We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow, Ol Seki took my breath away!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ol Seki Hemingways Mara

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ol Seki Hemingways Mara
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wow, Ol Seki took my breath away!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2009

You can not travel to Kenya without taking a trip to Ol Seki. After a short drive from the air strip we were greeted by our guides and taken to the most luxurious camp I have ever seen with views that were breath taking.
The game drives were amazing and the game were plentiful, we even saw simba! Sundowners in the mara is a must, along with chats around the fire pit and delicious dinners over looking the mara - amazing!
The staff are wonderful, so knowledgeable with such magical stories. Ol Seki was a dream come true and I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca1806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    6
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
21
65
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2009

The tent (if you can call it a tent) was amazing. There was a large bed and a sofa/day bed, partitioned shower and toilet, storage areas for your clothes, desk and a lovely outside seating area. They also have a system to give hot water both morning and afternoon/evening.
There is more than enough local wildlife - we saw leopards, cheetahs, elephants, giraffes, buffalo, hippos, gazelle etc (too many things to name) all within a close drive of the camp. Whilst eating breakfast we could see elephants and giraffes in the distance. The joy of being outside the Mara Reserve was that we would be the only people there seeing these animals - in the Game Reserve you see hundreds of other people. I even heard the lions nearby one night. I should add that there are guards at night to keep you safe!
Although Ol Seki is outside the Mara Game Reserve, we found we had better quality game viewing and experiences - we were able to go on night drives, walks, and get out of the jeep and wonder down the river admiring hippos.
The camp allocates a driver and a spotter to each tent - so you keep the same guides all the time you are there and it is just you in the jeep when you go out. This means you have a great amount of flexibility - you can choose what you want to do each day without relying on other people wanting to do the same.
We would reccommend visiting the local village and the school, both of which are supported by the camp. Many of the guides are from the local guiding school which they also support.
The food was lovely - they have a fantastic chef (Evans - you have to try the omelettes!), and the service was always friendly and attentive without being overbearing. The food is western in style (the owner is Italian and you can see the influence in the meals!), and plentiful - 3 course meals at lunch and dinner!
We spent four nights here before moving onto a beach holiday, and both really wished we had spent longer here as we had the most amazing holiday, and experiences we will never forget.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vicandnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jjs35
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2009

Perfect spot for honeymooners. Amazed at the amount of game considering all the comments on here. Was a bit worrried in fact but in the end decided to go for the luxury as the person putting together my honeymoon seemed to know what they were talking about and, luckily, was really pleasantly surprised. We were treated like royalty by the staff but in a friendly way! Nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were spacious and really cool. Booked through Imagine Africa who were really really helpful especially as this was my first safari and also a really special trip and I had lots of questions (and worries!).

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jjs35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xpu-Ha, Mexico
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2007

This place gives you a real feel of family and welcome. Led by two great people and a whole team of staff who are incredibly freindly. The tents ( really large marquees really) are well fitted and the safaris are full of wildlife. The food is tasty and we even managed to have a visitors v staff football match in the savannah , elephants and wilerbeast as supporters , a truley great experience.

  • Liked — Great Staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldRanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts, UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2007

The entrance to Ol Seki is via the back of the camp so upon your arrival the camp itself comes as a complete surprise. We were met by Matthew, the manager, with cold drinks and escorted 20 yards to the library area. WOW, it's at this point you realise the camp is on top of a rock out crop and in front of you is a fantastic view over the bush. Sitting in the library on an afternoon watching the amazing birdlife around the camp and the odd giraffe and antelope walk by was heaven.

The accommodation, dining and library areas are all luxury tents (the word tent doesn't do them justice) on hardwood platforms. Unlike many camps you have your own power supply, extremely useful for battery charging etc. We had a massive bed and loads of space. They are stunning rooms especially designed to make best use of the views and location.

The food was excellent as was the service throughout our stay. Every member of staff was helpful, friendly and courteous. Our driver and guide were perfectly paired for their combined knowledge of birds and mammals.

We stayed at Ol Seki after spending 5 days in the Masai Mara park and the wildlife is more sparse, not the vast herds of game, although we did see plenty including a good sized herd of elephant. However so are the tourists and we only saw one other vehicle in our 3 days at Ol Seki. The birdlife was incredible, actually better than where we were in the park.

The flexibility shown was also excellent. When we wanted to go for a walk for some exercise it wasn't a problem we set off for our evening game drive early and walked to the local village (seeing antelope, elephants and birds on the way). The car followed a few hundred yards behind with our equipment and water. Want to focus on birds this morning ? no problem!

Ol Seki also operates the traditional sundowner on your evening safari. There is nothing quite like parking up under a tree to watch the sun go down vodka and tonic in hand. One night a hyena walked past and a few minutes later a nightjar flew around our vehicle. You drive back in the dark for a night safari, an unforgettable experience.

This was my fourth safari and Ol Seki is up there as our joint favourite lodge/camp, we would go back tomorrow. It makes an ideal compliment to a few nights in one of the reserves. The great accommodation, fantastic service and lack of other tourists in the area make this a special place.

Finally, a note about Sue the owner a lovely lady who with her manager, Matthew, and the rest of the staff made this feel like a 'home from home' an expression I've never used before about a holiday destination.

  • Liked — Location, service, wildlife
  • Disliked — it was perfect
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RichBeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2006

We were fortunate to end our 10 day safari at Ol seki ([--]). We were not disappointed with our stay. It is located in the Mara region, but not within the national park (about 45 minute drive). We were greeted warmly by our host, Sue and her manager Matt A nice touch was the fresh drinks an euculyptus bathed towels to refresh us after our dusty travels.

We most impressed with our EXTREMELY spacious tents and view from our personal wooden deck. Room was with a day bed, + king bed, night side tables, chair and table and rug. You can tell the tents have been well thought out and decorated with modern taste but still with traditional flare. Electricity was available in our tents, as was running water, large shower and flush toilets. By the bathroom was full size clothing shelf/ rack for your luggage. Food was plentiful and decent. This was all inclusive accomodations of beverages, food and activities. We enjoyed sharing stories with out guests and relaxing together with our host in the evening.

The game wasn't as plentiful as within the national park (we had stayed at Rekero), but still beautiful nevertheless. There was an option to go for a full day drive within the national park, which some of the other guests did. What was extrememly interesting here was the ability to do night drives, exploring the il dorobo cave, visiting a children's elementary school, visiting the Koyaki guide school and visitng the masai village. Some of the fees from our payments go back to the building of the local community. By day 10 of safariing, we definitely appreciated the relaxing atmosphere of Ol Seki and just soaked in the view. We also enjoyed a massage from their local masseuse. Just a wonderfully relaxing time!

  • Liked — Beautiful tented accommodations
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trende
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
9.4 km away
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
#4 of 138 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
13.8 km away
Kicheche Valley Camp
Kicheche Valley Camp
#56 of 138 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
34.3 km away
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
#6 of 138 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.2 km away
Saruni Mara
Saruni Mara
#24 of 138 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
25.9 km away
Kilima Camp
Kilima Camp
#21 of 138 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
24.3 km away
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara
#11 of 138 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ol Seki Hemingways Mara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ol Seki Hemingways Mara

Property: Ol Seki Hemingways Mara
Address: Naboisho Conservancy, Masai Mara National Reserve, Kenya (Formerly Ol Seki Mara Camp)
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 138 Speciality Lodging in Masai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ol Seki Hemingways Mara 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ol Seki Hemingways Mara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ol Seki Mara Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Ol Seki Hemingways Mara Kenya/Masai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing