We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (52)
Filter reviews
52 results
Traveller rating
24
20
3
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
24
20
3
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews glass door maasai guards beds were comfortable great place to stay solar power low season two nights packed lunch game drives national park on arrival hot water bonfire gate wifi chef accommodation
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 52 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2018 via mobile

Simba Oryx has fantastic rooms. They were spacious, clean and really allowed us to immerse ourselves in the natural environment. We even had the opportunity to watch the sunset after the game drives from our rooms. In the nights you can often hear wildlife outside your tent which was amazing. However we had a number of issues too- firstly electricity, it kept going off (this is normal during the day time as tourists are on game drives), but it even went off in the mornings when we needed it and evenings which made simple tasks like phone charging very tedious. The food is mediocre, there is not much variety and the meals are basic. We had a packed lunch for one of our game drives which I would certainly not recommend to anyone. The hotel seemed lifeless, very few guests and staff, so if you’re after a bustling hotel, this isn’t it. On the other hand it was very peaceful and serene with some good views. Overall: great rooms and location, but poor menu and services.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Ali F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 15, 2018

The best accommodation within the park, you can hear the sounds of the animals in the night. Makes the staying more exciting exotic experience, with Maasai guards always on the watch and the meals are well prepared. the restaurant has very friendly and accommodating staff. The rooms are well made and clean, with glass doors you can view outside from the comfort of your bed

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rabaches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 30, 2018 via mobile

Staff are very friendly and helpful.
Rooms are very nice and very clean.
Food is excllent.
It has the sense of ecolodge stays, despite not being fully ecolodge.
Rooms are inside Maasai Mara park, so you may drop by animals therefore guards with spears are there to esort you to and from the lobby and the room.
It's not very costly.
I recommend it.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank AhmedY2683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 21, 2018

I was on a solo trip and unsure how the camp would be but it turned out to be beautiful. Individual tented camps with huge glass front doors and spacious balcony gives an amazing experience. Each tent has its own solar power so light and hot water is 24/7 available. Walk in bathroom and closet with huge bed is very comfortable. Staff are friendly and food is good. My suggestion: to work in ambience as well.
I loved my stay in Simba Oryx camp.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank niva b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 14, 2018 via mobile

Good location near a Mara entrance.
10 free standing rooms, glass fronted, with verandas ,are nice.
Problem is the giant central block, glass fronted, 30/40 yards wide , with a Cement floor.
We ate at the scattered tables at one end; (only guests); and walked to the scattered tables at the other end, beside a fire, after dinner.
An enclosed empty car park has as much ambiance.
Food quality was possibly ok, but the chef rendered both dinners, and breakfasts inedible. It was inexcusable.
Obviously money has been spent on the camp, but the ambiance and the cooking problems have to be sorted out.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank tbonjour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews