We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvelous Mara Serena”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 September 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Mara for 3 days to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary . We could not have been more pleased. Everything was first class and the location of the hotel overlooking the Mara can't be beat. Our wildlife photos were spectacular. We saw Impala, baboons, Cape Buffalo, elephants and a lioness from the window of our room. We were fortunate to stay during the migration and there were hundreds of thousands of wildebeest just a short game drive away. The food at the Mara was the best we had at any lodge or tent camp during our 9 day trekking tour which involved stays at 4 preserves in Kenya and Tanzania. The all you can eat breakfast/lunch/dinner buffets are included in the room price and offer many choices for all tastes including vegans. Internet service has a cost of $3 for every 15 minutes so you can at least send an e-mail to family. There is no TV in the rooms but then again why would you want one at this wilderness resort. You are charged seperately for any beverage (except juice at breakfast) including bottled water so plan accordingly. The rooms were thoroughly cleaned every day and laundry prices were reasonable. This is a 36 year old resort done in the local Manyatta style of the Masai . The rooms and bathroom have all been recently renovated. Mosquito nets are included around the beds for those worried about it. We would deffinitely go back to the Mara and stay at the Serena. The service is world class.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamusaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (975)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

778 - 784 of 975 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2009

Brilliant facilities set in the centre of the Masai Mara National Park....there simply aren't enough words to describe how good it was

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StewWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2009

My wife and I travelled to kenya in late August and one of the three game parks we visited was Mara and stayed at the Serena Lodge. We found the lodge to be extremely comfortable with breathtaking views over looking the valley.
Plenty of food and choice similar to other Serena lodges but I must say this one probably ranked last compared to the other two.
Lodge staff were friendly and helpful.
Our guide, was friendly and knowledgeable and did everything he could to make sure we had an amazing time.
We were able to witness plenty of beautiful and amazing wildlife including the wildebeest crossing, lions feasting, driving right next to a lion, Rhinos mating and much more. Fantastic way to finish our Kenya Safari tour.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PedSolz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2009

The Lodge has the most wonderful views, comfortable and well appointed rooms, a beautiful pool and a great food. Service is impeccable. The bar area is a little cramped and the restaurant a bit crowded and noisy, but being in one of those noisy parties we didn't mind that!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ourlastsummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2009

We reserved two rooms 5 months in advance. When we arrived, we were told they were overbooked. They put us in very bad, substandard rooms--rooms not even listed in their comprehensive hotel brochure. One was under the pool, dark, cramped, no view. The other room was so small the single bed was against one wall with only 12 inches between it and the other wall. It was difficult to get into the bed unless I crawled in from the bottom. They refused to give us any refund and only provided each with a complimentary bottle of wine. Being in the middle of the Masai Mara, we had no other choice of where to go. It was a very bad experience. The second night, we were transferred to regular rooms which were spacious, comfortable, and lovely as described in the other reviews. The food was excellent. The staff were courteous and always remembered our names. The safari driver was marvelous. The pilot of the hot air balloon was great and gave us a partial refund when the wind blew the balloon so fast he had to land before crossing into Tanzania. I would have rated this hotel superb if we hadn't been denied the rooms we had paid for. Hotels of this caliber should not overbook or should find a way to compensate their guests for being forced into substandard accommodations.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ptarmiganrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2009

Stayed for 3 nights - excellent views from every room - saw wildebeast, zebra, impala, elephants etc. all from room balcony. Pleasant staff - spotlessly clean rooms. Lovely food with plenty of choice for everyone. Would recommend balloon safari - breakfast out on savannah was amazing. Bumpy ride from Nairobi but as we saw the "real Kenya" on route we felt it was worth it.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PAULENEHighPeakUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2009

Stayed 4 nights at the end of August and had a fabulous time. Views are wonderful, over looking the Mara river and plains where we could see hundreds of Wildebeest.

Rooms were really lovely, each with views and some of which have animals close by grazing.

The pool was lovely (but cold!) and a wonderful place to relax in between game drives.

Food was very good and staff very friendly. In the evening Michael played his guitar and sang beautifully whilst we sipped drinks around the fire pit.

Game drives were very good and we covered a vast area. We were very lucky and saw the big 5, all of which had their babies except for the Leopard. The cheetah cubs were gorgeous. There were thousands of wildebeest and we saw 4 crossings, one of which was very big and utter chaos - magnificent to watch. We also saw a cheetah kill a gazelle and numerous lion eating wildebeest carcass. We paid extra to do a night drive which was good, although a little disappointing not to see a lion kill as other people had done the previous night.

Really fantastic lodge, would highly recommend it and can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fellows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
37 km away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
1,087 reviews
25.8 km away
Mara Leisure Camp
Mara Leisure Camp
#7 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
245 reviews
35.5 km away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 km away
Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp
Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Cam...
#16 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
865 reviews
39.3 km away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#1 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
570 reviews
7 km away
Ashnil Mara Camp
Ashnil Mara Camp
#27 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mara Serena Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Serena Safari Lodge

Address: C14, Keekorok, Masai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 146 Speciality Lodging in Masai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: $374 - $981 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mara Serena Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mara Serena Safari Lodge, set on a saddle of a hill, overlooks the 1,800 square km of rolling plains at an altitude of 1625 meters at the Masai Mara Triangle, one of the world's richest wildlife sanctuaries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mara Serena Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mara Serena Safari Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Mara Serena Safari Lodge Kenya/Masai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing