We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (975)
Filter reviews
975 results
Traveller rating
520
365
62
15
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
520
365
62
15
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews very nice hotel room service lovely pool african art long flight breakfast buffet an oasis rooms are comfortable central location busy city gift shop safari trip main restaurant masai mara maghreb business security
Filter
Updating list...
62 - 67 of 975 reviews
Reviewed December 6, 2017

We stayed at Serena for one night, a quick stay but enough to feel a little disappointed as the two previous stays had been excellent. The service was still excellent, breakfast was better than most hotels and the pool is one of the best hotel pools I've ever used. The building work is carefully hidden but you lose the super ambience of the hotel. It looks like it will be back to normal in the New Year so I'd expect the hotel to be better than ever in 2018.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GordsGuinness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerenaHotels, General Manager at Nairobi Serena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2017

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from our guests. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We were delighted to know that you found our offer and service delivery to your satisfaction, however, we do apologise for your last stay here not being to your expectations as your previous stays have been. Should you like to share more on this with us, kindly e-mail us on nairobi@serena.co.ke. We look forward to another opportunity to be of service to you, hopefully, in the not too distant future.

Sincerely
Daniel Kang'u
General Manager |Nairobi Serena Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 3, 2017

Many years I enjoyed being a Guest at this all African Hotel... No pretentious expat-staff but all well trained local professional staff...
The total renovation a necessity to maintain its level viz a viz the growing competition will make this hotel the BEST in Nairobi again...You will get the real Africa feeling with all the international comforts... Not like a Sheraton, Hilton, Kempinsky, Marriot and so on... It is a well decorated and comfortable Hotel in the center of Nairobi...

Room Tip: During renovation request a room as far away from the construction area....It is a bit more quiet.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldtravellerfrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerenaHotels, General Manager at Nairobi Serena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2017

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from our guests. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. We were delighted to know that you found our offer and service delivery to your satisfaction and we look forward to another opportunity to be of service to you, hopefully, in the not too distant future.

Sincerely
Daniel Kang'u
General Manager |Nairobi Serena Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 2, 2017

I would recommend this hotel, but rooms are a little tired. Breakfast buffet was great, especially the thick cut bacon. Service very good. good security, friendly staff. The area is close to downtown. I would rate the Serena borderline 5 star.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank mark m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerenaHotels, General Manager at Nairobi Serena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2017

We appreciate the time taken to share your experience. We were delighted to know that you found our offer and service delivery to your satisfaction and we look forward to another opportunity to be of service to you, hopefully, in the not too distant future once our new facilities are available.

Sincerely
Daniel Kang'u
General Manager |Nairobi Serena Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 26, 2017 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night while in Nairobi. Hotel was under construction but didn’t cause us any interruptions. Room was classically styled and everything functioned. Some items such as the air conditioning unit could do with an update to keep up with modern times. Staff provided 5-star service and fulfilled all requests. Pool and fitness centre were nice to use. In general you get what you pay for with Serena Nairobi.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank NZKV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerenaHotels, General Manager at Nairobi Serena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. It is a pleasure to get positive feedback from our guests despite the on-going construction. It is always our aim to surpass our guest expectations and we look forward to another opportunity to be of service to you, hopefully, in the not too distant future.

Sincerely
Daniel Kang'u
General Manager |Nairobi Serena Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 22, 2017

I visited Serena Hotel - Nairobi whilst they were busy with renovations that tended to make the hotel accessibility tricky. The hotel is a bit old-ish, and located close to the city centre.

The staff at this hotel are very friendly, and the general condition of the hotel is good.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Regular6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerenaHotels, General Manager at Nairobi Serena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on your stay with us.
Kindly note that we were delighted to know that you found our offer and service delivery to your satisfaction and sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused to you as a result of the on-going construction. We appreciate your feedback and we look forward to another opportunity to be of service to you, hopefully, in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,
Daniel Kang'u
General Manager| Nairobi Serena Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews