The property is very lush with gardens and greenary. Breakfast in the garden or dinner on the roof top patio only enhanced the ambiance. Our team of six was doing some volunteer work for 9 days at the Eastleigh Community Centre located in the Eastleigh ghetto, so the 140 provided a wonderful respite from our daily activities. You can't go wrong staying at the 140 during your time in Nairobi.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The140, Owner at The 140, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2011

We very much appreciate these review comments. We strive to provide the best of comfort for our guests and are gratified that your team had a wonderful time. And we thank you very much for choosing to stay at our facility.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
Purdy Arms
#1 of 4 in Karen
84 reviews
The Heron Portico
#4 of 169 in Nairobi
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 169 in Nairobi
1,316 reviews
Sarova Stanley
#7 of 169 in Nairobi
1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The 140? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The 140

Address: Runda, Nairobi, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 296 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range: $125 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The property is a 5-bedroom house with a large garden. This facility is available for use only by residents and expected guests, ensuring your privacy when you stay with us. Each of the bedrooms is self-contained, with shower, bathtub and free WiFi internet. It is ideal for travellers who prefer home comforts instead of staying in a hotel. Our rates start at US$80 for the standard room. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing