We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,071)
Filter reviews
1,071 results
Traveller rating
716
283
53
12
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
716
283
53
12
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshippo breakfastgame drivesrooms are smallthe riverhippo poolrock hyraxhill tophill overlookingsmall hillthe reservesitting areareception areachampagne breakfastlunch and dinnermigration seasonmosquito netcape buffalo
Filter
Updating list...
862 - 867 of 1,071 reviews
Reviewed September 28, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Mara for 3 days to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary . We could not have been more pleased. Everything was first class and the location of the hotel overlooking the Mara can't be beat. Our wildlife photos were spectacular. We saw Impala, baboons, Cape Buffalo, elephants and a lioness from the window of our room. We were fortunate to stay during the migration and there were hundreds of thousands of wildebeest just a short game drive away. The food at the Mara was the best we had at any lodge or tent camp during our 9 day trekking tour which involved stays at 4 preserves in Kenya and Tanzania. The all you can eat breakfast/lunch/dinner buffets are included in the room price and offer many choices for all tastes including vegans. Internet service has a cost of $3 for every 15 minutes so you can at least send an e-mail to family. There is no TV in the rooms but then again why would you want one at this wilderness resort. You are charged seperately for any beverage (except juice at breakfast) including bottled water so plan accordingly. The rooms were thoroughly cleaned every day and laundry prices were reasonable. This is a 36 year old resort done in the local Manyatta style of the Masai . The rooms and bathroom have all been recently renovated. Mosquito nets are included around the beds for those worried about it. We would deffinitely go back to the Mara and stay at the Serena. The service is world class.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamusaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 28, 2009

Brilliant facilities set in the centre of the Masai Mara National Park....there simply aren't enough words to describe how good it was

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StewWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 26, 2009

My wife and I travelled to kenya in late August and one of the three game parks we visited was Mara and stayed at the Serena Lodge. We found the lodge to be extremely comfortable with breathtaking views over looking the valley.
Plenty of food and choice similar to other Serena lodges but I must say this one probably ranked last compared to the other two.
Lodge staff were friendly and helpful.
Our guide, was friendly and knowledgeable and did everything he could to make sure we had an amazing time.
We were able to witness plenty of beautiful and amazing wildlife including the wildebeest crossing, lions feasting, driving right next to a lion, Rhinos mating and much more. Fantastic way to finish our Kenya Safari tour.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PedSolz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 23, 2009

The Lodge has the most wonderful views, comfortable and well appointed rooms, a beautiful pool and a great food. Service is impeccable. The bar area is a little cramped and the restaurant a bit crowded and noisy, but being in one of those noisy parties we didn't mind that!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ourlastsummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 21, 2009

We reserved two rooms 5 months in advance. When we arrived, we were told they were overbooked. They put us in very bad, substandard rooms--rooms not even listed in their comprehensive hotel brochure. One was under the pool, dark, cramped, no view. The other room was so small the single bed was against one wall with only 12 inches between it and the other wall. It was difficult to get into the bed unless I crawled in from the bottom. They refused to give us any refund and only provided each with a complimentary bottle of wine. Being in the middle of the Masai Mara, we had no other choice of where to go. It was a very bad experience. The second night, we were transferred to regular rooms which were spacious, comfortable, and lovely as described in the other reviews. The food was excellent. The staff were courteous and always remembered our names. The safari driver was marvelous. The pilot of the hot air balloon was great and gave us a partial refund when the wind blew the balloon so fast he had to land before crossing into Tanzania. I would have rated this hotel superb if we hadn't been denied the rooms we had paid for. Hotels of this caliber should not overbook or should find a way to compensate their guests for being forced into substandard accommodations.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ptarmiganrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews