We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, Friendly, Welcoming ... and Warm” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Michael's House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Michael's House
Ranked #46 of 6,442 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Clean, Friendly, Welcoming ... and Warm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

We stayed for a week in February 2012, visiting student son studying at BNU. We were told that Beijing would be cold in February - and it was - and we were tourists, spending large chunks of time outside getting cold. Michael's House was a complete delight as it was warm, spacious, friendly, close to son's apartment, wi-fi connected and did everything we wanted at a reasonable price. The location (down a side street in an unremarkable part of Beijing) is not promising, but it feels authentic. It is a 10 minute walk to the underground, and close enough to the centre to be able to walk to the Forbidden City (even in sub-zero temperatures and taking short-cuts across the frozen lakes). Go for it.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nogbad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    373
    138
    27
    3
    3
See reviews for
119
207
65
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here, and wish we'd stayed on our second visit to Beijing - but there wasn't availability.

We wanted to stay in traditional type accommodation, and this place delivered.

The service was excellent! Our flight was delayed an hour, and we arrived at the hotel about 2am - and the staff were still there waiting for our arrival! They also went out of their way to help us book flights to Shanghai. They spoke English really well, which was helpful. We were also impressed by their local knowledge - they knew the area and things to do - giving us helpful tips for sightseeing. Other hotels we stayed at, the staff knew nothing about the area (places to eat, ATMs etc). The day we left they got up early to see us off, and booked us a taxi which was waiting for us when we were ready to go. At Michael's house, nothing was too much trouble.

The breakfast each day was pretty good - some fruit, toast, biscuits and some hot food.

The subway was close enough, about a 10 minute walk away. Best to get the subway during peak hours, getting a taxi was very hard competing with workers.

We stayed in the most basic of rooms (bathroom a bit dated) - but it was clean, quiet and comfortable. I was expecting a hard uncomfortable bed (as per most China hotels) but the bed was quite comfortable.

This place was a haven after sightseeing all day. Can't recommend highly enough - especially compared to other places we stayed in China.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Belushi-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

The hotel is very cozy and the location is in a neighborhood that allows you to see the local culture. The information provided by the hotel reps (Specially Amy who is very professional and knowledgeable) is the best of all. They are always willing to help and give you excellent tips to navigate the city. The hotel provide tours at a very fair price.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank None19777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, null, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

After a rocky start to the holiday (mistake with our booking meant for some first night issues with getting into our room), Michael's House did everything to make our stay memorable. Our room was gorgeous and full of character, the staff were so friendly and helpful (cleaning baby's bottles, drawing us maps of where we wanted to visit etc). Michael personally stepped in to help sort out the issues we had had in the first night and was generous in making up for the problems we had encountered. It felt like a home away from home and I would highly recommend it for anyone travelling to Beijing who would like to stay in a more personal and characterful environment than most hotels can offer. Agree breakfasts could have been a bit more varied but they were fine. Was also pleasantly surprised with how easy it was to walk to the beautiful lakes nearby.

Room Tip: Emperor's suite was gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

I booked this hotel because of the great reviews at tripadvisor and booking.com. Also, I think staying at a old Chinese hutong style hotel can be a great experience for a trip to Beijing. After consider the value and location, I picked Michael's House. I atayed for 3 nights in March. Overall, it is a great hotel, but still some room for improvement.

Pros:
Location - in a hutong (Alley) and lively neighbour. plenty street vendors and food in proximity; decent walking to the subway station (~10-15 minutes)
Room - comfortable and clean; nicely decorated as well
Staff - can be very friendly and nice (depends on your luck)

Cons:
Noisy - because most rooms are facing the courtyard, which can become very noisy when someone talking there. During my stay, there was a kid started playing and talking in the courtyard since 7am. I like to hear kids laughing, but not at 7am during my vacation.

breakfast - room rate included comtinental breakfast. Staff refuse to replenish the food at 9am, however, even the breakfast suppose to run until 9:30am. This is very disappointing, especially they are not providing many choices of food and it should not take them long for replenishment. Also, compare to the room rate that they charge, the cost of food that they provided is minimal.

Staff - can be mean and rude (depends who you run into)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank echiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael W, Owner at Michael's House, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive review on Michael's House. Meanwhile I am surprised to read your
comments on our staff ! Since our opening early in 2008 we have earned Traveler's Choice almost every year, being ranked top 25 best hotels in China in 2010, 2011, especially in 2012 we earned top 25 for best services !

I can't imagine what was happening to make you feel so angry by those ungenerous words. After investigation, we didn't find any impolite behavior even to some unreasonable requirements.
We even extended the breakfast service to 10:30AM for some late guests(Please refer our earlier reviews ), to say nothing of refuse to replenish the food before 9:00, unless those are efficient enough.

Lastly thank you again for your overall 4 stars rating, and hope to accommodate you in future.

Michael's House Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
247 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

It's hard to give this place 3 stars instead of 4 because the people who work there are so nice and helpful but, out of duty to my fellow travelers, I must speak the truth:)

I Liked: the hutong neighborhood was charming for the first day or so and then its charm wore off quickly, the staff are as helpful as can be, the courtyard is nice, overall the place is pretty quiet and laid back, the bed was comfortable, the room was just okay not great.

I Didn't Like: the western breakfast buffet was the same stuff every day and every single day I had to go find someone to let them know that most of the offerings were empty (they didn't seem to get the idea of replenishing before it ran out), the bathroom was akin to a trailer park in the USA, or a bad college dorm - cheap materials that won't last long (at least that was the case with room #2).

It's about a 10-12 minute walk to the nearest Metro station (Jeshuitan). I'm glad we tried the hutong experience in Beijing but once is enough. There's not the charm I was expecting, it's just a busy little neighborhood with little or no character.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Godby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael W, Owner at Michael's House, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Dear Guests:

Thank you for your praising on our staff, courtyard, quality bed and laid-back atmosphere.

We are a small and elegant boutique hotel, the front desk staff is responsible for all related affairs like: check-in/out, taking the phone call, cleaning, replenishment of the breakfast, and etc. Occasionally some job could be little bit delayed. Thank you for your reminding and help we will surely pay more attention on the matter. Considering the different nationality and background of our guests to provide the continental buffet probably be the best choice for our guests.

As our bathroom we in fact used the high quality environmental materials to make it looked more warm, cozy, and functional.

The Hutong around our hotel is a quite lively and unique area where you can experience the very local and authentic Beijing way of living. It’s a little bit regretful that it was not the charming you expected. Hopefully you can thoroughly enjoy and have a fantastic time on your next Beijing visit.

Thank you again for your staying with us.

Michael’s House Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

Michael's House is a delightful little hotel, tucked away in one of the original hutongs (alleyways) where the real people live. A short walk to the end of the street and you are immersed in the culture.
From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, we felt like part of the family!
Great breakfast - cereal, toast, eggs, bacon, sausage, tea and coffee (available all day). Comfortable beds and fantastic water pressure in the shower.
Many thanks to all the girls on reception as nothing was too much trouble!
Thanks again Dede, for organising the tickets on the bullet train to Xian and entertaining us on various occasions with your cheeky sense of humour, it was a pleasure to meet you.
To our sweet Amy who stayed up waiting for our return from Xian late at night with coffee and her lovely smile - many thanks. We will miss you.
We would have no hesitation in recommending Michael's House and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mallie777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
The HuLu Hotel
The HuLu Hotel
#71 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Chongwenmen
pentahotel Beijing
pentahotel Beijing
#54 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
#90 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Houhai
Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel
Chongwenmen
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Temple Of Heaven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Michael's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michael's House

Property: Michael's House
Address: South Yard No.1 Zhiqiang North Garden, Haidian District, Beijing 100088, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Beijing
#21 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#28 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#36 Business Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Michael's House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
enjoying a convenient location,the hotel offers you traditional ambiance and modern facilities with guestrooms to suit all budgets.decorated with a variety of main colours, all rooms have individual styles.enjoy the afternoon tea with your friends under the glass roof and feel as if you are going back in time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA and Travelocity so you can book your Michael's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Michael`s House Hotel Beijing
Michaels Hotel Beijing
Beijing Michaels Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing