We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (8)
Filter reviews
8 results
Traveller rating
2
3
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
2
3
2
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 8 reviews
Reviewed September 14, 2018 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at Mara Sun Lodge for a couple days at the end of August and very much enjoyed our stay. Check in was very easy, food and service were good, and the views were outstanding, especially from the outdoor eating area. The rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable. We did have quite a large spider in the room the 2nd day, but it’s Africa, your on safari, that can happen anywhere, no big deal for us.

Mara Sun Lodge sits atop a escarpment overlooking the Mara, and you do have to catch a ride the lodge provides from the bottom of the escarpment up to the top where the lodge is, but it only takes 5-10 minutes and the views at the top is worth it. We enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay there again and would recommend it to anyone.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank faheymk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 26, 2018 via mobile

My family loves the Mara Sun Lodge! It's the only place we stay when coming to the Mara. What stands out most of all is the staff. They love their resort, they love their jobs and it shows. The reason we bring all our visitors to the Mara Sun Lodge is because the staff don't treat us as guests they treat us like family. They always go out of their way to make sure we are comfortable and have everything we need.
We also LOVE the food and the atmosphere. The lodge had a beautiful view of the escarpment and it's only a short trip from the lodge into the Mara. Overall the Mara Sun Lodge is an excellent value. It's not too pricey yet the staff makes you feel like you area VIP. I definitely recommend staying here when visiting the Mara.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Maps790322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 2, 2017 via mobile

1st of all the location of that hotel is not good, take you tons of time to get there ! The road condition to the hotel is terrible ! I got there on a rainy day so the car can not come , its really dangerous if drive car to that hotel on rainny day ! There is no or very weak mobile phone signal in the hotel, wifi very weak and only had at night in the receiption, hot water system in the hotel might be using solar system and gone very fast ! If you take a bath in the evening, consider no hot water in the morning ! Buffet is hard to have because few options ! The staffs are nice but not worth to live there !

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Minh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 24, 2016

This is a new place and you will be able to tell when you check in. While there, I could still see work going on to improve the place, and am sure when it is finished it will be a great destination. It has one of the best views in the Mara and also offers the cheapest rates as of the time am reviewing. It is so cheap that you feel indebted. The service is great, staff friendly and food okay. We saw a leopard within the hotel grounds so am not sure if that is a good or bad thing. You be the judge. :-)

Room tip: Do not pick the rooms at the far ends, they are both smaller and don't have a balcony so you wont appreciate the beautiful views.
Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Denis Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 21, 2014

The view of the Mara from the edge of the Oloololo Escarpment can only be described as stupendous. Staff were abundant and helpful; the varieties of food were amazing and mostly delicious. The place has great potential IF ONLY the nearby road and entrance into the Mara can be approved. The road is there but we understand the powers that be are dragging their feet to actually approve and open this entrance to the Mara. As it is now, a long drive around and into the park by another entrance is the only way to do it! Sad to see the hotel so empty. We reached it from Kericho via Kilgoris, thus avoiding the notorious bad road in through Narok. The hotel is located in the Mara North Conservancy.

Date of stay: September 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank 818mame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews