We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cozy, comfortable retreat”
Review of Michael's House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Michael's House
Ranked #44 of 6,556 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We stayed here for one Month, with a five year old child, and loved it!

small inn, a little boutique, with great staff. very personal. comfortable beds-not easy to find in China. the best part-lovely, comfortable, covered courtyard! like an extension of your living room. it's Really hard to find nice, clean, cozy hangouts in beijing. at this inn, you've got it everyday!

breakfast-western, filling. my husband would eat a hardy breakfast and not be hungry for lunch.
area around the inn-many street food and budget friendly, authentic, non touristy restaurant
options.

we mainly used public transportation. taxis-not hard to get just down the street. for tours/drivers-i would use the ones highly recommended by tripdvisor. the inn contacted China International Travel Service for us to visit the great wall. it took 30minutes of arguing with the driver and guide to convince them we re not, absolutely not, interested in "cultural tours" to comissioned shops
:(

The staff was very helpful and knowlegable. DeDe became a good friend for our daughter and made us feel at home. Michael went out of his way to help us find and enroll our daughter in a Kindergarden. This was a very personal, pleasant and comfortable stay.

For comfort, atmosphere, and price- Michael's house is #1!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chioual
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (580)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

319 - 325 of 580 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2012

Back in 2000, Michael's House was my dream, when our family almost moved into a Hutong ourselves. However, Michael's House is much better than I envisioned. He created a weather proof covering for his courtyard, which manages to keep inclement weather and pollution (including noise) out.

My husband and I rendezvoused here and it was exactly what we were looking for...a little of "old China" and away from the gaudy, same-o/same-o hotel chains. Our expectations were fully met at Michaels.

Michaels is in a typical Beijing neighborhood just south of Beijing Normal University (which specializes in training teachers- very well known and well established university). Our taxi driver groused over the location (try and make a copy of the map from the website before you come, or have a cell phone handy to get directions)

Stepping through the lovely double Chinese doors, you enter an enchanting "other world" experience. The goldfish pond and fountain creates a tranquil environment from the bustle of Beijing. The sumptuous courtyard is lined with rooms of varying appointments...one cheap dormitory style room, one "emperor's suite" and the rest incredibly affordable in this over-priced city. All the rooms are decorated in Chinese style with comfortable beds and stylish decorations. The electric water pot is even in a Chinese design.

We particularly enjoyed our sweet helpers, one who seemed sad all the time, but Sally was a delightful and encouraging presence. She made us feel at home.

The breakfast did have eggs and bacon, but we would have appreciated a few more known fruits. The establishment was particularly accommodating when some guests came in late from the train and extended the breakfast hour for them.

All in All, this is a Five rating for the right people who want this kind of experience. If you aren't that interested in a local experience, you might rank it a 4, but we give it a 5 for the whole package.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GlobalPassion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

++ pretty little hotel. clean, attractive rooms. wired and wireless internet. good breakfast for the price. interesting local area outside the hotel. very friendly, helpful staff

-- 10-15 mins walk to the subway. 1 staff member seems unsuited to front desk work as not friendly or helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 123bath123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seanwang2004au, Owner at Michael's House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2012

Dear guest

Thank you for your recent stay and reviewing on the tripadvisor. We appreciated the positive comments in your review and also noted the deficiencies in services. We will enhance staff training and on duty supervision to improve the quality of our services.

Once again, thank you for the feedback and we do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Best Regards

Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

As mentioned in other reviews, the house is located in what seems like an alleyway. The taxi driver passed the house at first but once you find it you won't pass it by again. It is located in a neighborhood where food is sold on the street and you get a glimpse of everyday life. Stepping into the house was very welcoming and warm, especially on a cold day. We were upgraded to a larger room and welcomed the extra room. We had a tour arranged to the Great Wall. It was a reasonable experience with 16 people in a van and not a lot of commentary. It was easy to walk to the subway and easy to use the subway system. Breakfast was good and adequate. One morning they gave us a call about breakfast. There were nice small personal touches to make our trip enjoyable.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aah0309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Michael's House is located in a "real" neighborhood - older, crowded - not at all the modern Beijing look and feel. We found access to subway very convenient. Youthful travelers all about - there's a hostel next door.The covered courtyard is charming and unique. People tend to gather there and talk. Nice selection of reading materials. Our room was small, especially the bathroom, but adequate. Bed was against the wall on the right side, but fairly comfortable. Staff is "uneven." Some are excellent (Deday?) and others not so friendly. Unfortunately, there is a computer on the small reception desk, and staff seemed pretty obsessed with it so you feel a bit like you are bothering them. Breakfast is just okay. Packaged sliced bread is left uncovered, and some mornings was hard. Peanut butter and jelly are available! Eggs, bacon, sausage are in a warmer that doesn't warm much. No yogurt which most other Asian hotels serve. There's one computer to share (usually available) and wi-fi in the room. There's an excellent Schezuan restaurant just a short walk away.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandiasMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seanwang2004au, Owner at Michael's House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2012

Dear guest

Thank you for your recent stay and reviewing on the tripadvisor. I was pleased to read that our receptionist Dede has done an excellent job and you enjoyed your stay with us. I also noted that there were problems in our services. We will enhance staff training and the management of the preparation procedure of the breakfast to improve our service qualities.

Thank you again for sharing your precious comments and we look forward to meeting you in the future.

Best Regards

Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

This is my second visit to Michael's. Although it's further from the Beijing old town and sites than many of the cookie-cutter, corporate hotels, it is worth the extra effort of subway & taxi. The neighborhood gives visitors a sense of a the real China - the street food, the morning routines of the locals, and children coming home from school in the late afternoon. The rooms are charming and comfortable. Fresh linens, towels, slippers, and robes. It's the cozy courtyard area and stellar service of the staff that makes Michael's House deserving of the highest rating possible. They go out of their way to accomodate you, guide you, and answer the plethora of questions you throw their way. Our group arrived at 9:45am after arriving by over night train from Shanghai (and waiting in a taxi line from Beijing Station for over an hour). Even though we couldn't officially check in to our rooms yet and breakfast was officially over at 9:30am, the staff offered to extend breakfast for us and made us two pots of fresh coffee. This little action went a long way to making us feel welcome.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Had the pleasure of staying in this wonderful place with my girlfriend for eight nights.. and WOW! It could not have been better for a trip to this dizzying and intriguing city. The rooms are super comfortable, and what a luxury to come back after a long day to a made bed and new fresh towels.. lush courtyard. But the best part must be all the helpful and sincere gals in the reception. Nothing was too much of a problem for them.. and made our stay thouroughly enjoyable. Would come back in a heartbeat :)

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Axel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Houhai
Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
#107 of 6,556 in Beijing
428 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Houhai
The Orchid Hotel
The Orchid Hotel
#35 of 6,556 in Beijing
511 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing 161 Hotel Hulu Courtyard
Chongwenmen
pentahotel Beijing
pentahotel Beijing
#52 of 6,556 in Beijing
1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Michael's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michael's House

Address: South Yard No.1 Zhiqiang North Garden, Haidian District, Beijing 100088, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Beijing
#13 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#28 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#35 Business Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: $92 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Michael's House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying A Convenient Location,the Hotel Offers You Traditional Ambiance And Modern Facilities With Guestrooms To Suit All Budgets.decorated With A Variety Of Main Colours, All Rooms Have Individual Styles.enjoy The Afternoon Tea With Your Friends Under The Glass Roof And Feel As If You Are Going Back In Time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity.ca and TripOnline SA so you can book your Michael's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Michael`s House Hotel Beijing
Michaels Hotel Beijing
Beijing Michaels Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing