We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (422)
Filter reviews
422 results
Traveller rating
406
16
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
406
16
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews game drives safari experience eco friendly guide wilson hot water bottles star restaurant wonderful experience dining tent sundowner drinks the managers national reserve salt lick dietary restrictions wonderful camp maasai staff knowledgeable guides the entire staff
Filter
Updating list...
96 - 101 of 422 reviews
Reviewed March 14, 2017

Encounter Mara was an amazing stay! the staff and guides where incredible and made the stay even better amongst the animals. The camp was very clean and always felt safe and at home. Ben was an amazing guide and I heard from other groups that their guides where the same! Again the staff were incredible and I recommend a stay at this camp to whoever finds themselves in Kenya!

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tessavanderwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsiliaAfrica, Manager at Encounter Mara, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2017

Hello Tessa,

Thank you for your wonderful review of your time with us, We loved having you and hope to see you again in the future!

Warmest regards,
The Encounter Mara Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 13, 2017

We loved staying at Encounter Mara. The camp is very well appointed and comfortable, and the staff friendly, helpful and efficient. Our guide Wilson was so knowledgeable with eyes of a hawk. The variety and density of wildlife was truly amazing. Where else can you have delicious breakfast with the wildebeests and sundowners with a cheetah on its kill!

Room tip: We staye in a triple room. Tents are all secluded and vey comfortable, bucket showers, quality glamping!
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tempe70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsiliaAfrica, Manager at Encounter Mara, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2017

Hello,

What a lovely review - thank you! We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us and hope to see you again soon.

Warmest regards,
The Encounter Mara Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 12, 2017

Encounter Mara has a number of qualities that make it such a wonderful safari adventure - the guide was the best I've ever had, the sundowners were breathtaking, the camp staff was awesome, the food was great, the tent as beautiful, and the morning coffee was to the second and hot. And, the camp is located in a conservancy that has spectacular wildlife. So, whether you are looking for a camp for a not-so-normal business meeting, or a time of vacation, Encounter is wonderful!

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsiliaAfrica, Manager at Encounter Mara, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2017

Hello Steve,

Thank you so much for taking the time to put together such a lovely review. We loved having you and hope to see you again in the future!

Warmest regards,
The Encounter Mara Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 4, 2017

The great thing about this very comfortable camp is the staff. The guides are all Masai and incredibly
knowledgeable and motivated. It was a real privileged to spend our days and evenings with them. At night
one or two guides join the guests around the campfire for drinks and meals. The camp employs local people
and this helps to build and maintain relationships that are mutually beneficial. It was a real privileged to
learn from each other sharing experiences from our different cultures and lives.
Although we didn’t see a single elephant (too hot & dry) we had some fantastic experiences. We watched 3
cheetahs stalk and chase a wildebeest. We witnessed the amazing burst of speed as the fastest mammals on
earth went for the kill. They missed but later that day our guide Sentura found the cheetahs again. We were
the only people there, no other jeeps, and spent about half an hour just a few feet from the cheetahs as they
feasted on a carcass; the vultures and jackals always keeping a watchful eye.
That wasn’t the only private audience. We also spent a similar amount of time with a magnificent male
leopard. After glimpses of a female suckling her cub and brief glimpses of the male during the day, we
returned to a kill the male had made earlier in the day and watched him as he tore apart a huge wildebeest
carcass. These two experiences were particularly fantastic for us because on our previous two safaris we
had only fleeting sightings of leopards and had only ever previously seen a single cheetah on a distant
horizon.

Room tip: Al the tents equally good
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 981vickif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsiliaAfrica, Manager at Encounter Mara, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2017

Hello Vicki,

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time with us.
Hopefully, we can welcome you back sometime in the future so that you can have a go at seeing the elephants! Looking forward to it.

Warmest wishes,
The Encounter Mara Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 1, 2017

Encounter Mara is amazing! We loved everything about it. The people were so friendly and helpful. The food was wonderful. The camp was nicely kept up. It was well appointed but not luxurious. It was very comfortable and clean. I highly recommend it!

The charging of phones and cameras is done in the dining tent and worked well. It is a very safe camp and we felt comfortable leaving our items there. I didn't realize we wouldn't have an electrical plug in our tent but it was ok. This means you won't be able to dry your hair with a hair dryer. But, you do have electric lighting in the tent. They have a "wifi tent" but don't count on doing much with the internet. We were very busy and the reception isn't great so just enjoy being there and post later.

We had a wonderful king size bed, double sinks, hot shower, standard toilet, a chair inside and a couch to lie on outside during the day. Other than one fly that got inside we never saw any bugs in our tent. We never saw or heard any mosquitos during the whole trip. We would leave our dirty clothes in the hamper in the morning and they would be folded on our bed when we returned from dinner.

Lunch was usually a buffet of a few salads and maybe a meat dish. Everyone sat together at one long table. Dinner was a plated meal and we ate at smaller tables under the trees and beautiful stars. We had tea and a treat at 4:00 before our evening drive. We would enjoy the sunset and our drink of choice out with the animals. Then another drink at 8:00 by the fire before dinner.

I liked how they had a small store of handmade Masaai items for us to purchase. It was nice that it was available but not pushed on us by the locals when we visited the village.

We saw all of the animals except a male lion. But, our guide, Lenkoko, really tried to find us one. We enjoyed getting to know the guides and managers of the camp. It was nice that they eat with you although I’m sure that is draining for them.

The vehicles are in good condition and comfortable. We loved leaving early enough to see the sunrise then eating the wonderful picnic breakfast out on the savannah. They provide water bottles so you don't need to pack one.

It was an awesome experience! Thank you to Jenny, Sammy, Lenkoko and Benjamin!

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mimiruthie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsiliaAfrica, Manager at Encounter Mara, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2017

Hello Ruthie,

What a lovely review - thank you for taking the time to put it together and highlighting all the aspects that you enjoyed so much. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your time with us and cannot wait to welcome you back in the future!

Warmest wishes,
The Encounter Mara Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews