We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel”
Review of Lotus Hotel

Lotus Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lotus Hotel
Ranked #46 of 58 Hotels in Mombasa
Alavus, Finland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
Reviewed 30 August 2011

I stayed in this hotel in May 2010 for few nights. Hotel was clean and quiet, mosquito nets were in good shape. The staff were very nice! Only negative thing was laundry service which was slow and we had to wait our laundries longer than expected. But we got them juts in time before leaving from Mombasa. But nice hotel and good food! I would go there again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SatuRuismaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lenahbundi, Emarketing Consultant at Lotus Hotel, responded to this review, 23 November 2011
Thank you for choosing to stay at Lotus Hotel during your visit to Mombasa it was a great pleasure to serve you.
We appreciate your kind feedback about the cleanliness of the room, the great location and the fine compliments you have made about our staff members.

Meanwhile, we look forward to welcoming you back to Lotus Hotel.

Sincerely
Lenah Bundi
Emarketing Consultant
Lotus Hotel
lenah@ecrypsolutions.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    20
    9
    3
    8
See reviews for
6
12
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
South Hill, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2011

I arrived with wife on June 27,2011,the price of room went up since making reservation from Nairobi the night before. The room had excessive cock roaches,toilet would not flush,and when trying to flush water would leak from around tub.When I went down to desk to report problem one employee was smiling,laughing,another employee present said someone will be up to check problem and as I started back up stairs to room both employee s started laughing. Employee came up to check room and asked if we had taken shower that could be why water is on floor, we stated no.The employee opened toilet,but toilet would still not flush on our next attempt. When we showered next morning drain would no open.The room was dirty and very poorly maintained.I satyed at Lotus in Oct.2005,Apr.2006,Dec.2009 it was good then? Resturant staff still wonderful.

Room Tip: The Castle Royal Hotel on Moi Ave. is great place to stay,great security,servicve,rooms are top rate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claude f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lenahbundi, Emarketing Consultant at Lotus Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2011
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Lotus Hotel during your visit to Mombasa. It was truly a pleasure to serve you.

We apologize that you were unable to enjoy your time with us during your stay at the hotel as you had unpleasant experience with our staff.

In regards to cockroaches the matter was addressed and investigated by the department concerned unfortunately we don't have a record about this but we shall not fail in being more attentive from now on as it is such comments that helps us to improve our standards for our future guest.

Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconveniences that may have been caused to you during your stay with us as we look forward to welcoming you back to Lotus Hotel.

In the meantime, if I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me at any time

Sincerely
Lenah Bundi
Emarketing consultant
Lotus Hotel
+254 721 853211
lenah@ecrypsolutions.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mombasa hotels

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

After spending a wonderful time travelling around Kenya we spent a night at Lotus Hotel in Mombasa on our way down to Diani beach. Contrary to the rest of the trip where we met friendly people and experienced truly great Kenyan hospitality, this hotel was poorly run, dirty and unsafe.
Upon arrival the room was unclean and poorly maintained but worse than this after one night my room was broken into and all my valuables were stolen. The hotel were quick to blame the guest in the adjoining room who had already checked out but I am suspicious as to their involvement (I had only left my room for ten minutes to go downstairs and book a bus journey). The manager Mr Peter Maina was rude, unpleasant and thoroughly unhelpful.
I would strongly advise you to NEVER stay here. There are so many great places in Mombasa and Kenya which deserve your business more...please do not make the same mistake as me it really gave a bad taste to the end of a marvellous holiday!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank NancyMcLennan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lenahbundi, Emarketing Consultant at Lotus Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2011
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Lotus Hotel during your recent visit to Mombasa. It was truly a pleasure to serve you. We apologize that you were unable to enjoy your time with us during your stay at the hotel.

We’re very disappointed to hear that you did not wholly enjoy your recent experience with us as some of your valuables were stolen we acknowledge theft took and was reported to the police.

Our manager wrote an email to you but you didn’t respond however investigations have not been closed and since the police issued you with Abstract you can revisit the matter to know the outcome of the police investigations. Our insurers’ are ready to handle the matter on our behalf.

Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconveniences that may have been caused to you during your stay with us as we look forward to welcoming you back to Lotus Hotel.

In the meantime, if I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me at any time

Sincerely
Lenah Bundi
Emarketing consultant
Lotus Hotel
+254 721 853211
lenah@ecrypsolutions.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2011

We chose this hotel because of the good reviews and unfortunately it was a huge mistake.

The hotel is well located and in general terms nice for a hotel of this category. It is a pity that rooms are not clean and there are cockroaches!. I must have killed around 10 of them and we only stayed here for a night (fortunately).

Even worse, this morning while we were having breakfast someone went into our room and stole our camera (with all our safari and trip pictures!) and around €200.

The manager of the hotel refused to help. We asked him to interview the staff and help us find out where the camera was but he just called the "police" who also refused to show us their ID (impossible to tell if they were real police or just part of a trap).

DON'T STAY HERE, please.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Deviajecitos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lenahbundi, Emarketing Consultant at Lotus Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2011
Thank you for choosing to stay at Lotus and sharing your feedback . It was a pleasure to serve you.

In regards to cockroaches the matter have been addressed and investigated the issue with the departments concerned unfortunately we do not have any record about this. However we shall not fail in being more attentive from now on. We wish to assure you of our untiring effort into taking appropriate measures to keep up the highest standard at Lotus Hotel.

In response to your comments on theft, we would like to refute your comments that the police who came are impostors let me clarify this that the police from Investigation Department don't wear uniform as their role is to track down criminals the only mistake they did was not to show their ID card .However necessary measures to security have been put in place to protect our guest from this incidents in future.

However, please accept our sincere apologies for any inconveniences that may have been caused to you during your stay with us as we look forward to welcoming you and your entire family back to Lotus Hotel.

In the meantime, if I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me at any time

Sincerely
Lenah Bundi
Emarketing consultant
Lotus Hotel
+254 721 853211
lenah@ecrypsolutions.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights before taking the train to Nairobi. Clean and safe and reasonably priced kenyan style hotel. Took a taxi out to Nyali beach for the day which was very enjoyable. Good to have a taster of a proper Kenyan town rather than a tourist resort.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davidfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lenahbundi, Emarketing Consultant at Lotus Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2011
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Lotus Hotel during your recent visit to Mombasa and taking your time to share your valued and very detailed feedback with us. It was truly a pleasure to serve you.

We are glad to note that you were satisfied with all our services in terms of cleanliness and security as well as your overall experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back and provide you with a more enjoyable experience.

In the meantime, if I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me at any time

Sincerely
Lenah Bundi
Emarketing consultant
Lotus Hotel
+254 721 853211
lenah@ecrypsolutions.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanyuki Town, Kenya
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights in September and as a reasonably priced option in the heart of Mombasa I'd say it's a good choice. The rooms are small but adequate and all come with air conditioning. There is a restaurant and bar within the hotel itself and the central courtyard area isn't a bad spot to relax with a beer. The staff were helpful and the hotel is only a short walk from the Fort and from the town centre should you feel the need to explore on foot.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil_H70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lenahbundi, Emarketing Consultant at Lotus Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2011
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Lotus Hotel during your recent visit to Mombasa and taking your time to share your valued and very detailed feedback with us. It was truly a pleasure to serve you.

We are glad to note that you were satisfied with all our services in terms of staff, cleanliness and security as well as your overall experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back and provide you with a more enjoyable experience.

In the meantime, if I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me at any time

Sincerely
Lenah Bundi
Emarketing consultant
Lotus Hotel
+254 721 853211
lenah@ecrypsolutions.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2010

This hotel is pretty nice but the advice for "budget travelers" depends what you mean by budget traveler. The least expensive room, a single, is $40USD/night (3000 shillings). This includes breakfast. Anyway, the rooms were clean, definitely safe, and the ambience is very nice. TV didn't work though. Recommended if you want a medium-price hotel in Mombasa City, but for cheaper, there are many guesthouses that have similar amenities (comfortable bed with personal bathroom) for much cheaper (700 ksh/night), although they are a bit more dingy.

Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank ejb1021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lenahbundi, Emarketing Consultant at Lotus Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2011
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Lotus Hotel during your recent visit to Mombasa and taking your time to share your valued and very detailed feedback with us. It was truly a pleasure to serve you.

We are glad to note that you were satisfied with all our services in terms of staff, cleanliness and security as well as your overall experience and value for your money.

We look forward to welcoming you back and provide you with a more enjoyable experience.

In the meantime, if I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me at any time

Sincerely
Lenah Bundi
Emarketing consultant
Lotus Hotel
+254 721 853211
lenah@ecrypsolutions.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mombasa hotels
0.7 km away
Jundan Hotel
Jundan Hotel
#36 of 58 in Mombasa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
1.1 km away
Royal Court Hotel
Royal Court Hotel
#24 of 58 in Mombasa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
1.2 km away
PrideInn Hotel Mombasa
PrideInn Hotel Mombasa
#5 of 58 in Mombasa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
New Palm Tree Hotel
New Palm Tree Hotel
#26 of 58 in Mombasa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
2.0 km away
Hotel Radiance
Hotel Radiance
#32 of 58 in Mombasa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
2.4 km away
Best Western Plus Creekside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lotus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotus Hotel

Property: Lotus Hotel
Address: Cathedral Lane, Mombasa 80100, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 58 Hotels in Mombasa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lotus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing