We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (374)
Filter reviews
374 results
Traveller rating
349
21
2
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
349
21
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chef david tree planting the camp manager game drives masai mara honeymoon suite plunge pool his team safari experience special thanks bush breakfast asante sana pure luxury air kenya big cats beautiful property rooms tents
Filter
Updating list...
65 - 70 of 374 reviews
Reviewed December 17, 2017

We have never written a review, however, we just had to say Wow!!, this was truly an amazing adventure. My husband and I cannot thank the staff enough for this wonderful experience and one that we would highly recommend. From arriving, the accommodation, the food, and the overall service were all superb. Our special thanks to David and his team at the resort as well as our dear friend Raffy (our driver). We have many special memories that we will treasure forever and look forward to bringing our girls back to experience this again. Thank you again!! David & Sherie

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank aprilmorais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kees H, General Manager at Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2017

Dear aprilmorais,

Its a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara stay.
We look forward to welcoming you and the girls back to the camp once again in the coming days.

Warm Regards
Kees Heuveling

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 23, 2017 via mobile

Arrived on a air strip in the middle of no where and was not disappointed on our mini game drive to the camp site. Our guide Dominic was with us from the moment we landed to the moment we departed which was a great touch. The food was amazing with several options for each meal. When out on game drives, everything was done to make sure we had a unique experience and saw as much as possible. Family friendly with space to relax ( pool, bar and lounges in the main house). The tents were well appointed and spacious. You even felt safe while hearing the animals roam at night. My only sad face is that they were out of a few of the higher end wines/champagne that were on the menu.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank EinDC65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kees H, General Manager at Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2017

Dear EinDC65,

Many thanks for sharing your feedback on your recent stay at Olare Mara Kempinski.
It's a pleasure to read that you had a good stay with us and enjoyed the comforts of your room, the game drives, food and facilities.
I have taken note of your message on some of the wines and champagne and will definitely look into this with our Camp Manager, Fairman.

The team and I look forward to hosting you once again in the coming days for another magical Mara stay.

Warm Regards
Kees Heuveling

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 21, 2017

There are many hotels I have stayed at in the Mara but this one definitely takes the number one spot! The tents are amazing, very well designed and the best I have been in.
The food is excellent! The chef catered for all our needs and requests and the food was literally finger licking good!!!

Location is to die for! The entire camp is unfenced and the thrill of walking to the lounge from the room is second to none! Literally IN THE WILD!

The manager Fairman took very good care of us and we really appreciate his hospitality. All our needs and requests were taken care of without any hesitation.

The best out there!

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Manni S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kees H, General Manager at Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2017

Dear Manni S,

Many thanks for sharing with us that you enjoyed your Olare Mara Kempinski experience.
I am very pleased to read that you consider the camp to be the best in the Mara.
I will definitely let our team of Chefs in the Kitchen know that you thoroughly enjoyed the food, i will also pass on your kind words regarding service to Fairman and his team.

We look forward to hosting you for yet another magical Mara experience.

Warm Regards
Kees Heuveling

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 13, 2017

Wow. What an experience. This is actually more of a thank you note than a review since the place is pretty much faultless.

Absolutely breathtaking luxury camp. The rooms are spacious and tastefully furnished. You forget you're in the wilderness once you're in save for the views. There's no WiFi in the rooms though.

Very genuine and intuitive service that makes you feel excessively pampered. To the staff: chef Too who was particularly considerate of our dietary needs, Philip our incredibly patient tour guide, Fairman the camp manager and Danson who gave us our first briefing - thank you. Julius, the birthday surprise was much appreciated. Thank you for also appearing magically whenever we needed you during mealtimes.

Can't wait to be back.

Room tip: Rooms closer to the reception may feel safer, particularly at night due to the shorter distance you walk.
Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kees H, General Manager at Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2017

Dear Philip N,

Many thanks for sharing your feedback on your recent safari with us.

We are delighted to read that you are already planning your return trip, we look forward to hosting you once again in the coming days.

In case we can support in any way with the planning process you can contact Fairman, our camp manager directly on fairman.muhingi@kempinski.com

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards
Kees Heuveling

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 12, 2017

We just came back from this beautiful place and non stop dreaming to get back. Our tent actually was not a tent, but nice house with big terrace and amazing view to nature. The life in the tent was very comfortable and sleeping quality as well, despite surrounded sounds of wild animals.
Our guide and driver was Philippe. He was one of most professional person, who we have met in our life. Each drive with him was absolutely different with new emotions each time. A picnic in savanna was just memorable.
The food was very good in camp generally. All staff attentive, helpful and very friendly.
It was third safari and third camp experience in our life. (previous were placed in Kruger park and Sri Lanka). Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara is absolutely best and worth to visit for all wild nature and luxury services lovers!

Room tip: All tents are less more the same, except Honey moon tent. That one has a small private pool.
Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JolantaVilnius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kees H, General Manager at Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2017

Dear JolantaVilnius,

Many thanks for sharing your feedback on your recent stay at Olare Mara Kempinski.
I am very pleased to read that you had a fantastic stay at the camp and enjoyed the comforts of your spacious tent in the midst of the Mara, the game drives with Philip, food, service and the overall experience.
I am also delighted to read that this experience was the best safari you have witnessed to date.

The team and I look forward to hosting you at Olare Mara Kempinski once again in the coming days.

Warm Regards
Kees Heuveling

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews