We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This holiday was amazing with friendly staff and a great game drive , we see all the big 5 more then once which was great . got so close to the animals I could of touched them just amazing would definitely recommend it

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sally C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,089)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 14 of 1,089 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Keekorok is one of the oldest properties in Masai Mara. It was well-kept and the room was spacious and had all the modern amenities. Restaurant was good and the staff even prepared Indian food for us.

Pluses
1) excellent location and ambience. About 20 min drive from Sekenani gate. From the room you can see the wild animals
2) excellent rooms - they provide nets for insects and two bottles of water in the room each day
3) lovely restaurant and bar
4) the farthest room is walkable to the restaurant! In some other places we stayed we had to walk about 15 min to room from reception

Minuses
1) WiFi is patchy and if you rely on hotel wifi then it works in reception area only at best. Don’t except wifi in room
2) shop on premises is expensive. Better to buy at Nairobi Galleria mall or at Airport

Notables
1) Hot water is available only for a few hours daily. So plan accordingly
2) property is not fenced. You will see Giraffe, Baboons and elephants close by. Wandering around at night is not recommended
3) flashlight is advisable although phone flash can be workable

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank shankarsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I absolutely loved my stay here, Judy was fantastic teaching my husband to speak Swahili trying with me but I'm useless, Joseph our guide was just the best thank you Joseph. I can't remember everyone's name but Emmanuelle who went out of his way to make sure we saw the crocodile in the hippo pool and the tree creature, still don't know what it is, Peter lovely Peter so nice and helpful, then there's George & Tolo John in the restaurant plus the chef I didn't get his name but he actually taught me ndogo (small) , thank you to everyone for my birthday cake and song it was fantastic we will hopefully return in a couple of years

Stayed: November 2017
1  Thank Beverly f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Although there was a problem with hot water in our rooms (the management offered to move us to another room), the location, beautiful grounds, hippos, elephants, gazelles, giraffes, zebras visible from the deck that encompasses the hippo pool made this a magical place
to stay. Buffet meals offer a very nice variety of food (with an emphasis on Indian cuisine) made- to- order breakfast omelets and stir fry selections for dinner. Maasai dancers entertain at dinner.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Patty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John K, General Manager at Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest

Greetings from Keekorok Lodge- Managed by Sun Africa Hotels and located in Masai Mara National Reserve.

We thank you for taking your time to post your feedback expressing your experiences after staying with us.

The hot water issue mentioned though it did not jeopardize you lovely stay was an isolated case of very hot steam that bursted the adjacent pipes near your room a situation fixed since then. Apologies from the Management.

Our team on the ground have appreciated you comments and more so that your stay was quite memorable.

We look forwards to host you once again in a near future.

With best regards

John Kiruthi
General Manager

Mobile: +254732642011
Email: john.kiruthi@sunafricahotels.com
Twitter: @Johnkiruthi6

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Right next to the air strip.
Fantastic cottages with all facilities.
Lovely ambience .
The chef is more than eager to cater to your tastes !! Fantastic spread for all meals.
Joy Aranha and Manish are there at all times for every small requirement.
Thank you for making our stay wonderful!

Room Tip: All cottages are good. Ones closer to dining area are convenient
See more room tips
Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Ganesh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John K, General Manager at Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Guest

Greetings from Keekorok Lodge Masai Mara. We thank you for taking your time to post your feedback expressing your experiences after staying with us.

We appreciate our Chef for making delicacies that matched your requirements and surpassed your expectations.

We as well applaud the staff mentioned for making your stay memorable.

We would greatly be honoured to host you and your team once again.

With best regards

John Kiruthi
General Manager

Mobile: +254732642011
Email: john.kiruthi@sunafricahotels.com
Twitter: @Johnkiruthi6

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Hai i stayed here with bangalore wildlife photographers group from 2nd November to 4th November 2017 ambience of this hotel is excellent with a hippo pool nearby, this property is unfenced and u truly live close to wildlife, view from the room balcony is excellent, food is superb customised for indians, in the hotel we met Mr Joy Aranah and Manish who took care of us very well, packed breakfast for safari is very good, only complaint about this place is there was absolutely no hot water in the rooms its becomes really difficult especially when ur about to leave for safari early mornings which are very cold, second problem is wifi first of its only available in the lobby and its very slow and doesnt connect most of the times, this needs a improvement since its basic requirements today hope to visit again thank you
Prasad adiga

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Prasad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John K, General Manager at Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Valued Guest

Greetings from Keekorok Lodge in Masai Mara National Reserve. We are so glad that you found time to give us feedback after staying with us for 2 nights.

Your comments will greatly assist us to improve on the issues that you mentioned hoping that this did not in any way inconvenience your stay.

The water issue was caused by steam that found its way to the pipes that bursted simultaneously making my team to close one line. We are very apologetic to that effect.

Wi-Fi issue is being sorted out with the network provider. Our apologies for the same.

We take note of your appreciation regarding good food and elaborate variety and applaud the team for good work.

We look forward to hosting you any time again in a near future.

Best Regards

John Kiruthi
General Manager
Mobile: +254732642011
Email: john.kiruthi@sunafricahotels.com
Twitter: @JohnKiruthi6

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2017 via mobile

We were a group of 43 wildlife photographers went to this amazing place in the first week of November. The food and hospitality was great. Although the rooms were not big enough, we enjoyed everything else in this property. Next time when I planning for Masai Mara trip this place would be my first choice. Kudos to the entire team. Food manager Mr. manish is a great human being and a excellent chef.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank nadimane h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John K, General Manager at Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Valued Guest

Greetings from Keekorok Lodge located in Masai Mara National Reserve.

We thank you for taking your time to post your feedback expressing your experiences after staying with us.

We appreciate our Chef for making delicacies that matched your requirements and surpassed your expectations.

We as well applaud Manish our F&B Manager for taking utmost care hence made your stay memorable.

We greatly look forward to host you and your team once again.

With best regards

John Kiruthi
General Manager

Mobile: +254732642011
Email: john.kiruthi@sunafricahotels.com
Twitter: @Johnkiruthi6

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
20.1 km away
Mara Leisure Camp
Mara Leisure Camp
#7 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
245 reviews
19.1 km away
AA Lodge Masai Mara
AA Lodge Masai Mara
#8 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
122 reviews
40.7 km away
Mara Siria Camp
Mara Siria Camp
#6 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 km away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
1,072 reviews
60.2 km away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#1 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
571 reviews
37 km away
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
#21 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels

Address: C14 Keekorok | Masai Mara Reserve, Masai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Masai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: $234 - $700 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over 700 square miles of lush, sun-drenched plains encircle Keekorok Lodge, the oldest property in the Masai Mara Game Reserve in southwest Kenya. The lodge was opened in 1962 and is ideally situated in the direct path of the spectacular animal migration that occurs every year from July to October. Guests can experience unparalleled safari adventures and morning and evening game drives are a must for anyone visiting the reserve ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keekorok Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels Kenya/Masai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing