We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Short Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Fairmont The Norfolk
Ranked #10 of 167 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 March 2012

After a severe international flight with missed connections and delays, we arrived at the Norfolk at 7:00am. We were checked in early which was amazing. The room was spacious and while some say "dated", I would say charming and full of character. The room was clean, modern bath, and lovely seating area with terrace.

We arranged airport transfers before our travel through the hotel. We were picked up in a spacious luxury jeep and were offered cool towels and water. While perhaps more expensive than necessary, I would do it again - it was comforting to have safe and comfortable travel after such a long journey.

We had but one night as we we flying out to safari in the Mara the next day. With a full day and not much planned, the hotel recommended a half day tour. They provided us a car and driver and we visited an elephant orphanage, a giraffe sanctuary (best part of the day!) and the Karen Blixen museum. If you have the time, I definitely recommend it!

The breakfast buffet was extensive and expensive. The second morning, they happily accommodated us by allowing us to just order toast and coffee. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vacation-bugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,040)
There are newer reviews for Fairmont The Norfolk
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

814 - 820 of 1,040 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2012

We stayed at the Norfolk 3 times in the past month. We found it to be down at it heels. I promise not to list more than 10 problems although I could go on…
We checked in at 4 am to a room in the back over-looking shanties with a broken air conditioner. Temperature 85-90 degreees. When we called the front desk they said they would send someone to repair it! We figured 1/2 hour to find the engineer, 1/2 hour minimum to repair, we had no hope of seeing sleep before 5 am. We re-zipped our bags, went to the front desk and insisted on another room. They very reluctantly put us elsewhere.
Husband tries to turn on lamp and it breaks in half exposing wires. See below.
Twice when we check in half the bathroom lights are nonfunctioning. I ask the engineer when he arrived if this is an energy saving measure, he insists it is not.
Two people but bathroom only has towels for one.
The night time turn down service only comes occasionally—even if you request it. Trying to get dry towels is like pulling teeth.
In 2 rooms the water coming out of the shower head was tepid. For a hot shower it was necessary to use the hand held device.
The shower head was not squarely screwed on and squirted water all over the bathroom.
Drains are exceedingly slow.
I was shocked how late it was when we checked in—until I realized the clock in the room did not work.
We needed to call our bank when the credit card didn't work. We used the toll free collect number on the back of the card. The Norfolk charged us $30 for the call—thank you very much.
There was more but I promised only 10.

Having said that that staff is great— Eunice at the front desk was so helpful as was Cyrus the impeccable doorman.

Broken lamp

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank scooter004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2012

Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback.

It is very concerning to learn of the challenges you faced during your stay with us and we sincerely apologise for this. All concerns raised are being addressed and rectified. It would be worth to note however that we are currently in the process of refurbishing guests rooms.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Sincerely,
Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

we have just arrived back home, we stayed at Fairmont The Norfolk Hotel,it was excellent. staff were helpful and friendly.the room was clean and nothing was to much trouble.the food was excellent and catered for everyone. we had trips out which was organised by Amos of sunset africa safaris, to masai mara safari for 3 days ,and a city round tour.They were so outstanding ,very straight.Amos made sure we went safe and came to see us after the safari and wanted to know all that happened and if there was any fault,But all we could say was that,it was so Fantastic.They are the best we would recommend them for a safari while in Kenya.

Great holiday and has made me appreciate things more . would definately return.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cecil j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Stayed here for a few nights during a conference, the hotel has a nice old-world charm to it.

Service was really good, anything you need they responded almost right away. The restaurants in the hotel are pricey but the food tastes good. The health club and the spa were modern and clean. I'll probably try one of the other hotels next time I'm in Nairobi, but would consider coming back because of the great service.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashaikh81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2012

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback. Your comments are greatly appreciated as they allow us to identify our successes and understand how to improve.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Fairmont The Norfolk.

Sincerely,
Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

We stayed here as a stop over between Lamu and the UK in September 2010. The hotel had a good feel, very clean and spacious. The service was friendly and efficient and the variety of restaurants was good. Our room was in the main part of the hotel and was very comfortable with a large bathroom. I just wish that we had had a bit more time to enjoy everything the hotel had to offer and also to spend a bit of time exploring Nairobi.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hjberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2012

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback. It is always a great pleasure to read that we were able to meet our guests expectations. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to Fairmont The Norfolk.

Sincerely,
Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Clean rooms, quiet, always a good place to recharge after a flight over or mara visit. Food is great in the lobby restaurant. Staff is very good at scheduling activities and the front office group makes you feel safe and secure.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VonChuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2012

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback. Your kind comments about our hotel facilities, service, food and colleagues are highly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back at Fairmont The Norfolk in the near future.

Sincerely,
Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Unfortunately, what used to be a very nice place to stay in Nairobi has now somewhat gone downhill. The service, whilst still friendly, is slow and the food is not so good anymore. US$ 33 for a breakfast is extortionate. The rooms are still OK, as are the pool and the gym. The internet speed is mostly miserable. Don't even bother to take one of the taxis outside the hotel - you will end up paying much more than by just picking one up in the street.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the inner courtyard are nice, but you need to get used to the incessant clacki...
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2012

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback. I will personally ensure that we address your concerns and rectify where applicable.

Sincerely,
Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
1.1 km away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
1.7 km away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 167 in Nairobi
1,287 reviews
1.0 km away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 167 in Nairobi
1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
InterContinental Nairobi
InterContinental Nairobi
#19 of 167 in Nairobi
1,020 reviews
2.3 km away
Sankara Nairobi
Sankara Nairobi
#9 of 167 in Nairobi
913 reviews
1.6 km away
The Heron Portico
The Heron Portico
#7 of 167 in Nairobi
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont The Norfolk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont The Norfolk

Address: Harry Thuku Rd, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Phone Number:
Region: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range: $246 - $373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont The Norfolk 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from Nairobi's best attractions, including the home of Karen Blixen, from the Academy Award winning film 'Out of Africa', Fairmont The Norfolk offers luxurious guestrooms and suites, set amidst tropical gardens. It features plush furniture, flat screen TV, minibar, rainfall showers, and tea and coffee maker. Built in 1904, the hotel has been completely refurbished with a heated outdoor swimming pool, health club, sauna and steam rooms with massage facilities, tropical landscaped grounds, and award winning restaurants and bars from steak and seafood at Tatu restaurant, afternoon tea to Lord Delamere Terrace for international cuisine. The hotel is walking distance from artisanal craft shops, modern shopping centres, Sheldrick's Elephant Sanctuary, National Museums of Kenya and is the launch point for 'bucket list' worthy safari tours, which can be organized at the 24 hour concierge desk. A free shuttle bus is available to and from Jomo Kenyatta International airport, located 11 miles away. Business Guests are also offered a complimentary return shuttle ride to their office with free WiFi on board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairmont The Norfolk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont The Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Norfolk
Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Nairobi
Norfolk Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing