We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place, Excellent Staff and Wonderful Food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 November 2010

The best Hotel we stayed while on a 13 day trip to Africa. The food was just great, the staff were excellent and it has a great view of the area. If you go to the Masa Mara Game Reserve in Kenya, I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1611gtk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (997)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

756 - 762 of 997 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2010

We stayed at the Serena for the second time and this time we loved even more. The location is just amazing and the best of the Mara. The other lodges are either outside the gate or on a complete different part of the Mara. If you want to see the migration in it’s full swing this is the place to be. There is not a better option. In less than 10 minutes you can be at 4 crossing points, it is just great. We saw lot’s of crossing, every day we saw at least one and at some day’s four. You need time, luck and patience and then you will see the most incredible wildlife experience ever. It really is a world wonder that you see just meters away.

The lodges is nice as well. The rooms are clean, nice beds and showers. The staff is amazing and they will go out of their way to make your stay perfect. The food is good and the location of the restaurant is amazing. Bernard the cook and pasta chef became a real friend during our trip. The best pasta you can get in Africa.
If you like to relax you can enjoy the swimming pool, but hey who wants to lay at the pool when you can see all sorts of animals just right in front of the lodge. We don’t so if you love wildlife this is the place to be, also when there is no migration going on. There are Agama lizards, birds, hyraxes and mongoose in front of your room.
We would definitely come again and recommend this place to everyone.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chantalremi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2010

Used the Mara serena hotel as basis for game viewing as it's located inthe Mara triangle, probably the best place for game viewing.

Amazing views and really cool private lodges.

Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank onholiday9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2010

This hotel offered the best views over the entire safari week. It sits on a hill overlooking the masai mara. You wake up in the morning and admire the beautiful sunrise whilst elephants and giraffes pass in front of your eyes! The setting is such that you do not see other rooms from your window, but overlook the mara. The pool looks fab although we did not have a chance to use it. The staff were wonderful and the buffet food offered plenty of choice and good quality. The decor is quirky and nice. we were lucky enough to stay on a tuesday night when the local Masai come to sing and dance. The hotel pays their community for the pleasure of their singing rituals. One of the most moving and interesting performances I have witnessed. The Leader of the group spoke to us after and he proved to be a knowledgeable, humble and interesting person. A great experience! They only perform on a tuesday and saturday night during dinner, so we were honoured this coincided with our stay!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaitriKaruna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2010

I loved this place! It was our 4th and final lodge of the safari and what a way to end it. Firstly the rooms were great, the decoration was great and masai orientated, good bathroom, huge comfortable bed, and a nice view out over the Mara. The rooms look great from the outside and it all adds to the experience! The restaurant and drinks area are again decorated in a really funky but authentic way, and I really enjoyed just sitting there and looking around at it all. Food was very good, good variety (including bbq food in addition to normal buffet on one of the nights we were there), good quality, good service (still nowhere compares to the Simba lodge for service but this place was very busy). Great atmosphere with a guy playing guitar and singing in the bar till late. Balloon ride was fantastic – book before you go on holiday as I have seen reviews of people disappointed it was fully booked when they arrived. Balloon ride was beautiful, peaceful, tranquil and fun and JP the pilot is a lot of fun and puts you at ease if you are scared of heights. All in all a brilliant stay! Would definitely definitely go back.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elliekimber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2010

A fantastic spot in in the Mara Triangle, close to the Mara River and the Migration. The rooms were small but very comfortable. The food was excellent and drink prices were reasonable.
We got a fly in package through the Hotel, so used Serena staff for the Safari and the vehicle was excellent and able to get a really good view of the animals. Our driver tried hard to find all the animals for us.
Great views from the bedrooms overlooking the plains and even spotted a Warthog and Buffalo come up for a drink at the Waterhole near our rooms.
The Lodge is so close to to Mara River, Airstrip and the animals were so close by. We had a Champagne breakfast by the Mara River which was lovely watching the Hippos play.
Staff were helpful and they had a good gift shop full of reasobably priced trinkets etc.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holidaytime40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2010

spent last 2 nights of our safari at this lodge - great game viewing, location, lodge, rooms. Disappointed only that balloon flights had been overbooked and this lodge only uses one balloon company so 14 people were disappointed on same day! Would stay again as 1.5 days was not long enough to enjoy the great game viewing in this area.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VHMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
37 km away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 9 in Masai Mara National Reserve
1,105 reviews
25.8 km away
Mara Leisure Camp
Mara Leisure Camp
#7 of 9 in Masai Mara National Reserve
254 reviews
19.8 km away
Mara Siria Camp
Mara Siria Camp
#5 of 9 in Masai Mara National Reserve
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.5 km away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 9 in Masai Mara National Reserve
1,102 reviews
7 km away
Ashnil Mara Camp
Ashnil Mara Camp
#25 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
707 reviews
9.4 km away
Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp
Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Cam...
#15 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mara Serena Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Serena Safari Lodge

Address: C14, Keekorok, Masai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 146 Speciality Lodging in Masai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: $329 - $901 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mara Serena Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mara Serena Safari Lodge, set on a saddle of a hill, overlooks the 1,800 square km of rolling plains at an altitude of 1625 meters at the Masai Mara Triangle, one of the world's richest wildlife sanctuaries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mara Serena Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mara Serena Safari Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Mara Serena Safari Lodge Kenya/Masai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing