We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,107)
Filter reviews
1,107 results
Traveller rating
738
294
55
13
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
738
294
55
13
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hippo breakfast game drives rooms are small hippo pool the river hill overlooking rock hyrax hill top small hill the reserve sitting area reception area champagne breakfast gift shop lunch and dinner mosquito netting migration season
Filter
Updating list...
222 - 227 of 1,107 reviews
Reviewed December 26, 2016

Had a wonderful time! Again everyone was so nice and helpful. Nice bar area and loved the evening talks from the Maasai. Loved going to the lookout points to see if there was any wildlife to be seen! Food was good. Something for everyone! We also had a bush breakfast set up by our tour company! It was breathtaking and something we will never forget. . .eating breakfast in the company of zebras!

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kelsey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerenaHotels, General Manager at Mara Serena Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2016

Dear Dbeers
Thank you for your lovely reveiw . We are are delighted to note that you loved your stay.
Yes the Hippo pool breakfast is one of the special highlights that can be arranged during your stay withus to make the experience even more memorable.

We hope you find time to visit us once again in the near future.

Your sincerely
Alphaxad Chege

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 21, 2016 via mobile

It requires a lot of willpower to write a relatively short but informative review and avoid lengthy descriptions of the trip.
I am trying ... but nevertheless I find my reviews too long.

We drive through Oloololo Gate and at noon we are at Mara Serena Lodge in a cottage with twin beds. When we ask to push them together we are offered a different one, No 37 with one king size bed. So the bed is all right now yet the room is hardly big enough for two people to move around at the same time.

The bathroom also seems designed for one person only and in all taps there is only hot water. Unusual... The luxury of taking the shower before lunch requires some thinking...
Lunch is a buffet with a variety of food, and good food it is with a selection of deserts.

Uncanny how the afternoon game drive goes along the same way. Something like: what animal would you like to see now and pronto, here it is, hakuna matata. At 5pm the thermometer says 36,2C. This should answer any question about proper clothes which you should pack. At 7:30 we are back and go to dinner. It is a set menu but with a nice selection. It is hot and stuffy, there are some lightnings and thunders but no rain.

Next morning there is a very dense fog. Our breakfast is good and coffee very good. Then the morning game drive and animals to watch. Right after 1 o'clock we return, take a shower and go to enjoy a good buffet lunch with lots of cakes, fruit and nuts to follow. Next an interesting, but shorter than usual, game drive because it starts raining. At 7:30 we have dinner - meat only from the barbecue, not very good, but there are lots of other things to choose from. We are entertained by the Maasai dancing.

Generally speaking the restaurant is very noisy, big and noisy. The mornings are also noisy, before our alarm clock set at 6:30 rings, we are woken up by flushing the toilets and a shower next door, though we are in the last cabin: the two rows of cabins are placed definitely too close. Well, rise and shine. Hakuna matata.

Date of stay: February 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Ala Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerenaHotels, General Manager at Mara Serena Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2016

Dear Alazaw

Thank you so much for your review. We do appreciate your candid feedback which helps us improve our product and ensure better stays for our guests.

The design of the lodge borrow from the Masai village architecture and that could be reason why the rooms are a bit close together.

We are glad you loved the food and will ensure we have barbeque vegetarian options.

Once again thanks for your feedback and we look forward to hosting you again in future.

Regards
Alphaxad Chege

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 20, 2016

We (family of three) had a terrific two night stay here. The position of the lodge, high above the plains, is spectacular and the buildings make the most of this. A big highlight was the staff who were, to a man and woman, friendly, efficient and warm. This went for the chap in the gym, to the servers in the restaurant (who all remembered our son's name, and made him feel very special) to the assistant manager who would pop by every evening to ask us how things were going. Overall, a model of customer service and comfort.

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank navraggio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerenaHotels, General Manager at Mara Serena Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2016

Dear Navraggio
Thank you so much for this wonderful review. I am glad that the team went out of their way to make you and your family feel at home and special.

We will pass a word of appreciation to the team members mentioned above who were exemplary.

Wishing you happy holidays.

Yours sincerely
Alphaxad Chege

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 17, 2016

I stayed at the Mara Serena for 3 nights at the end of November. It was great. Warm, friendly staff and yummy food combined with awesome animal sightings. Highlight was the mama lion and her 6 week old cubs less than 10 minutes from the lodge. I do recommend you fly in and avoid the 8 hour drive on one of the worst roads in Kenya ;)

Room tip: Lower numbered rooms have a great view of the plains.
Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndraMarieM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerenaHotels, General Manager at Mara Serena Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2016

Dear Andra
Thank you for the review. We are pleased to note that you lovely our friendly staff and the great food. Yes one has an option of flying down to the Mara. The good news is the road is soon being done so the drive down will be much easier next time.

Wishing you happy holidays.

Regards
Alphaxad Chege

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 17, 2016 via mobile

This place was amazing. The view from the loony was breathtaking and every room had the same amazing view! The hotel staff was excellent, from the reception to the housecleaning. And the safari drives were amazing. We saw so many elephants, zebras and lions during our 3 day stay here than we saw in 5 days anywhere else! The pool was very nice, and had a great view. The nightly bon fire was also a very nice touch. There was a guitarist playing all the classic hits at night during dinner which my mother in law loved. And if you fly out from the lodge, the air strip is only 2km away, a 5 min drive.

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank btaylor315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerenaHotels, General Manager at Mara Serena Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2016

Dear Brandon
It gives us much pleasure to read of your wonderful experience at our lodge during your recent stay. Thank you for taking time to post your review.

We wish you happy holidays and a prosperous 2017

Yours sincerely
Alphaxad Chege

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews