We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never dissappointing”
Review of Il Covo Restaurant

Il Covo Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 154 Restaurants in Mombasa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Formerly a holiday house on two floors overlooking the white, sandy Bamburi beach 12 km north of Mombasa island. Il Covo opened its door in May 2003 and since then it has been the top dining and entertainment venue in Mombasa. The lower veranda overlooks the beach, a romantic gazebo just out onto the sea and is fondly called fort Jesus. Its' an ideal spot for romantic dinners. The upper deck has two balconies with a sea view. One of them is a sushi bar whereby our chef will create the freshest and most delicious sushi, sashimi and teppanyaki right in front of you. The second balcony, dubbed "A room with a view' is an ideal setup for a private family lunch or dinner with a perfect view of the sea and a breeze that never ceases. Our Italian cuisine is renowned for it's originality, our menu consists of a wide range of original pasta dishes, fresh starters, salads including a variety of fish Carpaccio, tuna and red snapper. Fresh lobsters, prawns, calamari and octopus all depending on the day's catch, are also part of Il Covo's luscious and extensive menu along with fabulously tender Aged Angus meats. Il Covo also accommodates a large wood burning oven which gives the best authentic Italian pizzas. Our flat serene beach filled with white fine sand lends itself as a perfect venue for beach fun parties and exclusive dinners. All you require is just to ask for a beach setup and we shall do the rest at no extra cost. The il Covo experience is not complete without visiting our very popular disco club located on the upper floor. Our DJ will ensure that you shed of some of the calories you gained after dinner.
Reviewed October 5, 2017

I promised myself to come again and see if the last experience was a lucky one as is case with most places...it was nice to be back to meet the same friendly staffs and owners-they are very nice couple...the food was even better than last time and they have a roast angus that is the best i have ever tasted..so soft and juicy and they slice it infront of you..this is the place to always visit

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rwaeta2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 180 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2017

one of my 3 best pizzas ever.a<nd i have been around the block.the tiramisu was perfect.the first cake in jenya with a great taste.also the chili-oil and garlic-oil was superb.and home-made.pity that such a big,nice and clean place has so few customers.great location.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank thormorch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caesar W, Owner at Il Covo Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2017

Your positive remarks are highly appreciated. Thank you for taking your time to explain the specific attributes you were impressed by. Such encouraging comments gives us extra strength to keep improving and being innovative in order to meet and exceed our customers' expectations. We hope to serve you again in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 23, 2017

After last night's disappointment we decided to try out Il Covo, just about 5mins walk along the beach from where we were staying. It is quite a small place, really perched out over the sands and as we found out later when the tide was in, right over the crashing waves as well! Made our way there along the rapidly narrowing bit of beach left by the encroaching Indian Ocean and climbed the few steps into the restaurant. Greeted very warmly by the staff and took a table overlooking the water.

Menu perused, we ordered the chicken with mushroom sauce and the pancakes filled with crab meat. Also ordering one of their smoothies as well as a soda. Waited patiently, but not too long before the dishes came - an easy wait as we observed the people scurrying along before the route became impassable and the incoming waves creeping closer and closer. It was a really nice view and the camel chap even stopped for us the take piccies!

The chicken was OK but again with a sauce that was nothing special. My filled pancakes were smothered in it's own overwhelming sauce that really hid the flavour of the crab which was a pity. The two dishes were overall not bad but we had expected better, I'm afraid to say, going by TA reviews. Two nights now at two different restaurants but food let down by the quality of the sauces offered!

The smoothie was not up to the standard of those on offer in the UK and at 850/- quite expensive. The two dishes were 1200 and 1250ksh, not a bad price at all.

We have to compliment the staff, very friendly and helpful, even giving us a guide along the back alleys back to our hotel as the beach was impassable. We would readily eat there again and can recommend Il Covo to you all.

Oh, forgot to say that the young lady owner herself came along late in the meal to ask if everything was fine and was there anything she could do! A really nice touch!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bwanamdevu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caesar W, Owner at Il Covo Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2017

Thank you for your elaborate feedback on your experience at il covo. We have noted that overall you were content with our offerings save for the sauces and the smoothie which fell below your expectation. We have taken the challenge positively and communicated to the culinary brigade so they can up their game. We are glad that you had an overall good experience and that our team members were friendly and useful. It is through such objective feedback that we can improve on our products and service. We look forward to welcoming you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 20, 2017

This used to be my favourite place in Mombasa. But now it i closed most nights and when it is open, it doesn't have the food - seriously: we went to order lobsters for 7 people (Sunday 17th September) and there was none. Seriously? You in business for a joke?

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nyerere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caesar W, Owner at Il Covo Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2017

We thank you for taking your time to give us feedback on your experience at Il covo. We try very hard to avoid run-outs on any item on our menu but unfortunately at times we are constrained by circumstances beyond our control. I am aware of the shortage of Lobsters and prawns within the period you visited the restaurant, owing largely to adverse weather conditions which makes it very difficult to get a hold of seafood. This however was a rare occurrence. We hope to see you again soon and I promise that this time around you will not be disappointed. Thank you for passing by.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 20, 2017

Great atmosphere, really chilled out and calm.
I just had a drink, however definitely going back to get a taste of the food.

Thank Paaras R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il Covo Restaurant also viewed

Mombasa, Coast Province
Mombasa, Coast Province
 
Mombasa, Coast Province
Mombasa, Coast Province
 
Mombasa, Coast Province
 

Been to Il Covo Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing