We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay - perfect location for a perfect holiday ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mara Engai Wilderness Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 November 2017 via mobile

We stayed for five nights in mid October and had a great time. Would highly recommend. We were originally a little bit apprehensive as the camp can hold a large number of people and we wanted somewhere a little bit more intimate but it did not disappoint. The tents/ palaces are very large and can provide quiet privacy if you want it. There was more choice than I’ve had in other camps for food - the kitchen staff including Duke and Lennox were great - very accommodating for other guests’ demanding requests (!). Joseph behind the bar and William on service worked hard to make each meal time special. We were treated like princesses!

But I have to say that it was Daniel the driver , our daily adventures and his constant desire to ensure you saw everything you wanted to and the fact we saw leopards,cheetahs, lions galore as well as rhino and the migration that will stay with me forever. He kindly help takes lots of photos for us so we could watch the animals.

Why would I recommend it ? Excellent quiet location for animals on the edge of park so it’s not overrun with trucks like other parts. Large very comfortable and private tents with great views - we had room 3 . Daniel was by far the best guide I’ve had in 4 trips to Mara.

Things to bear in mind - it’s very high up - both the camp - meaning the trucks needs to be heavy duty ( the trucks serve their purpose so they are older and functional) and the road and journey up is v bumpy - and some of the tents are an up or down hill walk too - so if you have mobility issues bear this in mind and ask for a tent near to the main restaurant / lounge. But the views are great.

If it was at full occupation in high season I might have found it overpowering and not so intimate ( but I would not hesitate in quieter periods).

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Michelle275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mara E, Manager at Mara Engai Wilderness Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2017

Dear Michelle275,

Many thanks for taking the time to provide this wonderful review after your recent stay with us.

We are delighted that you have enjoyed so many magical sights and sounds during your visit, and so pleased that you were able to take home some incredible memories.

We will, of course, pass on your comments regarding the staff and their exemplary service to the team at the lodge. They will be pleased to know they made your experience in the Masai Mara extra special!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warmest Regards

The Mara Engai Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 174 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2017

The lodge is in a stunning location with amazing views. Sumptuously furnished luxury tents and staff who will cater to your every whim is what makes your safari unforgettable. The welcome by Masai warriors was such a thoughtful touch and despite being local tourists, we were awed by their energy. The safari vehicles to go see one of the best national parks in the world in are so much fun and the drivers are awesome :)... Thank you Mara Engai...we came as strangers but definitely left as family, all thanks to your superb hospitality.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ketu S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mara E, Manager at Mara Engai Wilderness Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Dear Ketu S,

Many thanks for taking the time to provide this wonderful review after your recent stay with us.

We are delighted that you have enjoyed so many magical sights and sounds during your visit, and so pleased that you were able to take home some incredible memories.

We will, of course, pass on your comments regarding the staff and their exemplary service to the team at the lodge. They will be pleased to know they made your experience in the Masai Mara extra special!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warmest Regards

The Mara Engai Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017

The Lodge is great, as well as the staff. The drives are longer than any of the other lodges in the parks. The tents are really mini-palaces. I spent 4 days and 3 nights and thought about staying one extra night. The view from the lodge is amazing. The drivers work together and work very hard to make sure you see the Big Five.

Room Tip: The lodge is on top of a hill. Ask for a tent near the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank maryfhayden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mara E, Manager at Mara Engai Wilderness Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear maryfhayden,

Many thanks for taking the time to provide this wonderful review after your recent stay with us.

We are delighted that you have enjoyed so many magical sights and sounds during your visit, and so pleased that you were able to take home some incredible memories.

We will, of course, pass on your comments regarding the staff and their exemplary service to the team at the lodge. They will be pleased to know they made your experience in the Masai Mara extra special!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warmest Regards

The Mara Engai Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

Three of us stayed for only two nights, but to-date, the experience still lingers in my mind, like a dream!!
Best food, greatest service, unique spacious rooms, crest view, unique safari vehicle driven by a real Masai (Daniel the Lion Tracker)....I strongly recommend Mara Engai Lodge as a first option and only for any visitor to Masai Mara! Far better than Serena!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Venkatesh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mara E, Manager at Mara Engai Wilderness Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear Venkatesh K,

Many thanks for taking the time to provide this wonderful review after your recent stay with us.

We are delighted that you have enjoyed so many magical sights and sounds during your visit, and so pleased that you were able to take home some incredible memories.

We will, of course, pass on your comments regarding the staff and their exemplary service to the team at the lodge. They will be pleased to know they made your experience in the Masai Mara extra special!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warmest Regards

The Mara Engai Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

What an amazing place. 4 days and 3 nights just wasn't long enough. The views, the very large bedrooms, the food and service were all very good but it was the extra touches that really made our stay so special. Ben looked after us so well and made a real effort to make my tea just how I liked it, I wanted to take him home! Every meal was excellent with some being from the menu and some buffet, some from the restaurant with a view of the Maasi Mara and some outside. I have never had such a large picnic and never with wild animals near by. The rooms were described as a mini palace and that is the perfect description for them. The little touches made it so special with a hot water bottle at night even when it wasn't cold. We loved the waterfall shower. Salim took us out every day and we saw everything we wanted to and more. We stayed all over Kenya and Engai was the best by far. We felt like we were leaving family when we left. We will be back. Thank you all

Room Tip: We had 21 which was just far enough away from the main area and had a perfect veiw
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mara E, Manager at Mara Engai Wilderness Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Dear Sara M,

Many thanks for taking the time to provide this wonderful review after your recent stay with us.

We are delighted that you have enjoyed so many magical sights and sounds during your visit, and so pleased that you were able to take home some incredible memories.

We will, of course, pass on your comments regarding the staff and their exemplary service to the team at the lodge. They will be pleased to know they made your experience in the Masai Mara extra special!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warmest Regards

The Mara Engai Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

We stayed at Engai in the end of August 2017 for a day, and repented not staying here longer ever since ! If you want to be with nature in Mara, and yet not give up on comfort and luxury, this is your place. You get individual tents that are as big and royal as I have even seen.Each tent is far enough from the next to give you enough privacy and seclusion. You are surrounded by lush green. A true five star facility in the middle of Mara ! The local Masai and other crews were extremely friendly and helpful. They did not exaggerate when they said, you come as a guest and leave as a family. Hamid, the manager, joined us to celebrate a young guest's birthday after dinner, and each guest got a slice of the cake from the house ! We were all strangers, but celebrated together with music and dance. He personally came and saw us off to the gate the next morning when we left ! We stayed in a number of places across Kenya, Engai was unique ! Absolutely recommended.

Room Tip: Each room is a very large and luxurious secluded tent. I do not think there is any bad room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank sgh0sh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mara E, Manager at Mara Engai Wilderness Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Dear sghush,

Many thanks for taking the time to provide this wonderful review after your recent stay with us.

We are delighted that you have enjoyed so many magical sights and sounds during your visit, and so pleased that you were able to take home some incredible memories.

We will, of course, pass on your comments regarding the staff and their exemplary service to the team at the lodge. They will be pleased to know they made your experience in the Masai Mara extra special!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warmest Regards

The Mara Engai Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017

We spent 3 nights here in September and couldn't fault a single thing.

The lodge restaurant and bar were excellent. A lovely room with an even better view. The waiting staff and chefs all did an excellent job. Our favourite was Alfred who couldn't do enough to make our meal times enjoyable.

Our room (or mini-palace!) was wonderful. The view from our balcony surpassed our expectations. The bed was extremely comfortable with soft bouncy pillows. I've never slept so well but that might be down to the fresh air on the game drives!

The driver and guide Daniel was great. He was very knowledgable, spoke excellent English, cared for the environment and the animals (respecting their space and the park rules) whilst making sure we all were satisfied with the time we did spend seeing each animal - and we saw EVERYTHING! On our first morning game drive we saw the big 5, including the elusive leopard. It was incredible.

We loved the trucks, ex-swiss military, open top and open sided machines that made the steep ride up and down to the lodge like a roller coaster - an exhilarating experience.

To all the staff and management at Mara Engai, THANK YOU. We had the most incredible time for our honeymoon safari!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mara E, Manager at Mara Engai Wilderness Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Dear Emma H,

Many thanks for taking the time to provide this wonderful review after your recent stay with us.

We are delighted that you have enjoyed so many magical sights and sounds during your visit, and so pleased that you were able to take home some incredible memories.

We will, of course, pass on your comments regarding the staff and their exemplary service to the team at the lodge. They will be pleased to know they made your honeymoon in the Masai Mara extra special!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warmest Regards

The Mara Engai Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
53.9 km away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 9 in Masai Mara National Reserve
1,110 reviews
22.9 km away
Mara Siria Camp
Mara Siria Camp
#5 of 9 in Masai Mara National Reserve
207 reviews
62.5 km away
Entumoto Safari Camp
Entumoto Safari Camp
#61 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.6 km away
Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp
Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Cam...
#13 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
889 reviews
37.9 km away
Ngerende Island Lodge
Ngerende Island Lodge
#74 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
155 reviews
36 km away
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara
#9 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mara Engai Wilderness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Engai Wilderness Lodge

Address: | Oloololo Siria Escarpment, Masai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Phone Number:
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 146 Speciality Lodging in Masai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: $448 - $1,863 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mara Engai Wilderness Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mara Engai Lodge. This luxurious new lodge is nestled amongst pristine Kenyan Ravine forest. Set 1000ft high on the Oloololo Siria Escarpment with 120 kms of breath-taking views over the famous Masai Mara Game Reserve and migration route. Features large, luxury, tented-suites and private viewing decks , walking safaris, bush dinners and bush breakfasts and picnics along with sundowners and meals overlooking the entire Masai Mara. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Mara Engai Wilderness Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mara Engai Wilderness Lodge Kenya/Masai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing