We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (638)
Filter reviews
638 results
Traveller rating
524
90
12
8
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
524
90
12
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshippo cornerthe rivergame driveswake up callroom attendantluxury tentsour waiterthe main lodgebeautiful propertyhippo viewinggame driverour tour guideshower and toilethot chocolateentire staywonderful experienceeach morning
Filter
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 638 reviews
Reviewed November 1, 2017

Three couples enjoyed the trip of a lifetime that we'd talked about planning for years. Fairmont Mara rooms, facilities and staff far exceeded our expectations. The tents are just beautiful, the meals were varied and always delicious, the hospitality was just perfect. Needs are anticipated before they are even expressed - thank you Ntaiya. Safaris are surreal - thank you Wilson. Special events such at the Sundowner or the bush dinner were so well thought out and will be lifetime treasured memories - thank you Vicky. Smiles from the staff begin and end your day, every single day, as each member is ready to make your stay more than you could have dreamed of -- thank you David and Timothy. Thanks to many that assisted along the way -- Steve, John, and all others that took such good care of us to make this such a memorable trip. Every request is met with a "can-do" attitude with the running theme of staff throughout our week being Hakuna Matata -- "No Problem" My only advice is not to wait as long as we did to plan this trip. Get there - now. Hoping to return sometime but until then the memories will do.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank denisecfior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen K, Manager at Fairmont Mara Safari Club, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2017

Dear Denise,

Thank you for taking the time out to share your review on Trip Advisor.
We are very pleased to note that in your overall experience, we exceeded your expectations through the engaging service from our staff, luxurious tents, our culinary offers, housekeeping services and the game drives. I have shared your feedback with the team and they are elated to have made your stay special.
We specifically delight in your compliments to Ntaiya, Wilson, Vicky, David, Timothy, Steve and John who are glad to know that they made your stay memorable.
We were honored to host you, and we look forward to your next visit to Masai Mara; it will be our pleasure to extend to you our warm, sincere and engaging service.

Thank you.

Kind regards,
Stephen Keriga | Rooms Division Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 28, 2017

the lodge is in a good location for the gamedrives and the facilities themselves are very good. The staff is excellent and the guides are even better (thanks again John). However a few things to bear in mind;

1. internet is only available in the central facilities
2. there is an additional park entrance fee of 70$/person per day which i wasn't aware of when i booked.
3. the excursion to the Maasai village is a total rip off. You pay 25$ for a 3 minute display of "traditional" dancing and firemaking and are then promptly marched of to the shop where you're guilt tripped into buying "authentic" Maasai crafts which are probably made in China. Don't fall for this.

Room Tip: all rooms overlook the river, but the lower numbered rooms are closer to the pool and the best viewing spot.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank jadedexpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen K, Manager at Fairmont Mara Safari Club, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your feedback regarding your recent stay with us.
We are delighted to read that you had an excellent experience and that you enjoyed the services from our colleagues, the game drives and our facilities in general.
I have noted your feedback regarding the park entrance fees that is collected to go towards the sustainability of the conservancy which you were not informed about, as well as the excursion to the Maasai village that fell below your expectations. We will work on ensuring that we better our service delivery on the areas that we fell below expectations.
Once again we appreciate your feedback, and we hope we will have the privilege to welcome you again here at Fairmont Mara Safari Club in the near future.

Kind regards,
Stephen Keriga | Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 27, 2017

I couldn't fault the service, room, food, facilities or location at all! A really enjoyable break. I would highly recommend this accommodation. Only thing is that the wifi is only available in main area but I didn't find this a problem as it was a comfortable place to relax.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with fairmont.com
Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen K, Manager at Fairmont Mara Safari Club, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2017

Dear Guest,
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay with us.
It was indeed a pleasure hosting you. We have noted that you enjoyed our services, our tents, location and the good food. I have shared your feedback with our team and they are happy to have made your stay memorable. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our colleagues as we strive to continuously exceed our guest expectations.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Stephen Keriga
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 20, 2017 via mobile

Just metres from our tent were hippos relaxing in the river. The camp even has a resident hippo! You are required to be escorted to your tent at night to ensure safety. Just a few hundred metres away from the camp were lions and water buffalo. You really feel like you are staying in the middle of the Masai Mara (but you also feel safe).

The drive from Nairobi to the camp took most of the day. We arrived at the camp shortly before dark. Out of all the places we stayed, the Masai Mara was the most exciting area for wildlife.

The food at the camp was of a good standard. We never went hungry. The only downside was the very slow WiFi, but this was understandable given the location.

Maggie was a very good waitress. I would recommend this place to others highly.

Stayed: September 2017
2  Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 19, 2017

My wife and I stayed at this Fairmont hotel for 3 days and it is first class.. Full board means no drinks at all including soft drinks or even water with meals so allow for this.
You do get water in your room each day though and a fridge.
Your personal tent valet and restaurant waiter is an excellent way of ensuring top service..

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with fairmont.com
1  Thank 518neil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen K, Manager at Fairmont Mara Safari Club, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share with us you feedback regarding your recent stay with us.
It was indeed a great pleasure hosting you. We are delighted to read that you had a fabulous experience. I have shared your comments with our team and they are happy to have made your stay a memorable one.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope we will have another opportunity to host you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Stephen Keriga | Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews