We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (106)
Filter reviews
106 results
Traveller rating
99
3
2
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
99
3
2
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews natural materials beautiful beasts spend a lazy afternoon good quality bed linen bath products are sunken bath main reception area pristine beauty gowns and slippers unique place to stay low voltage boutique lodge rooms are amazing the river professional guide hear the lions roaring modern amenities
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 106 reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2018 via mobile

This was our first family trip to Africa & I am so glad my daughter chose Amani Mara Camp in Masai Mara. The property is beautiful—rooms are very spacious and comfortable and made of natural materials to capture the feel of a safari, yet with all the modern amenities for a comfortable stay. All the rooms have wonderful views—once you walk out of your room, you are overwhelmed with the amazing views in every direction. The food service was beyond amazing throughout our entire stay!

The common area was lovely with an incredible view of the Mara. It was such a privilege to hear about the story about how they built the ecosystem there and truly made a difference. We were even able to contribute by planting a tree! Hippos in the river are are numerous and fun to watch and listen to. We were able to hear and see a great deal of animals from all areas of the property. We experienced the thrill of being close to the wildlife while still feeling safe and secure at the lodge!

The family that owned and operated the lodge included Ashif, Shelina, Sahil, & Samad. They were all very friendly and accommodating. We felt like we were at our home and with our family while staying with them!

I highly recommend staying at the Amani Mara Camp. You will have the most incredible experience while in Kenya! I cannot wait for our next visit!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Harshika P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 14, 2018

we chose Amani Mara Camp as it has an amazing swimming pool view. and it turned out that they have so many other things are also beyond amazing. it was such a privilege to hear about the story about how they built the eco system there and truly made a difference. i would highly recommend to anyone who wanna enjoy not just only a bit of safaris but also a great conversation and luxury experience.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank scaindder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 13, 2018 via mobile

What a fantastic out of this world experience, brought alive by the first class owners/hosts Ashif and Shellina and the exceptional local Maasai staff. The team were flexible and catered for our every need. Providing local people with meaningful employment also was a key factor in this environmental friendly camp.

If you want an intimate, personal, authentic lodge then this is the place to stay.

We stayed here with 3 other couples and had one of the best, almost surreal experiences ever. The lodges were outstanding and although you felt very safe you were in no doubt this was the real deal.

The (right in front of you) spectacular views of hippos bathing in the river each day to the noises of lions roaring at night made for unforgettable memories.

We were extremely blessed by our timing and safari guides, what we witnessed was something you can’t put into words, from watching hundreds of wildebeest crossing the river, a crocodile snatching a Zebra from the edge of the water, 5 cheetah successfully hunting down a Gazelle, A family of Elephants, a leopard, a Pride of Lions and much more all captured on camera ensured we have tales to tell for many, many years to come.

I promise you, 100% guaranteed, look no further, we spent many months looking at all the options for a unique place to stay whilst on safari, and we found it.

Francis & Jill McGrath -

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Chuckypecks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 2, 2018

Spacious and comfortable rooms all facing the river with comfortable big beds. The hosts Shellina and Ashif together with Sahil and Samad are very friendly and accomodating. The food was so amazing. Highly recommendable.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank mercya175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ashif s, Owner at Amani Mara Camp, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2018

Dear Mercya175,
Thank you for choosing Amani Mara Camp and we hope to see you again soon.

Karibu tena from the entire Amani management and staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 14, 2018

As a group of 8 friends we really didn't know what to expect but as soon as we arrived we experienced a lovely friendly welcome from the owners and staff. Nothing was too much trouble and they were very accommodating of our liking of butter at breakfast and beer pretty much any time of the day! As we were celebrating a special birthday Shelina organised a cake complete with candles and a rousing version of Happy Birthday! All the staff made an effort to make our stay both comfortable and enjoyable.
You need to be comfortable that the animals are in close proximity, you share their space, not the other way round. We loved that but it possibly wouldn't suit everyone. The accommodation is rustic with comforts, the bed is comfortable and the shower eclectic but in keeping with the environment. The food was generally very good and plentiful but again you need to go with the flow.
Overall we were delighted to be staying with Ashif and Shelina and wish them all the best with their ongoing plans for the place. They deserve to be very successful.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Vicky K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ashif s, Owner at Amani Mara Camp, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2018

Dear Vicky,
Thank you so much for a great review and choosing Amani Mara Camp.
It is always a pleasure to make your stay as comfortable as possible, birthdays and other special occasions are always a big deal for us.
Hope to see you ans your entire group here again soon.

Karibu Tena! from the entire staff and management at Amani Mara Camp.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews