We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
New World Beijing Hotel(Beijing)
Book now, pay at stay
US$189
US$124
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Book now, pay at stay
US$155
Renaissance Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$151/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$209
US$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$143
US$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$82
US$50
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Prime Hotel(Beijing)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$120
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$142
US$118
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$159
US$154
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$330
US$266
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (552)
Filter reviews
552 results
Traveller rating
424
99
23
2
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
424
99
23
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbaochao hutonggarden roommr shi's dumplingsdumpling classshakshukabell towertiny alleynarrow walkwaylocal phonememory foamdrum towerprivate terracehutong areadumpling makingreal beijingunderfloor heatingwestern amenities
Filter
Updating list...
439 - 444 of 552 reviews
Reviewed November 28, 2011

We ended our China trip with 2 nights at the Orchid while taking in an overview of Beijing. In the old neighborhoods of Beijing (hutong), down a narrow walkway off an alley, is the Orchid. This gem does not have a large number of rooms, thus there is a comforting sense of compact space, all of which is designed with great aesthetic sensibility. Breakfasts were delicious. The bar is quite extraordinary in its offerings. We were delighted by our expereince at the Orchid!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 20, 2011

The Orchid is a real gem. Being in the middle of a Hutong and down a tiny alley, it's a little hard to find but once inside, it's an oasis of comfort. If you don't want the hassle of trying to find it, hire their driver to pick you up from the airport.

Regarding the accommodations: the bed was comfortable, the room clean, the shower excellent and little extras like fruit, tea, wifi and apple TV in the room were very helpful. More importantly, the owners, Joel and Yunkle (sp?) were incredibly hospitable and really went out of their way to give us a great experience in Beijing.

Over the 4 days we stayed there we tried almost all the breakfasts and found them to be very good... they are not huge breakfasts but if one is a big breakfast eater, there is some great street food in the city to round it out. We also went to Mr. Shi's Dumplings for dinner across the way and found the fresh dumplings delicious and very inexpensive!

On a different note, there's a very special vibe in the Orchid lobby in the evenings. It's a tiny space that acts as a check-in desk, bar and lounge. Guests hang on the sofas drinking and getting to know one another to the sounds of some great music over the speakers... it feels like a great kitchen party.

If you stay here, do not hesitate to ask the owners for help negotiating the city and its' restaurants. They have great recommendations and will even write menu items in Chinese if you want to eat at a place that doesn't have an English menu. Truly, they are a delight.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jazznlaughs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 20, 2011

The orchid has had such wonderfully positive reviews on TA (which is, of course why I chose to stay there) that it’s a bit difficult to add much. All the positive stuff is on the money. You feel extremely welcome by Joel and Yunkle. They are both tremendously helpful in all things Beijing. My wife and I are foodies so their knowledge of where to eat high and low end was much appreciated.

The room (we were in Yin) was comfortable and gave us a great opportunity to deal with the Jet lag issues of a 13 hour flight and a 12 hour time difference. The media server was useful for the distraction necessary when dealing with waking up still on home time. The complementary tea (which Joel is so obviously passionate about) was a great way to help relax back and try an normalize the sleep/wake cycle to Beijing time. The complementary cell phone provided to us got us out of a pickle once or twice (Beijing taxis can be incredibly selective as to whether YOUR trip is worth THEIR bother…my first ever experience of being refused a cab trip…became quickly tiresome) and having an advocate at the other end of the line was great.

The breakfast and the servers were both great. An option of a more traditional Beijing breakfast would be a nice addition. The very good coffee was exceedingly and particularly appreciated.

We experienced the same (mis)adventure as others. The taxi we obtained (ourselves not via the Orchid) at the airport left us off at the wrong spot. We wandered around the Hutong for a bit until we ran into a most helpful South African gentleman who had his Beijing partner guide us in the right direction. We are in debt to her as likely we would still be wandering the back alleys if she had not pointed out where the hotel was located. Having finally found our landmark (bless Mr Shi for both the great dumplings and for being so easy to spot) we were still a bit dazed at having to go down another narrow alleyway to find the Orchid (yes this is all clearly spelled out on the website and on TA…still it doesn't mesh with what your jet-lagged eyes will see when you finally arrive). Take a deep breath (not too deep… it is still Beijing air) plunge ahead and enjoy a great stay. We did. recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank yournamehereCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 18, 2011

All in all a very pleasant stay. Was there from 13 nov till 18 nov and stayed in the Yang room. Room was clean and well appointed. Apple tv and movies meant i neglected to read the novel i brought along. Only hiccup with the shower drainage was settled promptly and efficiently.

Breakfast was slanted towards western tastes and quality was excellent. I did have to tweak it a lil by mixing and matching toast/bacon/eggs. The staff was great in accommodating my wishes. Only quip was that if they served a zhajiang mian on a cold winter morning, it will be even better!

Special mention to Joel who recommended great places to eat and how to get there. Still wished i can have haidilao hotpot tonight.

All in all, the ONLY hiccup throughout my whole stay was the taxi ride to the hotel. Knew it might be hard to find so i requested for transfers. But turned out the taxi driver couldnt find Orchid either. So once we reached baochao alley, i had to call Orchid personally and let them speak to the cab driver. For pickups, Joel should have used drivers that knew exactly where the place was.

Anyway, its a place worth coming back and i wish Joel and his team all the best in this business venture...

Room Tip: Pay for the best!
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CHUNGYEH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 17, 2011

Recently stayed for a week at The Orchid and had a wonderful stay. We generally stay at boutique hotels when we travel, and while this wasn't quite the same, but it was different in a good way.

After a 13-hour flight, we knew we'd be too tired to try and find the hotel in the dark, so we arranged for an airport pickup with the Orchid's driver. Yes, it costs more than taking a cab, but it was DEFINITELY worth it after a long flight. He met us at the airport and took us right into the hotel which was perfect.

When we arrived, the small bar/lobby was bustling with people and we were greeted warmly, shown our room, and given glasses of wine. The owner, Joel, is super nice and as others have mentioned, makes you feel really welcome. He is full of suggestions for activities and restaurants if you need any.

We stayed in the Yang room, which has its own private balcony with a view of Drum Tower. The room itself was great and the tea and tea maker were very appreciated during early mornings of jetlag. (And the tea is so good! I wish I'd taken some home.)

The breakfasts were great as well -- the local cheese is amazing. I read another review that complained about the size of the breakfasts, but I thought they were perfect: just the right size to keep you full for a couple hours of exploring so that you'll be hungry enough for a delicious lunch.

I don't really have anything bad to say about the Orchid. If I had to make one comment, it would be that the hotel wasn't quite as "hip" as I thought it would be. This may be a good thing or a bad thing for you, but the other guests in the hotel were mostly families and older travellers.

Next time I'm in Beijing, I will stay at the Orchid again!

Room Tip: The Yin and Yang rooms are the largest.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank yyzcupcakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews