We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“What a Great Experience!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inner City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inner City
Ranked #12 of 1,284 Beijing B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a Great Experience!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

I had a great time in this little courtyard hostel in the middle of beijing. This place is in one of the many Hutongs, and the relaxing atmosphere really gives you a chance to relax from the stress that comes from being in a mega city like Beijing.

The rooms were spacious, there was some dirt and hairs on the floor, but I guess that's not that special in a hostel, especially since I only paid 10€ per night. Also the bathrooms were very simple but I got used to that pretty quickly. The beds are extremely comfortable!!!

But what made this hostel so special for me, was first of all the amazing staff. Rain and his colleagues are so incredibly friendly and they Really go out of their way to make you feel welcome and fulfill your every need.

The other special thing is the great people you can meet there. I met people from almost everywhere china (of course), Israel, japan, holland, France! You just sit down in the cozy courtyard and there's almost always someone asking if you want a beer and you just start talking.

It might not be the most luxurious hostel, but the people in it and the relaxing location make it an incredible place to stay! I've never experienced being that welcome in a hostel.

Greetings to Rain, Amy, Johann, Mitsuo and Norman!
Julius

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julius152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    60
    11
    2
    4
See reviews for
9
24
25
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

A really lovely experience - the staff are friendly, helpful and speak English, and the hostel has a wonderful atmosphere. It is right in the middle of the hutong (traditional Beijing sidestreets) and for the first time we felt we were in 'real' China. There is an astonishingly cheap indoor food market next door as well.

Our room was basic but comfortable, with air conditioning, and it was beautifully decorated (the whole hostel has had touches of decoration added which make it feel very personal). The bathroom was fine, the hot water worked perfectly and it was cleaned daily, but it was clearly basic: the toilet seat was cracked, the sink had difficulty draining and the shower head kept falling off the wall! There was also no separate shower so everything got wet when we used it. However these are minor quibbles as everything else was really lovely, and we were enjoying ourselves too much to mind.

There is a communal kitchen, though there is a charge to use it - except for breakfast, at which you are provided with an inclusive DIY breakfast of toast, jam and some sort of hot bean drink called 'mean milk'! There is indoor and outdoor seating (great in hot weather), wifi and computer access, and a shared TV. It really does feel homely, and everyone made us feel welcome. We got to know other guests and swap travel stories.

The best aspect of the hostel is definitely the staff, who are friendly and always willing to help: they booked us a trip to the Great Wall, arranged taxis for us and gave us advice and suggestions on what to do during our time in Beijing. A really great experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JuliusV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
401 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

Where do we begin, Sammy and her staff are absolutely amazing. We have been traveling for 6 weeks and this is the first time we have felt truly at home. The staff's kind nature and willingness to always go above and beyond for their clients, is felt from the second they open their doors. It was an absolute pleasure to stay here and we would highly recommend INNer City to anyone looking for a WoW experience. We miss it already :( This property is so cool. Staying in a hutong was a great experience. The common area is WELL equipped and a great place to meet fellow travelers and relax for the evening. The only downside is that it’s a bit far from the metro station (15 min walk).

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fancytravelreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

The Inner City is a great little hostel. The staff are amazingly helpful, providing advice and maps (even getting up at 4.30am to help us go to the airport). The rooms are beautifully decorated and full of character, and although not luxurious (basic bathrooms), it was very comfortable. The location is pretty good too. I really wanted to stay in a characterful area and the hostel is right next to a fantastic local food market in the Hutongs. It is also only a ten minute walk from a couple of metro stops. They can also help you arrange tours if you want.

The only problem we had was our toilet not flushing and they sorted it out as soon as we reported it. It can also get a little noisy at night, but that is to be expected in a hostel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VicB76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

We spent 7 nights in this beautiful hostel and I just can say it was the perfect choice!! The staff was very friendly always and helped with whatever we needed (trips, washing machine, ...).
It is loacated in a traditional "Hutong" and about 10 minutes away from the subway station. A local market hall is located just across the street where you can buy food and drinks. In the hostel kitchen you can cook and store your food. The rooms are clean and nice. All accessible from the Patio.
Several times a week we cooked and had dinner together with hostel staff which was a great experience and we met a lot of different people and had great evenings together talking, laughing and exchanging experiences.
The hostel is a little hard to find when you come the first time (even the taxi driver had problems to find it) but after calling the hostel we finally found it - and had our individual Hutong tour already.

Dear Samy and Rain, thank you so much for the great days we had with you!! We very much enjoyed staying with you!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marianne1407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

We spent 5 nights in this hostel in Beijing and i can't regret our choice. The staff was very friendly always ready to answer our questions and help with whatever we needed. The rooms are ok, as well as bathrooms - the only strange thing about them is that there is no pool in the shower - the water is faling directly on the ground - therefore when you get shower, everything around gets wet.

Just in front of the hostel there is a small market when you can buy fresh cookies, meat (in case you want to cook something - there is a small kitchen for guests' disposal), vagatables etc.
We were going to the market almost every day - the breakfast served in the hostel is very basic - toasts + marmalade. You can prepare yourself a coffee and tea all the time. Be careful - the milk they use is made from beans - quite strange taste for foreigners.There are few small supermarkets around as well.

The hostel is located within the hutongs - it was great to see traditional chinese houses and 'real' people around doing loundry, playing cards etc. - I enjoyed it a lot but I understand as well that some people prefer more luxurious environment - if yes, then probably this hostel is not the best choice. One more comment - there are only 10 rooms there.

Relatively near (as for Beijing) there are 2 metro stations from where you can take a train to Tiannanmen squere (+ Forbidden City) and Summer Palace.

Don't forget it's a hostel not hotel - no towels nor toiletry are provided. Price per room might therefore result quite high - around 30 euros per double room with bathroom.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Baszenko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

This hostel had a really laid back and friendly atmosphere to it. It was located away from the busy streets down a quiet ‘hutong’ and was about a 15 minute walk away from 2 subway stations which might sound far, but isn’t in Beijing (Xisi on Line 4 and Chegongzhuang on the central line). I found it very easy to navigate my way to Beijing’s tourist attractions from here – Tiananmen square was about a 10 minute subway ride away.

It was a bit of a local area nearby and there weren’t many restaurants with English menus, but despite the hostel not able to cook food they did have menus from local restaurants that they ordered from for us and we ate at the hostel. Breakfast was a basic DIY toast, jam and tea.

Our double room was nice and spacious, the bed was a bit firm but that’s not unusual in China. Activities were put on each night, eg dumpling making, which made it easy to meet other people. The hostel also had a couple of PCs for the guests to use for free. The staff were very friendly and helped us to book train tickets and a tour to the great wall. When we booked our room we were sent plenty of information on how to get to the hostel which was very helpful. Only downside was that I think the rooms were a bit expensive.

Tip: When visiting the Great Wall we went to Jinshanling section which was a 3 hour coach trip away. It was almost deserted and hasn’t been over developed like some of those closer to the city have. The views we had were really stunning.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Houhai
Red Lantern House
Red Lantern House
#5 of 1,284 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Siheju Courtyard Hostel
Siheju Courtyard Hostel
#3 of 1,284 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Xiao Yuan Alley Courtyard Hotel
Houhai
Templeside Hutong Guest House
Templeside Hutong Guest House
#16 of 1,284 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inner City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inner City

Property: Inner City
Address: No.20 Dachaye Hutong, Zhaodengyu Road, Xicheng District, Beijing 100034, China
Region: China > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 1,284 B&Bs / Inns in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Inner City 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Inner City Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing