We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (248)
Filter reviews
248 results
Traveller rating
232
15
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
232
15
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgame drivesnairobi national parkrelief managerfantastic lodgewooden bridgelions roaringdriver guidewhite rhinogreat hostsmajor citymain gatesafari experiencewilson airportgreat place to starthoneymoon suiteshort driveinternational airport
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 248 reviews
Reviewed March 4, 2018

Delicious food, wonderful hosts, amazing location - the rooms are amazing - we had number 9 - great views and felt quite secluded - well worth the 130 steps up! It rained a little whilst we were there, but that didn't stop the beauty of the place captivating us.

Stayed: March 2018
1  Thank ChristinaSLacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emandant, Owner at The Emakoko, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2018

Thank you for your review - great to have you here and I hope we will see you again.
Anthony & Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 3, 2018 via mobile

The management and staff are excellent . Welcoming , attentive . Great Gin and tonics with grapefruit and coriander or their own “dawas better than Tamarinds for sure are some of many cocktails in the bar.

Rooms are comfy and the food is good !

It’s close to the airport despite being on the edge and essentially in the Nairobi National Park ,and they can organise airport transfers through the park .

We saw lion a few hundred meters from the lodge and heard them at night , simply amazing !

If you have kids there are family rooms and staff will go out of their way to set up cotts etc .

All in all a must for people with only a little time in Nairobi who would like to see the wildlife and have a very cosy comfortable stay within a short drive to the airport. Living in Nairobi and need a break out to the bush within an easy drive this is your spot too.

We will go back !

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank kuwinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emandant, Owner at The Emakoko, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2018

Thank you for your review and we look forward to having you back!

Thank you,

Anthony & Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 3, 2018

The perfect way to start a safari in Kenya, Stay a few days at Emakoko, which is very much like a luxury safari camp in the Mara. Host Anton is personable and very helpful. I lost an item on the plane and he directed us to a place to buy replacement parts, and then helped assemble what I needed. Truly above and beyond. Right in Nairobi National Park, so we got to be with the animals just 5 minutes after leaving the lodge. Food was terrific and service was flawless, They really made you feel special,

Room Tip: Bring your bathing suit - there's a nice pool
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JoanneLocke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emandant, Owner at The Emakoko, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2018

I am so pleased that you enjoyed The Emakoko and I hope we see you again.

Thank you,

Anthony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 2, 2018

You are collected at the airport (Wilson or the international) and driven through the Nairobi Park to a wooden bridge. You cross the bridge to reach the lodge where the staff are waiting with a cool drink and a wet wash cloth.
And so Lawrence was there waiting for us at Wilson Airport. This was our second visit here and we were as happy this time as our last. We stayed with our friends in the family lodge which consisted of two spacious bedrooms connected by a long balcony. Each room was very private. The rooms are huge with a lovely bed, comfy chairs to sit in and even a fireplace when it gets cold. The room has everything you could want, safe, hairdryer, house coats, slippers and beautiful roses everywhere. The public areas are super comfy with large sofas and chairs, The bar is good and well stocked. The food is excellent and is prepared in a tiny kitchen at the back.
We loved every minute of our one and a half day stay here. Anthony, the owner, is friendly and always around if you need anything. He is however a snake expert and extremely interesting to talk to!
They also offer safaris into the Nairobi Park which we always take advantage of as there is plenty to see. Fingers crossed the new railway project doesn't ruin it.
We always end our visits to Kenya at The Emakoko and have no intention of changing that for our next visits!

Room Tip: If you are fit book a room at the top - be warned forty steps up but a magnificent view. Good news is a lift is coming soon!
Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Susi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emandant, Owner at The Emakoko, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2018

Thank you for your very detailed review. It was great to have you here and we look forward to seeing you again.

Thank you,

Anthony & Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 1, 2018

We could not have picked a better location to spend Valentines Day/Night together especially after us having spent so much time apart. After a leisurely game drive through the park seeing a massive amount and variety of species including a rhino family with new baby, it was a relief to finally arrive at this remote location which tested our 4x4 driving skills. Our room was high above the main public rooms but well worth the steep climb for the stunning views. Room was amazing, shame we didn't get a chance to use the bathtub with the panoramic views. Room extremely well appointed and equipped and we enjoyed our Tusker and gin and tonic on the large veranda watching the sun set over the park. Dinner was exceptional - we were escorted from room to the bar by a caring Askari (guard) with a torch and enjoyed pre-dinner cocktails with Patrick our bar man host being very knowledgeable and entertaining. Dinner was very high end for Kenya and our initial disappointment at the small portion size of the main course was soon dissipated when they came around with seconds - and then thirds. Hyrax came into the lounge area while we enjoyed a brandy and on returning to our room with our escort we found they had lit a fire which was a nice touch. At 6am we were woken with a pot of tea to watch the sunrise and went for another long game drive returning at 9.30am for a much welcome full breakfast which again was excellent. The whole experience was superb by any standards and we will definitely return. The icing on the cake was, however, a 20 minute lion encounter with a young lion and mother who were stalking a pack of impala and sheltered next to our car for 15 minutes. The photos we took were incredible and the whole experience of Emakoko and The National Park will stay with us forever . Thank you all so much especially our host, Rachel.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank CartwrightKenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emandant, Owner at The Emakoko, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2018

Thank you for your lovely review and we are so pleased you not only enjoyed the lodge but also had such an amazing encounter with the park lions. We hope you come again and sorry to have missed you.

Thank you,

Anthony & Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews