We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impossible to contact, rooms alright”
Review of Parkside Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Parkside Hotel
Ranked #114 of 170 Hotels in Nairobi
Reviewed 18 December 2017 via mobile

Two of us spent nearly an hour scouring the internet for a contact number for this hotel so that we could book it but it was nowhere to be found. We had to just rock up in the end and hope there was a room.
Once we arrived we found the room to be of decent quality but nothing special. We were missing a shower curtain and there was quite a noisy pub outside the window though.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2017

i never know why i spend so much money when i go to kenya, this hotel is ok but be careful which room as its noisy. too many hustlers outside but thats normal in kenya, the restraunt is next door ,,shopping centre is near by,,

Stayed: July 2016
Thank Sorrymess H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2017

This place looked very good to start with,the room looked reasonable but the rest was disaster,first use of toilet and water ran out the back all over the bathroom floor so you had wet feet,well it was late afternoon and I was tired so I thought get on with it but after waiting half and hour for some hot water I rang down and was told they had a problem no hot water after a long drive from Mombasa that was the last thing you want so I tried to get TV to work that had problem so we asked for money back and at 9.30 had to look for another hotel.This was not a cheap hotel so I expected more and would not recommend.

Room Tip: one where everything works
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PerthJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2016 via mobile

The hotel is clean and safe, the breakfast is good (toast-eggs-beens-cereals)

It's located not far from the city center and right at the bus terminal of the Arusha shuttles.

We didn't manage to get a hold of the hotel by phone/email as they don't reserve rooms on credit so they just don't bother..

Reception is open 24/7, it's a large hotel (I'd assume at least 80 rooms) and in case they don't have a room, there are plenty of hotels around.

For us it was a very positive experience - much better than the backpacker places we arrived to on the first night. We felt safe there and when we left the city did few nights we left our luggage in the storage room - to find untouched upon our return.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank BMerav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2016

I spent a night in this hotel in September 2015. The hotel is in a quiet side of Nairobi, although a few paces down Moi Avenue there are many bars and clubs that open through the night. The rooms are rather cheap given their good quality. Although it is not a luxury hotel, I found it quite comfortable. I spent Ksh 3,500 on a standard double room, the deluxe ones go for Ksh 4,000, and are far more spacious, for a difference of Ksh 500 are definitely and infinitely better. (These prices are for Kenyans, the price would probably be varied upwards for foreigners). The rooms are very clean and well-kept.

The room did not have an in-room safe, a long staying guest might want to take that into account, although at reception they do store valuables.

Room Tip: A deluxe room is far better, for a very small difference in price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Moronge O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2015 via mobile

This is the best hotel price wise where u can sleep easy without worrying bout getting robbed in the middle of the night.. The hotel description has ALOT of false amenities.. No hairdryer, no casino, no room service, no disco n no air-conditioning (leave alone a fan).. The rooms are small but clean.. They use a restaurant next door for their meals and drinks (could be owned by the hotel).. Location is what does it for me.. It is in the prime town area.. Safe(ish) with lots n lots of restaurants n shops everywhere.. Always ask for road side facing rooms at the highest floor u can get (helps with cooling and keeps u away from disco noise on the rear alley).. Don't trust any website or dealers.. Always call the hotel directly and book ur room.. DO NOT PAY ANYTHING TILL CHECKING IN.. U'll be met by the most obnoxious receptionists ever.. But the door security guard is a jolly man..if looking to save money this is the place to go.. The way most hotels in town are, ur better off saving the money n spending it shopping rather than looking for better hotel rooms..

Stayed: December 2015, travelled on business
3  Thank Mufaddal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2015 via mobile

If you are completely first timer in Nairobi this is the kind of place to stay. I could easily access the city amenities at ease and get directions very conveniently. Nakumatt, safaricom, village market, uhuru Park etc are just the second road. Talk of a hot location this is the place. Other faults, as far as I'm concerned, are easily bearable.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled on business
1  Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
The Heron Portico
#4 of 170 in Nairobi
565 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
Purdy Arms
#1 of 4 in Karen
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 170 in Nairobi
1,207 reviews
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 170 in Nairobi
1,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkside Hotel

Address: Monrovia Street, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 170 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range: C$76 - C$107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The operators of this comfortable mid-range hotel place great importance on the well-being of their guests with the reception being open around the clock. The hotel has a total of 68 rooms (28 single rooms, 20 double rooms). The hotel is located in direct proximity to the airport (5.0 km). Your accommodation is easy to reach as it is located directly adjacent to the motorway. Safes are available at reception and in your room to hold your valuables. There's no chance of boredom in this hotel. The hotel's casino and disco will cater for your entertainment needs. You can hire a car direct from the hotel, and park it on the hotel's car park during your stay. Feel free to enjoy room service or the wake-up facility when staying at the hotel. The hotel operates a suite of business facilities. All rooms have air conditioning, and also offer other facilities such as cable TV, Internet access and a hairdryer in the bathroom. Do you want to book a non-smoking room? Are you traveling with your family and do you need a cot? We will gladly cater for your wishes - please indicate them when booking your room. The minibar in your room contains many tasty things. Forget the worries of the day as you enjoy a relaxing massage. All kinds of delicacies can be served in the hotel's restaurant (with tables outdoors) and bistro, with specialties for vegetarians and diabetics, too. The hotel bar has a large selection of drinks for your enjoyment. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Parkside Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing