We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury meets friendly for an amazing safari experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tipilikwani Mara Camp - Masai Mara
Certificate of Excellence
Teddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Luxury meets friendly for an amazing safari experience”
Reviewed 29 March 2012

I travelled with a friend who made the booking based on a recommendation and some base criteria from us that we wanted to experience the outdoors, but without going too basic. Our expectations for both the safari and our stay were far exceeded in this camp. We were met from the plane by our guide (more about him later!) who took us through the park back to the lodge. This was the first of many highlights since we saw loads of different animals as well as the park itself on the way.

The camp itself is fabulous. The 'rooms' are tents with a purpose built bathroom behind them and are spacious with plenty of room inside and out. You could happily spend time relaxing on the veranda, watching the river below (we had a family of baboons opposite us) There is a main lodge which houses the restaurant and bar and overlooks the river and the park beyond (we saw giraffes on the horizon at mealtimes) Dining is also fantastic - there is a choice at every mealtime (lunch and dinner were 3 and 4 courses respectively of very good quality food) and the bar is well stocked for sundowners and a good wine list.

Finally, the safari excursions were excellent. We had the best guide, Dee, who really made sure we saw as much as possible and was a fountain of information. We learnt about the Mara, the people (Maasai), and the animals. He, and our second guide Joe, were also inquisitive, funny and great company. Every day, we could decide whether we wanted to go for early or all day drives, the day was tailored to the desires of the group. We also decided that we had the best vehicle - it could be open or covered and there was not a single 'do not step on the seats' sticker in sight (great for those extra viewing angles!) - unlike others we saw on our trips around the Mara.

All of this would have added up to a trip of a lifetime but the friendliness of the staff and their genuine concern to make sure we were getting the best of the experience really added to the trip. If you are going to the Mara - please consider this camp - you will have the safari of a lifetime!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyTraveller2404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    41
    13
    4
    3
See reviews for
54
52
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

It's hard to know what you will get when you research Mara camps- many say similar things. This one was recommended and it was more than we expected. We were met at the airstrip, had a warm welcome at camp, and the 'tented' rooms were amazing. All located around the bend in the river. Service for the rooms, at the bar and in the restaurant was fantastic. The meals and food were an absolute joy. What made the trip especially great was our Maasi guide, Dee. He was knowledgeable, funny, helpful and made a huge effort to make sure we saw as much as possible. We were honestly sad to leave. Highly recommended this camp for all. We had the best safari vehicle (that we could see from the other camps across the Mara) and nothing was rushed. The camp turns electricity out at 11pm- but by that time you are ready for bed/sleep after a packed day and eager for the next day to start.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank uk_beckylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Well upon our arrival at the Tipilikwani Mara Camp we were blown away with the setup. We had been upgraded to pure luxury by Pori Tours. Our 'tent' was set up under a traditional thatched roof style hut with a verandah overlooking a fast flowing 30m wide creek. Internally the tent was set up like a sultan's bedouin tent with a huge king size bed & separate bathroom complete with 4 legged cast iron bath. The tent was about 60 Sqm in size. The staff were mainly locals that were very well trained.. close to the more professional service I have experienced in a long long time from management, house keeping, chef & bar staff. All very friendly and very helpfull.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosco49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2012

This lodge is in a pristine location with very comfortable accomodation and courteous and
friendly service from staff.

The owners of the facility have high standards and the wildlife sightings are second to none

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaizer Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Simply Splendid! Excellent food, quality service and very clean! Nicely done up too! I would highly recommend everyone to visit this camp for a "one of a kind" experience!

Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Shifana J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We were prepared for basic accommodations when we chose to book a 'tented camp' on our 4day safari to Nakuru and Masai Mara but we were totally surprised to see big tents with 5* decor and all the facilities ensuite, The tents were so large that even with 2 Double beds, a dresser and lounge settee in the 'tented room' there was still plenty of space to waltz around, Twin sinks, spacious shower and flushing toilets all added to our total comfort, Plated meal service and very friendly staff all added to a wonderful experience, Masai Mara is amazing to view big game like elephants, buffalo, rhino and not forgetting the cats besides zebra, giraffe, antelopes etc. An experience we will always remember and may be we will come back again soon.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trendyhair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Stayed four nights at this serene camp by the banks of river Talek and enjoyed every minute of this wonderful holiday with my wife. The staff were always friendly and the meals were fabulous! I will definitely recommend to my friends.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
14.2 km away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
1,021 reviews
0.7 km away
Mara Leisure Camp
Mara Leisure Camp
#7 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
218 reviews
20.5 km away
Mara Ngenche Safari Camp
Mara Ngenche Safari Camp
#43 of 138 in Masai Mara National Reserve
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
43.5 km away
Mara Engai Wilderness Lodge
Mara Engai Wilderness Lodge
#32 of 138 in Masai Mara National Reserve
118 reviews
14.5 km away
Sentrim Mara Camp
Sentrim Mara Camp
#74 of 138 in Masai Mara National Reserve
221 reviews
11.2 km away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#3 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tipilikwani Mara Camp - Masai Mara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tipilikwani Mara Camp - Masai Mara

Property: Tipilikwani Mara Camp - Masai Mara
Address: C14 Keekorok | Pio Gama Pinto Road, Westlands, Masai Mara National Reserve 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 138 Speciality Lodging in Masai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tipilikwani Mara Camp - Masai Mara 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This uniquely situated luxury camp on the banks of the Talek River overlooks the mottled plains of the Maasai Mara, where vast herds of wildlife co-exist with the colourful Maasai people. Between June and October the Maasai Mara plays host to one of the most spectacular wildlife shows on earth the great annual migration of over a million wildebeest and zebra as they enter the Mara ecosystem from Serengeti in neighbouring Tanzania. Tipilikwani's tents enjoy river frontage and are decorated with warm, rich Maasai colours. The family tents have a stand alone bath tub in addition to showers. Excellent food, personalised service and traditional Kenyan hospitality further compliment the prime location. Game drives offer the unforgettable opportunity to enjoy the diversity of animals and birds living permanently in the Masai Mara, as well as many migratory species. Guests can also learn more about the Masai people, proud pastoralists and warriors, many of whom still retain their traditional nomadic lifestyle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Tipilikwani Mara Camp - Masai Mara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tipilikwani Masai Mara Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Tipilikwani Mara Camp - Masai Mara Kenya/Masai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing