We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The 140
Nearby Hotels
Tribe Hotel(Nairobi)
US$196
US$176
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$170
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$170
US$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$180
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ole Sereni(Nairobi)
US$169
US$144
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$293
US$226
Fairmont.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$143
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eka Hotel Nairobi(Nairobi)
US$159
US$123
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$122
US$78
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$186
US$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (14)
Filter reviews
14 results
Traveller rating
12
1
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
12
1
0
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 14 reviews
Reviewed May 12, 2015

I stayed for 5 nights at the end of April. This is an excellent guest house. The owners and the staff are extremely helpful and nice. The garden is beautiful and I enjoyed the wonderful cooking too. You cannot go wrong with the 140.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The140, Owner at The 140, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2015

It was great to have you as our guest, Stephen, and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We wish you all the very best, and look forward to hosting you again some time in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 23, 2015

This certainly was a home away from home. Great environment and wonderful hosts. It never felt like staying in a hotel; it was home and the people managing the place were so nice. I will certainly go back and have already recommended to friends colleagues who may be going to Nairobi.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Offei M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The140, Owner at The 140, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2015

Many thanks for your kind comments, Offei - much appreciated. It was our pleasure having you as our guests and trust that you took back with you good memories of your stay with us. We strive to make every guest's stay comfortable and truly a home away from home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 11, 2013

I had a meeting in the UN and since my husband was joining me , at some stage to take a safari, he chose THE 140, from among the listed accomodations, provided by the UN.
It was a wonderful experience!! Would highly recommend 140 for short term, long term stay.

Charles and Eva are the most charming and gracious people we have met. Can proudly say, they have added value to our treasure of friends. THey and their vigilant staff, were at hand all the time, to make sure we were comfortable and had everything we wanted. Ali, Peter, Elizabeth and Carolina, thanks for making our stay so memorable.
It was service with a smile, all the time. Food was excellent. Peter thanks for the Tilapia! Missing it! Prices were very reasonable.
Rooms are spacious, airy and very clean. WIFI good. The entire ambiance of 140 was pleasing, comforting and enjoyable. It was not to far from the UNEP. The surroundings were lovely and green.

Transport was easy to get, just had to tell Ali or Peter and voila, it was there.

We also had an added advantage, when we found out that Ali the day attendant's father, George took people for safaris. We booked him and had a most wonderful, enjoyable safari. Would highly recommend him.

Can go on and on. ..... But if we were ever to go to Nairobi, THE 140 will be it!!! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.
Thanks Eva and Charles for everything.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are airy and get plenty of sunshine
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ATEAMKarachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The140, Owner at The 140, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind comments about our facility. We strive to make our guests' stay at The 140 comfortable and memorable, and we are gratified that, with the support of our staff, we were able to deliver on this, and on your expectations of us. We are also very appreciative of your business and look forward to being of help some time in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 5, 2013

I staid at The 140 for a short business trip to Nairobi and I had to be close to the UN offices. it is perfectly located to do so as it is near (around 3km) and the surrounding are safe and nice. The 140 is the perfect place to stay. The rooms are spacious and are really nice. The veranda and the garden are excellent and enable you to work outside the room something I really appreciated, The food and drinks were very good and was serviced timely. The place is well managed and he staff was extremely service orientated. I had my transport arranged through Charles and Eva and was done in a timely and well organized fashion.
I strongly recommend The 140 for anybody travelling to Nairobi and I will definitely return on future trips to Nairobi

Room Tip: All rooms seems to be good.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The140, Owner at The 140, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

We are very thankful for your kind comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 28, 2012

The guest house stay was excellent. The service provided was very good. The place was neat and very clean. It has a large garden also. Wifi Internet is available.The owners Charles and Eva were on hand to ensure we looked after.
The breakfast was sumptuous (Lunch and Dinner can be provided on request).
The location of 140 at Runda is ideal--located near the UNEP setup, Village Market (15 min Masai Market on Fri) and Westlands (20 min).
They have good accommodation for both short and long stay--ideal for tourists, diplomats and UN staff.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kiran Prakash S... V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews