We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Meeting”
Review of Il Covo Restaurant

Il Covo Restaurant
Ranked #12 of 150 Restaurants in Mombasa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Formerly a holiday house on two floors overlooking the white, sandy Bamburi beach 12 km north of Mombasa island. Il Covo opened its door in May 2003 and since then it has been the top dining and entertainment venue in Mombasa. The lower veranda overlooks the beach, a romantic gazebo just out onto the sea and is fondly called fort Jesus. Its' an ideal spot for romantic dinners. The upper deck has two balconies with a sea view. One of them is a sushi bar whereby our chef will create the freshest and most delicious sushi, sashimi and teppanyaki right in front of you. The second balcony, dubbed "A room with a view' is an ideal setup for a private family lunch or dinner with a perfect view of the sea and a breeze that never ceases. Our Italian cuisine is renowned for it's originality, our menu consists of a wide range of original pasta dishes, fresh starters, salads including a variety of fish Carpaccio, tuna and red snapper. Fresh lobsters, prawns, calamari and octopus all depending on the day's catch, are also part of Il Covo's luscious and extensive menu along with fabulously tender Aged Angus meats. Il Covo also accommodates a large wood burning oven which gives the best authentic Italian pizzas. Our flat serene beach filled with white fine sand lends itself as a perfect venue for beach fun parties and exclusive dinners. All you require is just to ask for a beach setup and we shall do the rest at no extra cost. The il Covo experience is not complete without visiting our very popular disco club located on the upper floor. Our DJ will ensure that you shed of some of the calories you gained after dinner.
Reviewed July 19, 2017 via mobile

I went to Il Covo in July and as we walked down to the path I could tell that something had changed. The staff are so friendly and professional and they recommended an Ice Cream for us to try out. Caesar and Esther are the best hosts who also happen to be the new owners. Their passion about food and hospitality comes right through and reflects in the service as well as the food. I have to go back. Try out Il Covo for sure.

Thank Nzisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caesar W, Owner at Il Covo Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2017

Thank you for your positive feedback Nzisa. It was nice having you around and look forward to hosting you again. I will share your feedback with the rest of the team members and am sure this will motivate them. Asante sana!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 179 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2017

had a great pizza here with family and while italian, their service had great kenyan taste too ... good raised from the beach sitting

Thank maira r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caesar W, Owner at Il Covo Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2017

I wish to thank you for your positive feedback on your experience at our restaurant. I will certainly share this with our team members. We hope to see you again soon at the il covo restaurant. Asante!

Caesar (Owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 30, 2017

I got an excellent pizza here for $6. They lose one star for not having cold beer. Why is it so hard to get a cold beer in africa? Attention Africa; Mzungus need COLD beer. Not stored in the basement at room temperature cold, but cold like actually in a refrigerator that is plugged in and turned on.

Thank UsaPassportStamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caesar W, Owner at Il Covo Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2017

We thank you for taking your time to give a feedback on your experience at our restaurant. We are happy to note that you enjoyed the Pizza. We have noted your disappointment at the temperature of the beer you were served with. This must have been an exception for which I apologize on behalf of Il Covo. We do have seriously chilled beers. I hope you can give us an opportunity to serve you again in future. We want the extra star from you.

Looking forward to seeing you soon.

Caesar (owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 13, 2017 via mobile

Sounds like they'd had a very busy day, so we're out of fish and crab. A beach side restaurant without seafood is a bit of a letdown. We ordered homemade tagliatelle, which was overcooked pretty badly, though with a flavourful sauce.

Thank WeldonWK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caesar W, Owner at Il Covo Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2017

Thank you for taking your time to give us a feedback on your experience at il covo restaurant. I am not sure of your exact day of visit but yes, we do run out once in a while depending on demand and more so during the rainy season. We have noted your remarks on the tagliatelle and do here by apologize for failing to meet your expectation. I have shared your concern with the chef who seems to be aware of what might have gone wrong and he has assured me that this has already been addressed. We hope you can give us another chance to serve you in the near future.

Kind regards,
Caesar (Owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 2, 2017

Been here 4 times in April,for disco,we were a big group of 15 people,we had gone to Kenya to celebratea wedding ,so we hanged out here,the cocktaiis are to die for,and the dj,He is an amazing person,we totallyenjoyed our selves,BUT ONE WAITER,always overcharged us,thinking we didn't knowthe Kenyan currency,very cheeky of him,he instead of are taxed bill,wrote in a piece of paper and thought we didn't realized..,too bad

Thank weidhaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caesar W, Owner at Il Covo Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2017

Thank you very much for your candid feedback on your experience at the Il Covo. Our core value is to surpass our customers' expectation and at least meet the expectation. We have noted that you had an overall pleasant experience save for the Waiter you referred to. As the owner of the restaurant, it is absolutely important for me to get to the bottom of this incident and would greatly appreciate if you could give me an indication on the approximate period visited (beginning, mid or end of April). I will be glad to give you a feedback thereafter. On behalf of Il Covo, kindly accept our apology for this unfortunate incident. Rest assured it will be addressed. Once again, thank you for this valuable feedback and hope to see you again soon.

Caesar W (Owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il Covo Restaurant also viewed

Mombasa, Coast Province
Mombasa, Coast Province
 
Mombasa, Coast Province
Mombasa, Coast Province
 
Mombasa, Coast Province
Mombasa, Coast Province
 

Been to Il Covo Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing