We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (215)
Filter reviews
215 results
Traveller rating
136
55
15
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
136
55
15
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews talek river masai mara game drives guide jonathan masai security guards open land across the river never felt unsafe wheel drive hot water is available eating breakfast dining area a wonderful stay lunch and dinner wild animals our waiter fantastic guide
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 215 reviews
Reviewed October 20, 2018 via mobile

This should quite comfortably be a five star, top quality, waitlist only lodge.
The accommodation in tents that are charmingly designed, equipped and furnished (and named after African greats) should set this lodge apart. The team employed friendly, willing and helpful.

Unfortunately three factors let this lodge down that are more to do with the owners looking to save costs and maximise their immediate returns:

1) the WiFi is poor to non existent. As is the mobile signal. Staff report that many guests have complained as highly speed and quality services are available but the owners have failed to invest. Today WiFi is probably more important than water to travellers and so they really need to (and can if they paid ) sort this

2)the owners apparently insist that the electricity is turned off in camp during daylight. Most irritating when you are trying to re charge your phones, cameras etc between game drives

3) the food is well presented by the gregarious chef. But the ingredients are cheap hampering his talents.

Booking Tipilikwani is not low cost. Guests would not mind paying these international rates is the services matched. There is significant room for improvement and with stiff competition we would advise travellers to spend their money with one of the many others until this one can prove that they will provide value.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Preyen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 11, 2018

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Tipilikwani Mara Camp. The Manager, Theo, and his team welcomed us and made us feel at home. The food was really good and our waiter David took good care of us.
Tom the game ranger was incredible with a vast amount of knowledge and we experience amazing things that you can only imagine seeing on National Geographic. The rooms are spacious and comfortable and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Date of stay: July 2018
Thank Rachelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 4, 2018

We were "tented" and it overlooked the river. Baboons walked along as we sat on the porch area. We could see many animals just across the river from our lodge and tent. Meals were excellent with a great menu. The Masai security guards were very evident. One morning, we took off on a walk, and were soon joined by the guards who provided us with a great perspective on the animals (pointing our excrement of all of them), identifying where they had foraged and shared the footprints at the river watering holes. We went out each day in an open land-cruiser, lunched near a hippo watering hole and later saw a lion that was resting under a bush that was about 25-feet from where we sat to have our lunch. The hotel staff were helpful and inquisitive. You don't lack for anything at this location. Be prepared for needing a long hot shower at the end of your day on the mara, due to the sun, wind and dirt.

Room tip: All are good!
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sharon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 2, 2018 via mobile

After an interesting 4 wheel drive we finally arrived at this gem of the Masai Mara region of Kenya. Offering huge tented accommodation, Masai security in case of visiting animals (part of the appeal) and an amazing dining and relaxing covered open area. Highly recommend at least 3 nights.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank djm10358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
judebaraza, Operations Manager at Tipilikwani Mara Camp - Masai Mara, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2018

Thank you for your great review of our camp. We are happy that your stay was enjoyable and hope you will be visiting us again in the near future. It was our pleasure hosting you and we appreciate that you made the choice to stay at our camp.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 1, 2018

Our accommodations were in large elephant tents,very large room and washroom, overlooking the river.The eating area overlooked the plains. In the morning we were able to catch the giraffes in the distance and monkeys playing. The staff make us feel very safe at all times. The food and selections were excellent. For dinner we were given several choices to choose from, all well prepared, as a 5 star hotel not a safari camp. The staff was always very attended to our needs, well trained. The camp was close to the Masai Mara gates.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 472enzog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews