We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (15)
Filter reviews
15 results
Traveller rating
1
5
4
0
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
1
5
4
0
5
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 15 reviews
Reviewed May 18, 2014

I used to stay here while in transit back in 2011 and 2012. The hotel location is ideal for those who want to walk in the city centre and do shopping without having to hire a taxi.

The place can be noisy at times given the general location so if you really want a quiet space, might not be very ideal.

The rooms were quite comfortable with good internet connection and TV reception.

The porters do a great job of helping with luggage since you walk up to the second floor.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wadzie_Musha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Overall it is Excellent, over the counter they charge US$75 for single room without breakfast but if you get rate of telephone or insist at reception then their actual room charges are Ksh. 3900 (US$ 45.88 approx.) for single without breakfast.

Its on 2nd floor of a shopping mall (Jamia Shopping Mall) and has no lift / elevator. It is in downtown, offer FREE internet, locker and Tea maker in the room. Hot water in the bath is available all the time. Rooms have balcony towards the street.

It has restaurant where you can have food of your own choice or buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner @ US 8.88.

In the next street about 250 meter away there is a good restaurant AL-YUSRA where you can find wide variety of food at reasonable price.

Room Tip: Try to get room not in front of Reception / Sitting room. Try to make booking in advance 2-3 days before.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TipuPK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I stayed at this in August of 2012. A travel agent recommended it, and I accepted as I was on a tight budget. I stayed in a standard single room here for 3 nights. The hotel is in a shopping mall, and so it is very noisy. The breakfast was horrible. For 2 days I had no hot water. The staff were friendly and warm but took ages to respond to complaints. The location is very central and so everywhere within the city centre is a walking distance. For the price it is average value

Room Tip: Rooms on the side of the big mosque are noisy, especially between 4am and 6am. Breakfast is not worth the price, and so book a bed only rate.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nwam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 29, 2012

So far I stayed two times at this hotel. What attracted me to it was the location, cleanliness and the price. Although the hotel is on top of a shopping mall it ticked all my boxes.

The rooms are modern looking and are kept clean. Each room has a mosquito net, Broadband and cable TV.

One side of hotel is opposite a mosque so if you do not wish to be awaken by morning prayers ask for a room on the other side of the building.

Food is fine, at a good price.

The only negative that I can say is that it's on a third floor and no elevators. Also it might get busy outside and some the noise may be heard in the room but it's bearable.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DaxeS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 9, 2011

The room seemed small, as the bed was large. it's true, it can be noisy, but it's in a great central location- almost next to the central market. Bathroom adequate and super clean, scrubbed top to bottom daily (i saw the cleaner working hard on it) electrics a bit unstable, room safe, hanging space, tiny balcony with interesting views. VERY comfy bed and white cotton linen. towels old and frayed. plenty of shopping opportunities in the center below, i had a great pedicure for 150 Ksh. also a good health food store, one or two souvenir shops and plenty of computer repair shops. restaurant has buffet hot food constantly replenished, as well as a al carte. prices v reasonable. wonderful fresh juices.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zooey1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
munyithya, General Manager at Jamiat Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2011

Many thanks for staying with us at the jamiat hotel and for creating time to share your valuable feedback. We have already started the process of replacing all the old linen and towels and i'm sure you will find the hotel much more better in your return visit.

My team appreciates your feedback and I am delighted that in some small way we were able take some stress out of your visit to Kenya. We all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Festus Munyithya
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews