We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel near Embassy”
Review of Guangming Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Guangming Hotel
Ranked #151 of 6,568 Hotels in Beijing
Reviewed 7 May 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Guangming hotel for 8 days. We had a very nice room. We were able to stay in a suite which was large and very modern. The hotel is immaculate and extremely modern. The bathroom lights were on a motion sensor (which caused a small problem at night when my wife got up and all the bathroom lights went on). The mattress was very firm, but I am used to a firm mattress and had no trouble sleeping comfortably. If someone has difficulty sleeping on a firm mattress, this could cause a problem.

The staff was very attentive. They spoke some English, but there was some communication problems. We paid $5 extra for the buffet breakfast and it was certainly worth this minimal cost. The restaurant was very nice. The buffet was a little different by American standards as there were many salads for breakfast and some Korean, Japanese and Chinese items on the buffet. There was cereal, hardboiled eggs and an omelette station as well.

The hotel was in the Chaoyoung district which is very close to the American Embassy. The were many restaurants and a nice shopping center within 2 blocks of the Hotel. There also was a small market on the ground floor of the hotel where you could by food and water (bottled water is recommended in Beijing). The hotel did supply 2 small bottles of water each day.

Although not related to the hotel I have to recommend two pizza restaurants near the hotel. One was called La Pizza and was located in the shopping center near the hotel. I am a pizza lover and try different placein New York, Rome and wherever I travel. The Neopolitan Margharita pizza at La Pizza was one of the best I have had anywhere. The other pizza I had was at the Kros-nest restaurant which is a little hard to find, bvut is near the embassy. This is a family pizza restaurant with good food and a really fun atmosphere. I would especially recommend it for families with children who may need a break from the Chinese restaurants.

Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel and think it is a great value. (as a note I found C-trip to offer the best online rates).

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mrenert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

17 - 23 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2010

Spacious rooms for a fantastic price. Modern but cosy style. The hotel openend recently so everything is clean and neat.

Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
1  Thank Urs_CH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2010

Cheerful English speaking staff, a bright lobby and a clean, comfortable room made my visit much better than expected. For less than $100 USD per night, I enjoyed my stay which included a breakfast buffet of standard western dishes -- nothing spectacular but certainly a great value in a safe and welcoming environment.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MingYangEnglish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2008

I stayed at this hotel for one night in November. The person who booked this hotel told me that it was recently remodeled right before the Olympics. With $90 a night, I was more than willing to give it a try. It's off the crazy 3rd Ring road (San Huan), so traffic seems moderate. US and Japanese embassies are within walking distance. There is a food street adjacent to it. I did not get a chance to explore it. It can be an interesting place to get a bite if you are tied of the hotel menus.

I had a single room with a king size bed. Not huge space, but plenty room for what I need. It's well decorated, modern and hi-tech, and smells clean too. The bed is very comfortable. Sheets and towels show very little use. The LCD TV has many international channels, American, French, German, Russian, Japanese, Korean, Australian ... plus many more I can't even recognize.

The breakfast was only okay, not a huge selection compared to what I had elsewhere, but not bad either for 80 yuan. I changed American dollars to local yuan at its business center at an incredible rate 6.795 while other hotels usually gave me 6.4 or even lower.

Overalll, to me, it is a smaller version of Hilton, just one block away across the street. You only pay half of Hilton's price. I will definitely stay there again next time.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank easitravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2008

When I booked this hotel, I had some pretty low expectations knowing that in China sometimes you get exactly what you pay for, and often even that ratio is a stretch. What a pleasant surprise I had when I got into my room, it was absolutely clean and perfect for my business trip. I had stayed at the intercontinental hotel a few weeks before in Beijing for literally 5 times the price of the Guangming, and the room was almost exactly the same. The stigma of Chinese hotels has finally been reversed, long live the Guangming...

The lobby was clean and 5 star-ish, the service was excellent, but the rooms were exemplary and this hotel is certainly one I'll go back to for all of my business trips in the future. Booking with Ctrip gave me some sort of special on free internet in my room which was another little bonus of this place. The only annoying thing was the breakfast, which though edible was certainly not anywhere close to the intercontinental. But then again, with the money I saved I made sure to treat myself to a nice brunch at a nice brunch spot in the embassy district.

A good hotel all around, and its a great location, check it out and thank me later.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank iamthecoley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank Toyotamakita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Manchester0110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Yansha
The Twenty-First Century Hotel
The Twenty-First Century Hotel
#3,282 of 6,568 in Beijing
116 reviews
Yansha
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
#1 of 6,568 in Beijing
1,175 reviews
Yansha
Kempinski Hotel Beijing Lufthansa Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yansha
Hilton Beijing
Hilton Beijing
#50 of 6,568 in Beijing
1,457 reviews
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#18 of 6,568 in Beijing
1,586 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guangming Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guangming Hotel

Address: No.42 Liangmaqiao Road, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100016, China
Region: China > Beijing > Yansha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #151 of 6,568 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range: $132 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Guangming Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Guangming Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing