We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 September 2012

This lodge does not disappoint (except perhaps the nights they do a fixed menu rather than the buffet, but that's a personal choice matter). The food was excellent otherwise and we really enjoyed the option of having our omelettes custom made each morning (even at the breakfast on the savannah following the hot air balloon ride).

Rooms are comfortable, turn-down service includes dealing with the mosquito netting. It was a shame there was no screen on the door which would have allowed us to keep the door open through the night, but that's a minor thing. One thing, the electricity is apparently turned off to the rooms at periods during the day and late at night so be prepared for that.

I actually saw and photographed a great deal of the smaller wildlife whilst sitting on the patio overlooking the plains (birds mostly, but also the agama lizard and hyrax). We had 3 nights there and would most definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IdahoSwede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (997)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

640 - 646 of 997 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2012

Incredible food, wonderful staff, gorgeous views, and outstanding service are the first things that come to mind when reminiscing about my trip to the Mara Serena. I highly recommend this boutique chain. All of my friends on my photography tour with Aperture Academy adored the hotel. Thank you, Oddysey Safaris, for choosing such an incredibly unique lodge!

Room Tip: I had room #15....all of those around it have beautiful views as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank creichmuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

Booked two nights while visiting Nairobi. First of all expect a very early pick-up from your hotel!
Had been told journey takes around 5 hours but look nearly 9 hours....
The combi-bus or land rover will have pretty good road half the way then there's a surprise in store! We were lukier than most as earlier in week road blocked protest as to its state and after been blocked again by protestors angry lady killed by elephant near Naro.
Journey 320km from nairobi- last half is an experience where kids and elders may have to hang on for dear life! Ladies/kids will be disappointed toilet stops... take own roll and hand sanitizer which i did, luckily we stopped giraffe curio shop which was better than most and purchased gifts there as nice people ans stop was middle of no-where!
Most of time driver OFF the road on private land when sometimes blocked or bribed landowner let us through!
Once entered park saw hippo's mari bridge before enter last 45km to hotel - got best view elephants here on the road!
Hotel hidden away what looks like hill - what a view from the back with pool / rooms looking over vast rift valley and far river where can see elephants.
Rooms are like pods in semi-circle, there are alot of steps to our lower room so if not so mobile ask room closer to pool. NO a/c but not problem for me in early august. Pool itself wasn't used at bit cold in august. Nice room and they draw mosquito nets / plug while dinner but still expect to be bitten. Was lent a candle by family nairobi as switch electric generator off midnight but think change of policy?
The highlight besides seeing the animals of course was the food!
Terrific choice of foods for all tastes with vast choice including desserts! One lunch had a chicken curry which was as good as anything tasted. Alot of veggie dishes including good choice of indian - the head chef always on hand to ask if happy. Drinks reasonable and coffee outside taking in night air.
If lucky will catch sight of big 5 but we were not too disappointed missed some. On the savanna
nice to see little sign of man made interference and at times felt like only ones there and not over-run with tourists. Yes more animals in larger tanzania side but happy as planned visit with annual migration of wildebeast which we saw in vast numbers including the sight of them crossing the mari river which is regarded as the sixth wonder of the world - just happy no choc there at the time as they tend to kill more than they can eat.
The visit finished quickly, wish had more time to sit at the hotel and chill but the journey back was again another experience - i will NEVER moan again about pot-holes on London roads.....

Room Tip: Be prepared for journey and end experience of a lifetime unless you fly in... Also many steps so ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jitukot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

I stayed in 4 different places during my May/June visit to Kenya. They were all good in their way, but Mara Serena is the place I'd return to. I was much taken with my large, beautifully decorated room overlooking the plains. The bed was comfortable, and there was a turn-down service every evening drawing the mosquito curtain around the bed. Not that I met a single mosquito during my stay, but maybe I was just lucky. Of course there was no TV, and neither did the room have tea & coffee making facilities, but there was a coffee station in the main building where you could help yourself to tea and coffee until lights out. Also, there were 2 large bottles of mineral water in the room, so you wouldn't go thirsty. The bathroom was smallish, but contained everything I needed, and the water was always hot. Breakfast, lunch and dinner were included in my hard-to-beat rate of $120/night, and the food was exceptional, with service to match. Staff were mostly Maasai, and they were good-natured and always ready to smile. It made for a very relaxed and "happy" atmosphere. I had booked a 4-night stay but no game drives. I organised these and other excursions while at the hotel. This allowed me time for leisure you do not always have if you book a package deal. And you will want some leisure just to sun yourself by the inviting albeit cool pool or indulge in an expertly given massage. The game drives were excellent and well worth the money, you really had the feeling that the guide's heart was in his job and he was eager to deliver the experience for which visitors come to the Mara. I would not necessarily recommend the offered tour to a Maasai village, as this involves hard-selling of local craft which you can buy cheaper elsewhere. Breakfast with the Hippoes was not exactly my cup of tea, either, at least not for what I paid. On the other hand, you could book a one-hour Maasai culture talk and dance for a mere $10. I was the only taker on the day and had the performers all to myself. It's an experience not to be missed, unless, maybe, you've had a similar experience before. If you wanted to connect with the world, internet access is available, although it's a bit pricey, but that's understandable. On the other hand, $40 each way for the the 5-minute transfer from/to the airstrip is close to extortion. When booking accommodation only you need to remember that you'll have to pay a daily park entrance fee of around $70 which will be collected in cash on your arrival at the airstrip. So if you add up all the individual expenses, and not forget the expected and deserved tips for everyone, a stay at Mara Serena, does not come cheap. But it is worth every penny you spend.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lutzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

It was such an amazing experience to stay in Mara Serena. The location is absolute wonderful. The lodges are beautiful with African decor, comfortable beds,balcony open to endless savannahs. The food is so varied, you get Indian Chinese and continental. Staff is very friendly. They arranged a night safari which was very interesting , a must do activity. Also, their hot air balloon rides are amazing followed by champagne bush breakfast, pilots are warm ,they take good care and help you spot animals while on ride, so highly recommended. In the evening , they have live music in the dining area and also set up camp fire.Also, as the lodge is located within trans mara conservancy which cater to a good concentration of animals, its doubles your chances to spot all kind of animals during your game drives. Also, people aiming for migration, this lodge is apt for stay as mara river point where maximum crossings takes place is just few minutes drive from the lodge. Overall we had an amazing experience and would definitely look forward to return!!!

Room Tip: If you have no problem in walking, try taking the rooms towards the end i.e. 70-75, they have awsom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trvallr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We arrived at the Mara Serena after a 2 hour flight from Mombasa in a small 18 seater aeroplane. Upon landing, we were met by the Mara serena guide who urshered in the waiting 4x4 safari jeep. We drove for a few minutes to the lodges and we were welcomed with some warm towels and a glass of very freshly made juice. The Mara Serena is really the best one. Very well located in the strategic "mara triangle", the lodge is so confortable. Excellent cuisine. Staff friendly and very professional.

With Mara river being a few meters away, we were treated with a samptuous breaksfast at the mara river bank, with crocodiles watching, and hippos yawning was simply perfect, a great adventure in the midst of the rather undiscribable serenity.

The game drives were long and our guide didn't seem bothered to check the clock, taking us to every vantage point to see different animals. The highlight of the game drives being a mating lion and the river crossing which we were very lucky to witness.

From the meals, the very clean rooms, the friendly and polite staff, the great swimming pool and the great location of this lodge, this is the perfect place to experience the real beauty of the Maasai mara.

This is a truelly a 5 star lodge in the middle of nowhere.

Our three day safari was arranged online through Plan Safari Ltd (www.plansafari.com). Their services are just next to none and can highly recomend them. Peter and Agnes are the main guys in Mombasa and they will help you sort out your safari with a lot of ease.

Given the opportunity, I will be back at the Mara Serena and for a longer stay.

K. Watson

Room Tip: beware of Loads of monkeys all over the place...didn't feel bothered though
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KinoW92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

The drive is excruciating! Getting through the Masaii lands on the washboard road is so painful. I was glad we were staying 3 nights - time enough for sore muscles to heal.
Our rooms were very comfortable - a toilet overflow was quickly mended. Kudos to the staff.
Food here was plentiful, but average...could do with some improvement.
The park itself is amazing...worth the effort to get here.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank carolinanorte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
37 km away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 9 in Masai Mara National Reserve
1,105 reviews
25.8 km away
Mara Leisure Camp
Mara Leisure Camp
#7 of 9 in Masai Mara National Reserve
254 reviews
19.8 km away
Mara Siria Camp
Mara Siria Camp
#5 of 9 in Masai Mara National Reserve
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.5 km away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 9 in Masai Mara National Reserve
1,102 reviews
7 km away
Ashnil Mara Camp
Ashnil Mara Camp
#25 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
707 reviews
9.4 km away
Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp
Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Cam...
#15 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mara Serena Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Serena Safari Lodge

Address: C14, Keekorok, Masai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 146 Speciality Lodging in Masai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: $328 - $900 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mara Serena Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mara Serena Safari Lodge, set on a saddle of a hill, overlooks the 1,800 square km of rolling plains at an altitude of 1625 meters at the Masai Mara Triangle, one of the world's richest wildlife sanctuaries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mara Serena Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mara Serena Safari Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Mara Serena Safari Lodge Kenya/Masai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing