We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,385)
Filter reviews
1,385 results
Traveller rating
849
399
97
27
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
849
399
97
27
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews israeli embassy an oasis garden cafe main building pool restaurant lovely grounds hotel grounds busy city breakfast buffet nice pool upper hill plenty of hot water business center wonderful hotel felt safe long flight visiting nairobi
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 1,385 reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2018

I enjoyed my stay here very much. The rooms are clean and very comfortable (especially the bed). Breakfast is served buffet style and was delicious. There are many restaurants to on site to choose from though they are a bit pricey. The gardens are beautiful and well kept.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lauren Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_CLHG_Team, Public Relations Manager at Fairview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2018


Thank you for staying with us and for the positive review. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 11, 2018

The Fairview Hotel is an oasis in the middle of the city of Nairobi! The grounds of the hotel were beautiful, and filled with lush gardens and greenery. We arrived on a Tuesday night when the hotel hosts a wine tasting along with a live jazz band. We had our delicious dinner outside near the pool where we could tap our feet along to the music. Our room was spacious, safe and quiet for a good night's sleep. The staff were helpful and extremely pleasant! I cannot recommend this hotel enough!

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nanette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_CLHG_Team, Public Relations Manager at Fairview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2018


Thank you for choosing a City Lodge Hotel as you spend quality and memorable time with your loved ones. We are delighted to hear your appraisal of our friendly staff and hotel facilities. We look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 6, 2018

Firstly, very bad experience when leaving. There is a first class lounge for anyone booking a suite. There are a few extras, one including free coffee (advertised as such and two reception staff told us so). We went once for the coffee. After we were brought a bill. Told them it was free. At check out food and beverage manager called re the very small amount on a very large bill of 2 coffees. He stood next to us, spoke to the reception lady in Swahili and ignored us completely and left. She then informed us he had told her the coffee was not free and we were to be charged! He had no common decency to talk to us himself. Discussing!
This did appear to be a trait with this hotel: it is advertised on booking as having a mini market on site. It doesn't. It is also said to do ticketing. It doesn't. Oh, and apparently, the coffee isn't free in the first class lounge any more!
All this to one side, most of the staff were very helpful, the food was good and the grounds were beautiful.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stevensal779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairviewHotelbyCLHG, General Manager at Fairview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2018

6th September 2018

Dear Mr. Cox
From the outset, I would like to thank you for taking time to share your feedback on our Trip Advisor platform, following your recent stay at the Fairview Hotel. It gives me the opportunity to address and to rectify our short comings.
I would like to sincerely apologize for the inconvenience that was caused to you following your feedback on the service received in the First Class Lounge and from the Food and Beverage Manager.
Mr. Cox, this is certainly not the standard of service that we pride ourselves on, nor that, you have come to expect from us. Your feedback has received my full attention and please be assured that I have addressed it with my Food and Beverage Team.
I trust that this incident has not hindered the future relationship between you and the Fairview Hotel. I look forward to welcome you back to the Fairview Hotel soon.

Kind regards and best wishes

Ross Thompson
Assistant General Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 3, 2018

We stayed in the Fairview Hotel in Nairobi for three nights before beginning our safari. We were skeptical about staying in Nairobi but the hotel had been recommended to us and we thought our children should see something a bit more real before heading off to luxurious safari. The Fairview Hotel was excellent and I can't believe I ever doubted staying there. Its service was excellent. We enjoyed drinks one night in the wine cellar followed by an essentially private dinner in the nice dining room. We enjoyed a lovely lunch by the pool. We tried to swim but it was too cold! The gym was excellent and much appreciated. We did lovely day trips from there to visit the Kazuri bead factory, the elephant orphanage, and the giraffe sanctuary. The rooms were plain and simple but clean and comfortable. We felt very safe and protected within the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sunshine619536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_CLHG_Team, Public Relations Manager at Fairview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2018

Thank you for choosing a City Lodge Hotel as you spend quality and memorable time with your loved ones. We are delighted to hear your appraisal of our friendly staff and hotel facilities. We look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 3, 2018

The hotel is very accessible and has ample parking. The staff are very warm and welcoming and makes it very easy for guests to feel comfortable. They keep time on the set up and provide adequate services to facilitate business meetings. The menu served is very unique and is adequate to the number of guests attending a function. The staff are very friendly and communicate with guests very articulately.

Room Tip: Accessibility , Big rooms all en suit
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank halloevents2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_CLHG_Team, Public Relations Manager at Fairview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2018

Thank you for staying with us and for the wonderful review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and that everything met your needs and expectations. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews