We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,228)
Filter reviews
1,228 results
Traveller rating
645
413
111
35
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
645
413
111
35
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hippo bar masai mara game drives stir fry indian cuisine mosquito net vervet monkeys gift shop watering hole restaurant staff buffet style lunch and dinner after dark the reserve balloon ride amazing place day safari
Filter
Updating list...
132 - 137 of 1,228 reviews
Reviewed November 18, 2017 via mobile

Keekorok is one of the oldest properties in Masai Mara. It was well-kept and the room was spacious and had all the modern amenities. Restaurant was good and the staff even prepared Indian food for us.

Pluses
1) excellent location and ambience. About 20 min drive from Sekenani gate. From the room you can see the wild animals
2) excellent rooms - they provide nets for insects and two bottles of water in the room each day
3) lovely restaurant and bar
4) the farthest room is walkable to the restaurant! In some other places we stayed we had to walk about 15 min to room from reception

Minuses
1) WiFi is patchy and if you rely on hotel wifi then it works in reception area only at best. Don’t except wifi in room
2) shop on premises is expensive. Better to buy at Nairobi Galleria mall or at Airport

Notables
1) Hot water is available only for a few hours daily. So plan accordingly
2) property is not fenced. You will see Giraffe, Baboons and elephants close by. Wandering around at night is not recommended
3) flashlight is advisable although phone flash can be workable

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank shankarsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John K, General Manager at Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2018

Dear Guest

Greetings from Keekorok Lodge- Managed by Sun Africa Hotels and located in Masai Mara National Reserve.

We thank you for taking your time to post your feedback expressing your experiences after staying with us.

It quite inspiring to note that you have given a protracted analysis during your stay touching on location which in your words is the best.

Animals move freely and as you have put it, we escort clients to and from their rooms at night since the property is not fenced.

We look forwards to hosting you again in the near future.

With best regards

John Kiruthi
General Manager
Email: john.kiruthi@sunafricahotels.com
Twitter: @johnkiruthi6

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 17, 2017

I absolutely loved my stay here, Judy was fantastic teaching my husband to speak Swahili trying with me but I'm useless, Joseph our guide was just the best thank you Joseph. I can't remember everyone's name but Emmanuelle who went out of his way to make sure we saw the crocodile in the hippo pool and the tree creature, still don't know what it is, Peter lovely Peter so nice and helpful, then there's George & Tolo John in the restaurant plus the chef I didn't get his name but he actually taught me ndogo (small) , thank you to everyone for my birthday cake and song it was fantastic we will hopefully return in a couple of years

Stayed: November 2017
1  Thank Beverly f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John K, General Manager at Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2018

Dear Guest

Greetings from Keekorok Lodge- Managed by Sun Africa Hotels and located in Masai Mara National Reserve.

We thank you for taking your time to post your feedback expressing your experiences after staying with us.

We are pleased to note your appreciation of services offered by some of our staff as mentioned. That was really a memorable moment also to us.

We look forwards to hosting you again in the near future.

With best regards

John Kiruthi
General Manager
Email: john.kiruthi@sunafricahotels.com
Twitter: @johnkiruthi6

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 14, 2017 via mobile

Although there was a problem with hot water in our rooms (the management offered to move us to another room), the location, beautiful grounds, hippos, elephants, gazelles, giraffes, zebras visible from the deck that encompasses the hippo pool made this a magical place
to stay. Buffet meals offer a very nice variety of food (with an emphasis on Indian cuisine) made- to- order breakfast omelets and stir fry selections for dinner. Maasai dancers entertain at dinner.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Patty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John K, General Manager at Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2017

Dear Guest

Greetings from Keekorok Lodge- Managed by Sun Africa Hotels and located in Masai Mara National Reserve.

We thank you for taking your time to post your feedback expressing your experiences after staying with us.

The hot water issue mentioned though it did not jeopardize you lovely stay was an isolated case of very hot steam that bursted the adjacent pipes near your room a situation fixed since then. Apologies from the Management.

Our team on the ground have appreciated you comments and more so that your stay was quite memorable.

We look forwards to host you once again in a near future.

With best regards

John Kiruthi
General Manager

Mobile: +254732642011
Email: john.kiruthi@sunafricahotels.com
Twitter: @Johnkiruthi6

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 12, 2017

Right next to the air strip.
Fantastic cottages with all facilities.
Lovely ambience .
The chef is more than eager to cater to your tastes !! Fantastic spread for all meals.
Joy Aranha and Manish are there at all times for every small requirement.
Thank you for making our stay wonderful!

Room Tip: All cottages are good. Ones closer to dining area are convenient
Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Ganesh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John K, General Manager at Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2017

Dear Guest

Greetings from Keekorok Lodge Masai Mara. We thank you for taking your time to post your feedback expressing your experiences after staying with us.

We appreciate our Chef for making delicacies that matched your requirements and surpassed your expectations.

We as well applaud the staff mentioned for making your stay memorable.

We would greatly be honoured to host you and your team once again.

With best regards

John Kiruthi
General Manager

Mobile: +254732642011
Email: john.kiruthi@sunafricahotels.com
Twitter: @Johnkiruthi6

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 12, 2017 via mobile

Hai i stayed here with bangalore wildlife photographers group from 2nd November to 4th November 2017 ambience of this hotel is excellent with a hippo pool nearby, this property is unfenced and u truly live close to wildlife, view from the room balcony is excellent, food is superb customised for indians, in the hotel we met Mr Joy Aranah and Manish who took care of us very well, packed breakfast for safari is very good, only complaint about this place is there was absolutely no hot water in the rooms its becomes really difficult especially when ur about to leave for safari early mornings which are very cold, second problem is wifi first of its only available in the lobby and its very slow and doesnt connect most of the times, this needs a improvement since its basic requirements today hope to visit again thank you
Prasad adiga

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank Prasad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John K, General Manager at Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2017

Dear Valued Guest

Greetings from Keekorok Lodge in Masai Mara National Reserve. We are so glad that you found time to give us feedback after staying with us for 2 nights.

Your comments will greatly assist us to improve on the issues that you mentioned hoping that this did not in any way inconvenience your stay.

The water issue was caused by steam that found its way to the pipes that bursted simultaneously making my team to close one line. We are very apologetic to that effect.

Wi-Fi issue is being sorted out with the network provider. Our apologies for the same.

We take note of your appreciation regarding good food and elaborate variety and applaud the team for good work.

We look forward to hosting you any time again in a near future.

Best Regards

John Kiruthi
General Manager
Mobile: +254732642011
Email: john.kiruthi@sunafricahotels.com
Twitter: @JohnKiruthi6

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews