We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Olarro(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$1,161
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Little Governors' Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$1,017
US$970
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Mara Leisure Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
US$325
US$296
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Fairmont Mara Safari Club(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$664
US$485
Fairmont.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mara River Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
US$393
US$363
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels(Masai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
US$389
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Governor's Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$948
US$867
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Entumoto Safari Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$810
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$2,119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ashnil Mara Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,059)
Filter reviews
1,059 results
Traveller rating
708
281
52
12
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
708
281
52
12
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshippo breakfastgame drivesrooms are smallthe riverhippo poolrock hyraxhill tophill overlookingsmall hillthe reservesitting areareception areachampagne breakfastlunch and dinnermigration seasongift shopmosquito net
Filter
Updating list...
811 - 816 of 1,059 reviews
Reviewed October 24, 2010

We stayed at the Serena for the second time and this time we loved even more. The location is just amazing and the best of the Mara. The other lodges are either outside the gate or on a complete different part of the Mara. If you want to see the migration in it’s full swing this is the place to be. There is not a better option. In less than 10 minutes you can be at 4 crossing points, it is just great. We saw lot’s of crossing, every day we saw at least one and at some day’s four. You need time, luck and patience and then you will see the most incredible wildlife experience ever. It really is a world wonder that you see just meters away.

The lodges is nice as well. The rooms are clean, nice beds and showers. The staff is amazing and they will go out of their way to make your stay perfect. The food is good and the location of the restaurant is amazing. Bernard the cook and pasta chef became a real friend during our trip. The best pasta you can get in Africa.
If you like to relax you can enjoy the swimming pool, but hey who wants to lay at the pool when you can see all sorts of animals just right in front of the lodge. We don’t so if you love wildlife this is the place to be, also when there is no migration going on. There are Agama lizards, birds, hyraxes and mongoose in front of your room.
We would definitely come again and recommend this place to everyone.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chantalremi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 23, 2010

Used the Mara serena hotel as basis for game viewing as it's located inthe Mara triangle, probably the best place for game viewing.

Amazing views and really cool private lodges.

Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank onholiday9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 15, 2010

This hotel offered the best views over the entire safari week. It sits on a hill overlooking the masai mara. You wake up in the morning and admire the beautiful sunrise whilst elephants and giraffes pass in front of your eyes! The setting is such that you do not see other rooms from your window, but overlook the mara. The pool looks fab although we did not have a chance to use it. The staff were wonderful and the buffet food offered plenty of choice and good quality. The decor is quirky and nice. we were lucky enough to stay on a tuesday night when the local Masai come to sing and dance. The hotel pays their community for the pleasure of their singing rituals. One of the most moving and interesting performances I have witnessed. The Leader of the group spoke to us after and he proved to be a knowledgeable, humble and interesting person. A great experience! They only perform on a tuesday and saturday night during dinner, so we were honoured this coincided with our stay!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaitriKaruna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 14, 2010

I loved this place! It was our 4th and final lodge of the safari and what a way to end it. Firstly the rooms were great, the decoration was great and masai orientated, good bathroom, huge comfortable bed, and a nice view out over the Mara. The rooms look great from the outside and it all adds to the experience! The restaurant and drinks area are again decorated in a really funky but authentic way, and I really enjoyed just sitting there and looking around at it all. Food was very good, good variety (including bbq food in addition to normal buffet on one of the nights we were there), good quality, good service (still nowhere compares to the Simba lodge for service but this place was very busy). Great atmosphere with a guy playing guitar and singing in the bar till late. Balloon ride was fantastic – book before you go on holiday as I have seen reviews of people disappointed it was fully booked when they arrived. Balloon ride was beautiful, peaceful, tranquil and fun and JP the pilot is a lot of fun and puts you at ease if you are scared of heights. All in all a brilliant stay! Would definitely definitely go back.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elliekimber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 3, 2010

A fantastic spot in in the Mara Triangle, close to the Mara River and the Migration. The rooms were small but very comfortable. The food was excellent and drink prices were reasonable.
We got a fly in package through the Hotel, so used Serena staff for the Safari and the vehicle was excellent and able to get a really good view of the animals. Our driver tried hard to find all the animals for us.
Great views from the bedrooms overlooking the plains and even spotted a Warthog and Buffalo come up for a drink at the Waterhole near our rooms.
The Lodge is so close to to Mara River, Airstrip and the animals were so close by. We had a Champagne breakfast by the Mara River which was lovely watching the Hippos play.
Staff were helpful and they had a good gift shop full of reasobably priced trinkets etc.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holidaytime40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews